Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

To upgrade or not to upgrade

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-28-05, 07:36 PM Thread Starter   #1
21CW Reb
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Neither here nor there!

 
To upgrade or not to upgrade


Howdy all. Long time reader (well not that long but any ho), first time poster.

I usually do alot of research and find my answers without posting but I am short on time due to RL issues and was wondering if you guys can give some advice.

I'm considering upgrading my RAM and am not sure wheather it would make any difference.

Currently I am running 1GIG PC2100 (2x512). My MOBO (ASUS A8V Deluxe) is capable of running PC3200 RAM and I was wondering if you guys think I would notice a difference by upgrading. Currently due to the RAM I have now I am only able to run in single channel mode. By upgrading to PC3200 I will be able to run in dual channel mode.

ECC vs NON-ECC? According to SiSoft SANDRA it recommends running ECC with large amounts of RAM. I understand that ECC RAM is primarily used in servers so I assume I should stay away from it.

Next, is gaming RAM ie: Crucial Ballistiks, etc. really worth the investment?
I do not OC my system so I don't see any since of investing in the gaming RAM unless it really makes some sort of difference at stock speeds.

Any recommendations greatly appreciated
21CW Reb is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-05, 07:47 PM   #2
IrishAssassin
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal

 
If you don't plan on OC'ing, just get the Corsair 1GB Value Select. They have it on sale all the time at newegg for <100$.

__________________
Gaming Rig
cpu - Intel Core i5 760 @ 3.5 gHz
mobo - Asus P7P55-E LX
vid card - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB @ 850core/1700shader/2000memory
ram - GSkill GBNQ 3x2gb DDR3 @ 9-9-9-24 1T
hd - WD Black 640gb - OCZ Vertex 2 60gb
psu - Corsair TX750
sound - Asus Xonar Essence STX
case - Lian-Li PC-60FNWB
OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
PSN: Aenimosity
IrishAssassin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-05, 07:54 PM Thread Starter   #3
21CW Reb
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Neither here nor there!

 
I know whats available but what I am trying to decide on is if the performance increase is worth the investment or not?
21CW Reb is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-05, 11:05 PM   #4
rseven
Member



Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Jersey

 
to the Forum!
I think that it is and it;s not a huge investment. Also, I'd go with the entry level GSkills as they are also under $100 but are CL2. Who knows, you may even decide to dabble in a modest overclock too.
rseven is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-05, 09:53 PM Thread Starter   #5
21CW Reb
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Neither here nor there!

 
Comon guys, Someone in this forum has to have the answers I am looking for
21CW Reb is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-05, 10:17 PM   #6
1cem4n
Member

 
1cem4n's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: FusoFuso

 
Quote:
Any recommendations greatly appreciated
You asked for recommendations so you got recommendations. As for your question whether they're worth it, YES, ram still is the most bang for the buck upgrade and going from pc2100 to pc3200 will give you a huge performance boost. I would just stick with 512x2 sticks as they provide good prices and good performance.

-1cem4n

__________________
HP dv2700t
Bluetooth
Webcam
12-cell battery
Fingerprint Reader
1cem4n is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-05, 10:25 PM   #7
rseven
Member



Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Jersey

 
I think the only unanswered questiom relates to Sandra and ECC. Don't bother with ECC as it slows everything down. Sandra has a bunch of useless tips, but also some good ones such as the Windows services to disable.
rseven is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-05, 07:23 PM Thread Starter   #8
21CW Reb
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Neither here nor there!

 
Thanks for the input guys. I picked up 1 GIG set of Corsair PC3200 XMS TwinX memory from newegg. I have not done a burn in yet but I did run 3DMark and increased my final score by 468 points.

I will try to update at a later time on what other changes this has made.
21CW Reb is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-05, 07:41 PM   #9
stang8118
Member

 
stang8118's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Philly, PA

 
Glad you are happy with your selection. BTW what timings are you running them at now?

__________________
Intel i5 4570 - Asus Z87C - G Skill 2x4gb
Corsair 750w Modular - Antec 300 - ATI HD7850OC

Retired 3dmark Captain
Heatware 110-0-0
stang8118 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-05, 09:01 PM Thread Starter   #10
21CW Reb
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Neither here nor there!

 
I'm currently running stock
CPU-Z shows my timings to be at 2-3-3-8

I am interested in doing some tweaking but I am not totally sure what to do as far as making changes. I have read the various guides but have yet to make any attempet at overclocking.
21CW Reb is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-05, 10:25 PM   #11
MailOrderSausag
Member



Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Twin Cities, MN

 
just go into your bios, and tweak your timings to 2-2-2-x

run tras at whatever is stable, not the lowest (no performance boost @tras5)

what chipset u got? nforce4? you should see if you can get yer ram to do 210. then, ,you'll have 2100mhz on the winchester, that'll give u a nice performance gain, and u probably won't even have to up any voltages.
MailOrderSausag is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-05, 10:42 PM   #12
gvblake22
Member

 
gvblake22's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tempe Desert

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MailOrderSausag
just go into your bios, and tweak your timings to 2-2-2-x

run tras at whatever is stable, not the lowest (no performance boost @tras5)

what chipset u got? nforce4? you should see if you can get yer ram to do 210. then, ,you'll have 2100mhz on the winchester, that'll give u a nice performance gain, and u probably won't even have to up any voltages.
Make sure you run memtest86 if you change the RAM timings to test for stability and make sure everything is running smooth. If I remember correctly, 2-3-3-X is the stock timings for that RAM so they are not guarunteed to run any faster (although you would be likely to get 2-3-2-X timings out of them)

__________________
|| Intel E8400 @ 400x8 + Coolink U8-120 || MSI P35 Neo2-FR || 2x1GB SuperTalent DDR2 800 (4-4-3-8) || Asus HD 4850 + Accelero S1 & Turbo Module || Auzentech HDA Xplosion || 320GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 || 150GB Western Digital Raptor X || Corsair VX550 PSU ||
Mod Projects:
|| My First Custom Modded Case || Custom HDD Cooling/Silencing || Custom 6800GT Cooling || Custom Modded CoolerMaster Cavalier 3 || Blue Flame PS2 Stand || "Secret of the Ooze" Case Project ||
|| Heatware ||
Say Thank You!
gvblake22 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?