Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Noooo I AM AN IDIOT! SHOOT ME NOW NOW NOW NOW!!!!!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-05, 08:26 PM Thread Starter   #1
Elif Tymes
Member

 
Elif Tymes's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004

 
Noooo I AM AN IDIOT! SHOOT ME NOW NOW NOW NOW!!!!!


I killed my C1 Xeons... DANG IT ALL.....


Heres the story: I took out my 6800 video card, in the process I accidentally unplugged my fan cable to cool my two crap HSFs....

AFTER THIS, I boot my system up, and it runs fine. I'm not monitoring the temps, because I'm lazy. I guess they got up pretty dang high....

Then, BOOM shut down.

Now, on boot I get "CPU didn't pass CPU test" Or some such message from the lady in the motherboard.

SOmeone, just shoot me. My 6600GT just died today too.

__________________
Heatware:
Trolls: You mess with one of us, you mess with SSS
Gamertag: Elif Tymes
Elif Tymes is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-05, 08:29 PM   #2
shellshock
Member

 
shellshock's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Claremore Oklahoma

 
aaaaah, that sucks, sorry bud

__________________
Heatware
Ocforums metal club member #690
Folding for Team 32!
shellshock is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-05, 08:52 PM   #3
Tebore
Member

 
Tebore's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto,Canada(I can see you....)

10 Year Badge
 
You've tried clearly the CMOS right?

Sometimes when you take the power plug out overnight along with the battery out and leaving the Clear CMOS jumper in the clear position might fix the problem.

__________________
UMPC:
Asus EEE 701(4G)
Laptops:
Lenovo T60p
Servers:
IBM XServ
Heatware
Tebore is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-05, 08:56 PM Thread Starter   #4
Elif Tymes
Member

 
Elif Tymes's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004

 
Ok, Cleared the CMOS, nothing...

SCREAMED like a lunatic, nothing...

Switched the jumper back to 100Mhz... it boots... Good God, thank you. THANK YOU...



BUT, the question is, is my OC dead? If so, I'm gonna sell the stupid Dually off, and start saving up for a Powerbook.

__________________
Heatware:
Trolls: You mess with one of us, you mess with SSS
Gamertag: Elif Tymes
Elif Tymes is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-05, 09:13 PM   #5
Rpkole

 
Rpkole's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: out BORGING

 
O man that sucks but it does sound like your chips are ok
you may want to pull them out to see if there are any burn marks or any thing like that. not to sure if you OC is dead but the only way to find out is ot try again

__________________
Gamming Rig - MSI X58M, i7 920 @ 4Ghz, 2 x GTX275, 6GB G.SKILL DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
File Server - DFI LANPARTY DK 790GX-M2RS, Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz, 7600GT KO, 4GB G.SKILL DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500), 19.5TB of Storage space
- Black Belt Ubercloxx0r Heatware

Folding User Stats
Rpkole is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-05, 09:16 PM   #6
iceage
Member

 
iceage's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC

 
My experiences have been when cpus come back from the dead, they're OCable again. But its only happened once to me.

Good luck!!
iceage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-05, 09:23 PM   #7
{PMS}fishy
Senior A64 Killer

 
{PMS}fishy's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Boston, MA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elif Tymes
I killed my C1 Xeons... DANG IT ALL.....
Atleast they were not D1s.

Anyways, I haven't seen a P4/XEON fail from heat. They all have thermal protect, unless you disabled it.

__________________
Pick 2: Speed -- Reliability -- Cost

Trouble Shooting 101:
1. RTFM
2. Repeat Step 1

6ghz Club Member.


cw823 Fan Club Founding Member, are you?
{PMS}fishy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-05, 09:24 PM   #8
perfectturmoil
Member



Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hillbillyville

 
Hope they are still working, it would probably be best just to start from the beginning, go through the whole overclocking routine again...

But hey, if theyre broke, it gives you an excuse to hunt down a pair of D1 LV's and cruise right on up to 3+ghz :-]

I'm sure you can find a seller somewhere.. check the 2cpu.com forum for sale boards. Chances are you can find a pair there.. I don't have access to the classifieds here, but they may turn up there as well :-]

Good luck :-]
perfectturmoil is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-05, 09:26 PM Thread Starter   #9
Elif Tymes
Member

 
Elif Tymes's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004

 
yea, theres some D1s here, and I'm sorely tempted to buy some, but if they are good, I'll just keep it as it is...

But, man I almost crapped myself.

__________________
Heatware:
Trolls: You mess with one of us, you mess with SSS
Gamertag: Elif Tymes
Elif Tymes is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-05, 09:27 PM   #10
ludeboy12

 
ludeboy12's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wheeling, WV

 
blah.....just when i thought i was gonna be able to use my uber cool usb gun you get it working again.....

__________________
C2Q Rig.... C2Q Q6600 @ 3.6ghz | Abit IP35 Pro | 2 x 1gb G.Skill DDR2 PC6400 | eVGA 8800gts 320 x 2 | Silverstone TJ-09
i7 Rig.... i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | eVGA x58 | 3 x 1gb G.Skill DDR3 1600 | eVGA 8800gts g92 x 2 | Caseless
FAH Quad / GPU Farm....To be continued....
My Folding Stats...
ludeboy12 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-05, 09:27 PM   #11
qwertyuiop
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Connecticut

 
I agree with Fishy I wouldn't worry about them being dead, and to go further there's no reason they shouldn't OC just as well as they did before. Good Luck and stick with it!
qwertyuiop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-05, 09:28 PM Thread Starter   #12
Elif Tymes
Member

 
Elif Tymes's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004

 
If it makes you feel better, shoot me for my idiocy.

__________________
Heatware:
Trolls: You mess with one of us, you mess with SSS
Gamertag: Elif Tymes
Elif Tymes is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-05, 09:41 PM Thread Starter   #13
Elif Tymes
Member

 
Elif Tymes's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004

 
Ok, back up to 2.6 So happy So Happy Sooo Happy

__________________
Heatware:
Trolls: You mess with one of us, you mess with SSS
Gamertag: Elif Tymes
Elif Tymes is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-05, 09:49 PM   #14
iceage
Member

 
iceage's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC

 
I figured it would have thermal protection. Though the C1s are Prestonias, northwood based i think.
iceage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-05, 09:51 PM   #15
{PMS}fishy
Senior A64 Killer

 
{PMS}fishy's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Boston, MA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceage
I figured it would have thermal protection. Though the C1s are Prestonias, northwood based i think.
Yeap, same deal with the D1s.

__________________
Pick 2: Speed -- Reliability -- Cost

Trouble Shooting 101:
1. RTFM
2. Repeat Step 1

6ghz Club Member.


cw823 Fan Club Founding Member, are you?
{PMS}fishy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-05, 09:56 PM   #16
iceage
Member

 
iceage's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC

 
I know this is completely unrelated.

My rank says 'Registered'. Other people have 'Member' or something custom.

How do I go from 'Registered' to 'Member'.

Thanks!!
iceage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-05, 09:52 AM   #17
veryhumid



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New Hampshire

 
lol, glad to hear they are alive. crapping your pants over an accident with your computer is always fun . I had one last night I accidentally selected the wrong ati cleaning filter, the ati IGP in driver cleaner and it deleted all my RAID files right in front of me. I was like AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!, If ended up booting into BartPE, and found the files that got deleted from a disk I had.

__________________

< FOLD!
< Heatware

< EVGA X58, 920, TRUE, 12GB Corsair, 2 x EVGA GTX 285, Enermax Revolution, Velociraptor, 7 64-bit
veryhumid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-05, 01:09 PM   #18
Flip-Mode
Member

 
Flip-Mode's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Beer Sheva, Israel

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elif Tymes
Ok, back up to 2.6 So happy So Happy Sooo Happy
I'm glad to hear that

__________________
Heatware (Yes Israelis have it too!) PayPal Verified[/size]
Flip-Mode is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-05, 07:27 PM   #19
Xaotic
Very kind Senior

 
Xaotic's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Greensboro NC

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceage
I know this is completely unrelated.

My rank says 'Registered'. Other people have 'Member' or something custom.

How do I go from 'Registered' to 'Member'.

Thanks!!
You are there now...

More info here:

http://www.ocforums.com/announcement...ouncementid=12
Xaotic is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?