• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

KDE 3.4 & amaroK question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JerMe

Simple question, but I don't know what's going on.

If I'm using KDE 3.4 right now...

and I emerge amarok...

... why is it emerging kde-base-3.3.2-r2? Isn't that a step in the wrong direction?

I'm a complete noob when it comes to linux, so pardon me if I missed something obvious..

The amarok package might not have been updated, and so doesn't recognize that kde-3.4 will work instead of 3.3. You might try pretending the ebuild, looking at the packages it depends on, and compiling those except for kde-base. Then you can emerge amarok with the --nodeps option.
It might also be that kde-base was compiled as a dependency of something else, and so wasn't added to the world file.
Edit: Have you run emerge sync recently? I just did emerge --pretend amarok and kde-base wasn't listed as a dependency. I don't have KDE installed at all; one of the dependencies was kde-libs-3.4-r2 though.

Thanks for the reply.

If I emerge --pretend amarok:
Code:
These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild  NS   ] kde-base/kdebase-3.3.2-r2
[ebuild  N    ] kde-base/kdemultimedia-3.3.2
[ebuild  N    ] media-sound/amarok-1.2.1

Yes, I ran emerge --sync right before I emerged amarok. =\ Very strange that it would emerge an earlier version of KDE... I cancelled out of the KDE 3.3.2 install, just in case something terrible were to happen.

My computer would install 1.2.3, so they might have changed the dependencies between the 2 versions, especially if 1.2.1 was released before KDE 3.4.0 was unmasked. I have ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" even though it is not recommended, so I use testing/masked packages by default; that is why I would be using 1.2.3 instead of 1.2.1.