• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Tweak that worked wonders

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

NoPK!!!11

For a few years I've played many FPS games and eventually I found a great tweak that actually works and rises minimal FPS and generally makes gameplay smoother.

I can't go into great detail about this as I'm not very experienced with tweaks and so.

In device manager there's "computer" either 2nd or 3rd(laptop) down.
expand it, and there should be uni/multi processor PC,

I manually changed this to 'Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI) PC' and had a dramatic improvement with many things, although I'm not sure what it did, but it's gave me some kind of legal speedcheat or something lol.

If anyone has more info on this, apprieciated, I've tried searching forum.

I mainly want to know if I'm running any risks using this.

Thanks.

People have known about this for a VERY long time....

I believe most people only use it for benchmarks, it improves performance but I've heard it makes your pc less stable, and produces more heat.

My computer won't boot into windows with Advanced Config on...

NoPK!!!11 said:
I manually changed this to 'Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI) PC' and had a dramatic improvement with many things, although I'm not sure what it did, but it's gave me some kind of legal speedcheat or something lol.

how exactly do u manually change it?

jcw122 said:
how exactly do u manually change it?