Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

DFI DFI Lanparty UT NF3 250GB & X850XT PE compatibility issues?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-05, 12:44 PM Thread Starter   #1
SCORPIONlt1
Member

 
SCORPIONlt1's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: MA

 
DFI DFI Lanparty UT NF3 250GB & X850XT PE compatibility issues?


I just bought and installed an NF3 250GB a couple days ago and it wouldnít post after much research, emails to ATI, forum searching and testing an old Video card I figured out my 9800XT was my problem with the new Mother board. So I sold it to my buddy (works great on his rig) and bought an X850XT PE. The card seems to work fine but Iím very disappointed in the performance. I play Joint Operations all the time and with my old setup I got 40- 50 FPS, the only difference was the motherboard and video card (Asus K8V SE Deluxe, 9800XT). Now with the new setup ($500 a video card and the same graphics settings) Iím getting 45-55 FPS. On toms hardware.com they had an X800XT PE getting about 80-90 FPS (with a P4 3.2ghz). I also went through the same test they used on JOINT OPS and got 55 fps.
I put the card in last night so there are a few things Iím going to check into. But I figured Iíd ask if any one has heard of any compatibility issues with the X850s and the NF3 250GB or if anyone has any ideas of what might be wrong. Thanks guys
SCORPIONlt1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-12-05, 12:45 PM   #2
crimedog
Member

 
crimedog's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South of Boston

 
there are no compatibility issues. it sounds like you have a bad driver install. when was the last time you reformatted?

__________________
i'm packing heat
crimedog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-12-05, 01:44 PM Thread Starter   #3
SCORPIONlt1
Member

 
SCORPIONlt1's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: MA

 
I just reformatted when I installed the new motherboard about 3 days ago. And I installed the newest driver from ATI. I did have a little old PCI 8mb video card in for a day when I figured out my 9800 was my initial problem. My buddy suggested I get a driver cleaner remove all video drivers and reinstall the video driver. Does that sound about right or should I do a whole reformat.
SCORPIONlt1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-12-05, 01:56 PM   #4
IrishAssassin
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal

 
First use driver cleaner, then if that does not fix the problem I would suggest reformat.

__________________
Gaming Rig
cpu - Intel Core i5 760 @ 3.5 gHz
mobo - Asus P7P55-E LX
vid card - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB @ 850core/1700shader/2000memory
ram - GSkill GBNQ 3x2gb DDR3 @ 9-9-9-24 1T
hd - WD Black 640gb - OCZ Vertex 2 60gb
psu - Corsair TX750
sound - Asus Xonar Essence STX
case - Lian-Li PC-60FNWB
OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
PSN: Aenimosity
IrishAssassin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-12-05, 02:05 PM   #5
Frogbones
Member



Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX

 
DFI DFI Lanparty UT NF3 250GB
is that a good Mobo?

__________________
Don't believe the HYPE, or become deluted by the HYPE!!!

Take pride in ur rig like every gamer should:
I7 860@3.0GHz .
8gig Mushkin Enhanced DDR3 560TIOC
X-FI Extreme Gamer
600W OCZ
Antec Nine Hundred case.
Frogbones is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-12-05, 02:08 PM   #6
Milkman
Member

 
Milkman's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NH Biodiesel master

 
I think it's the best overclocking NF3 board out there and more tweaking options than a board has a right to I know I love mine!!

-Milkman

__________________

Fx55
Sandy@2950 for now
Dfi Lanparty Ultra> Sli
Corsair Pc3200@4400

X800XlAll Air Cooled:(
MyHeatware
Milkman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-13-05, 07:39 AM Thread Starter   #7
SCORPIONlt1
Member

 
SCORPIONlt1's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: MA

 
Well I tried a driver cleaner and reinstalled the video driver, that didnít work. Then I reformatted and reinstalled windows and that didnít make any real difference. So my plan right now is to run some benchmarks and see if it is just that game. If that doesnít look good Iíll try the card in my buddies rig.

__________________
E6600@3.7Ghz(24/7)
Striker Extreme
Corsair Dominator 8500C5D
Corsair HX620 psu
EVGA 8800 GTX@651/1003
2 74GB NEW Raptors RAID 0
water cooling:
storm rev.2, EK full coverage, MPC655, black ice GTX extreme 240 radiator

"If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough."
- Mario Andretti
SCORPIONlt1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-13-05, 11:52 AM   #8
crimedog
Member

 
crimedog's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South of Boston

 
did you install chipset drivers?

__________________
i'm packing heat
crimedog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-13-05, 12:57 PM Thread Starter   #9
SCORPIONlt1
Member

 
SCORPIONlt1's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: MA

 
yup and I just ran aquamark 3 and scored a 26,347

__________________
E6600@3.7Ghz(24/7)
Striker Extreme
Corsair Dominator 8500C5D
Corsair HX620 psu
EVGA 8800 GTX@651/1003
2 74GB NEW Raptors RAID 0
water cooling:
storm rev.2, EK full coverage, MPC655, black ice GTX extreme 240 radiator

"If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough."
- Mario Andretti
SCORPIONlt1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-13-05, 01:31 PM Thread Starter   #10
SCORPIONlt1
Member

 
SCORPIONlt1's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: MA

 
ok now I'm more confused but feal a little better. for the heck of it i reinstalled the chip set drivers ran aquamark 3 two more times. this time my scores were 67,438 and 64,745 witch is more like what it should be but JOINT OPS was still at 55 FPS. Coud it be my power supply? It's a generic 420w that came with my rig witch was Origonaly Built by Cyber Power PC. the case and power supply are the only original thins left.

__________________
E6600@3.7Ghz(24/7)
Striker Extreme
Corsair Dominator 8500C5D
Corsair HX620 psu
EVGA 8800 GTX@651/1003
2 74GB NEW Raptors RAID 0
water cooling:
storm rev.2, EK full coverage, MPC655, black ice GTX extreme 240 radiator

"If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough."
- Mario Andretti
SCORPIONlt1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?