Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

ATI equivilant to SLI?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-14-05, 07:03 AM Thread Starter   #1
Matarael
Member



Join Date: Dec 2004

 
ATI equivilant to SLI?


Just wondering how ATI's version of nVidia's SLI technology will work. Will it require a connector like the nVidia cards or will they work in tandem in a different way? Oh, and pardon my ignorance, but what is ATI's version of SLI called?

Regards,

__________________
ASUS A8N-Sli Premium
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ "Venice" core
XFX Geforce 6800GT
1GB Corsair Value Select PC3200 DDR RAM
Seasonic S12-500w PSU
Coolermaster Centurion 530 Case
Matarael is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-05, 07:19 AM   #2
Sjaak
Member

 
Sjaak's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: The Netherlands

 
ATI's AMR (Ati Multi-Rendering) will require two compatible videocards and a compatible motherboard and drivers.

However, from what i heard, the two videocards don't require to be the same core or speed. (as with Nvidia).

__________________
'Apparantly reality has a strong liberal bias'
Sjaak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-05, 04:25 PM Thread Starter   #3
Matarael
Member



Join Date: Dec 2004

 
Does anyone know if it will require a Bridge chip like on SLI?

__________________
ASUS A8N-Sli Premium
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ "Venice" core
XFX Geforce 6800GT
1GB Corsair Value Select PC3200 DDR RAM
Seasonic S12-500w PSU
Coolermaster Centurion 530 Case
Matarael is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-05, 06:56 PM   #4
Sjaak
Member

 
Sjaak's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: The Netherlands

 
Nope, ATI's AMR will be using a software bridge, PCI-Express is fast enough for that.

__________________
'Apparantly reality has a strong liberal bias'
Sjaak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-05, 06:57 PM   #5
nealric
Member

 
nealric's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: under the floorboards

 
Are ati cards bought now going to be sli compatable?

I was thinking about getting a x800xl now for socket 939 single core and then getting socket m1 dual core sli next year if possible.

__________________
I own a computer!
nealric is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-05, 08:19 PM   #6
jokers_greg
Member

 
jokers_greg's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mississauga, Ontario

 
i doubt, AMR is still buggy and needs a little more developement. When AMR comes out i dont think it will be backward compatible

__________________
Primary
3570k @4.6 turbo, P8Z77-V PRO ,
6970 , Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB 1600
Vertex 4 120GB, 1x 250GB Seagate
LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-4167B
,
HX 850W , NZXT Switch 810

My OLD WC Project Log
My Heat
jokers_greg is offline Author Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-05, 08:43 PM   #7
{PMS}fishy
Senior A64 Killer

 
{PMS}fishy's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Boston, MA

10 Year Badge
 
There is no equivilant to SLI.

Not now, not soon.

__________________
Pick 2: Speed -- Reliability -- Cost

Trouble Shooting 101:
1. RTFM
2. Repeat Step 1

6ghz Club Member.


cw823 Fan Club Founding Member, are you?
{PMS}fishy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-05, 08:47 PM   #8
xTrEmEoVrClOcKr
member



Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Diego, CA

 
ATi has a long way to go ... they cant depend on there R520 forever ...

__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.6GHz w/ XIGMATEK SD1283 120mm
Asus P8Z68-Z
8GB Corsair Vengeance
640GB x 2 WD Black in RAID0, 500GB Data drive
Sapphire HD5830 @ 900Mhz / 1225Mhz
Lian Li V2000A w/ 550W Antec TruePower II
xTrEmEoVrClOcKr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-05, 08:49 PM   #9
IWasHungry
Member

 
IWasHungry's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Seattle, WA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by {PMS}fishy
There is no equivilant to SLI.

Not now, not soon.
lol
We shall see.
IWasHungry is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-05, 08:50 PM   #10
{PMS}fishy
Senior A64 Killer

 
{PMS}fishy's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Boston, MA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by IWasHungry
lol
We shall see.
We will at some point. It just wont be soon, and probally wont be as good as what Nvidia put out.

__________________
Pick 2: Speed -- Reliability -- Cost

Trouble Shooting 101:
1. RTFM
2. Repeat Step 1

6ghz Club Member.


cw823 Fan Club Founding Member, are you?
{PMS}fishy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-05, 11:06 PM   #11
rebelwarlock
Member

 
rebelwarlock's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004

 
i detect intel/nvidia fanboys on the premises, get out the clubs...

__________________
Innocent and pure hearted evil


The following people don't suck:
Kendan, nerdlogic, >HyperlogiK<, Flip-Mode, k3nshin, Frodo Baggins, NewbiePerson, 9mmCensor, Malpine Walis, Rumrunner, DuckDodgers, Silver, Zulu-1
rebelwarlock is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-05, 01:40 AM   #12
Sjaak
Member

 
Sjaak's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: The Netherlands

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by {PMS}fishy
We will at some point. It just wont be soon, and probally wont be as good as what Nvidia put out.
You do know like me and no one else that intel first announced dual ccore, but then AMD came in and they made it a rush job, so now that AMD has the better design. (omg..did i just say somthing in favour of AMD )

I can se the same happening with ATI and Nvidia in about half a year. ATI wil have their version of 'two vga in one', Nvidia will be scared and put their new chips in a rush job.

__________________
'Apparantly reality has a strong liberal bias'
Sjaak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-05, 07:06 AM   #13
El<(')>Maxi
Blank Senior Member

 
El<(')>Maxi's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Seattle

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by {PMS}fishy
We will at some point. It just wont be soon, and probally wont be as good as what Nvidia put out.
We will at Cebit, and Fudo is rumored to match SLI all by itself. Put Fudo in AMR and you will really see something powerful, something Nvidia will be hard pressed to match.

__________________
rdrash - 'I'm gonna intentionally try to kill this CPU with more volts'
El<(')>Maxi is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-05, 03:54 PM   #14
Almondo
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by {PMS}fishy
We will at some point. It just wont be soon, and probally wont be as good as what Nvidia put out.
We are talking about the same company that has been the leader in single slot cards now for a good couple years now, ATI.

What makes you so sure that they would be unable implement their technology into a successfull dual card solution that may equal or better Nvidia's offerings considering their recent track record?
Almondo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-05, 04:32 PM   #15
{PMS}fishy
Senior A64 Killer

 
{PMS}fishy's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Boston, MA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almondo
We are talking about the same company that has been the leader in single slot cards now for a good couple years now, ATI.

What makes you so sure that they would be unable implement their technology into a successfull dual card solution that may equal or better Nvidia's offerings considering their recent track record?
Last I checked the 6800s were spanking the ATI counter parts.

Granted the 9500/9700/9800 killed all of the FX cards, ATI really got it stuck to them when the 6600/6800 cards came out.

__________________
Pick 2: Speed -- Reliability -- Cost

Trouble Shooting 101:
1. RTFM
2. Repeat Step 1

6ghz Club Member.


cw823 Fan Club Founding Member, are you?
{PMS}fishy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-05, 04:40 PM   #16
Sjaak
Member

 
Sjaak's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: The Netherlands

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by {PMS}fishy
Last I checked the 6800s were spanking the ATI counter parts.
Actually, the 850 does a great job vs the 6800:


__________________
'Apparantly reality has a strong liberal bias'
Sjaak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-05, 04:41 PM   #17
Chocobo
Member

 
Chocobo's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: So Cal

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by {PMS}fishy
Last I checked the 6800s were spanking the ATI counter parts.

Granted the 9500/9700/9800 killed all of the FX cards, ATI really got it stuck to them when the 6600/6800 cards came out.
Ok we are talking about how it takes 2 cards to kill ONE!!! ONLY ONE!!!! of the ATI cards.

So what makes you think nvidia is playing fair?

__________________
Heaven and Hell are just what you make of it when you die and is reflected by your actions.

Rig 1:
E8400 O/C'ed @ 4.22ghz(daily) /// Xfire HD4850's both @ 680/1150 /// P5Q pro /// Corsair XMS2 DC Kit PC8500 1066mhz (2x2GB) /// Corsair 650W PS

Rig 2:
i7 2600k SB on a H60 watercooler /// 2 x MSI 6970 Lighting Xfire ///Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P /// G.SKILL Sniper (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 /// CORSAIR Professional Series HX850 (CMPSU-850HX) /// 3 x 27" inch Planar monitors
Chocobo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-05, 04:43 PM   #18
Avg
Senior Member

 
Avg's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NY, Long island

 
According to the Inquirer AMR will use a external connector, from other articles I've seen online AMR will be released along with their new card sometime this summer or early fall.
http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=23265

__________________
Avg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-05, 04:44 PM   #19
kayson
Member

 
kayson's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sjaak
Actually, the 850 does a great job vs the 6800:
More support for that:
http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=2406&p=6

x800 xl does great too...

__________________
Project Silver
Intel Core i7-4770k
Asus Maximus VI Hero
G.Skill Sniper 2x4GB DDR3-1866
EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 760
Corsair HX850
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
Thermalright Venomous X || 2x 120mm Panaflo || Arctic Silver V
Lian-Li PC-A77FA || Vantec Nexus Fan Controller
(Build Journal)
Heatware
kayson is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-05, 05:08 PM   #20
IWasHungry
Member

 
IWasHungry's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Seattle, WA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayson
More support for that:
http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=2406&p=6

x800 xl does great too...
That's Half-Life 2 dude...ATI owns NVidia in that test.
And Nvidia owns ATI in Doom3.
IWasHungry is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?