Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

FSB question

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-15-05, 01:32 PM Thread Starter   #1
TheMainFrame
Member

 
TheMainFrame's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005

 
FSB question


I go into bios and set my FSB to lets say 250..

When i restart it shows it at 251 at startup

No matter what i set it at its always 1 higher on startup

Is that normal? is it 251 or is it 250?

__________________
Enclosure - Silver MGE Sidewinder
CPU - Pentium 4 3.2Ghz 640 @ 4.0Ghz - 250 x 16 - 1.45v :p
CPU Cooling - Swiftech MCP6002, MCP655 Pump, and BIX II
Mobo - GA-8I915P Duo w/ Northpole Northbridge Cooler and Mosfet Sinks
Memory - 2 X 512 OCZ Platinum EB Rev 2 LE Dual Channel PC2-4200 - 3-2-2-8 @ DDR500 1:1
Graphics - MSI 6600GT @ 575/1250 3DMark05 = 3920 3DMark03 = 9341 3DMark01SE = 21237
GPU Cooler - NV Silencer 6 Rev 2 and Ram sinks
Sound - Sound Blaster Audigy 2
Power - OCZ Powerstream 520W
TheMainFrame is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 05-15-05, 02:40 PM   #2
fAlCoNNiAn
Member

 
fAlCoNNiAn's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Washington, D.C. | Syracuse University

 
on my 8KNXP, the clock gen isnt always on the dot about the clock, same goes for almost every motherboard. if you open up cpu-z, look at the fsb, it will say something like 250.X, if that x is higher then 5, then the bios will round it off to the next number, in your case, 251, but the clock is still 250.X . its just the bios rounding it off. if it gets unstable at 250, go down to 249, becuase it might be clocked at 249.8 and you will still get a close enough clock rate. hope that helps.

__________________
Pentium 4 3.4E (SL7E6 D0 Step) @ 3.8 Ghz Stock vcore * Gigabyte 8KNXP Rev. 2.0 Mobo (i875) FK * 1.5 Gig Dual Channel 3200 Ram Samsung TCCC 3-3-3-6 1:1 * TTBT (Aerocool GateWatch) * Sapphire 9800 XT + ATI Sliencer 3 * OCZ Powerstream 600 Watt PSU
.:..:.:.

"Sitting on a bench in the sunshine, Filling up my belly with some fine wine."
fAlCoNNiAn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-05, 02:51 PM   #3
Hamm3r

 
Hamm3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Varazdin, Croatia

 
Im running 230FSB with my NF7-s, and on post it always says memory frequency is 458Mhz. But then I check it from CPU-z and it says 230.5

__________________
P5B-dlx wifi
Core2Duo E4300
2GB Corsair DDR2 800Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD4850
Enermax 460 Watt

Support Overclockers.com DC teams!
Hamm3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-05, 10:49 PM   #4
fAlCoNNiAn
Member

 
fAlCoNNiAn's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Washington, D.C. | Syracuse University

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hamm3r
Im running 230FSB with my NF7-s, and on post it always says memory frequency is 458Mhz. But then I check it from CPU-z and it says 230.5
.... Memory is DDR (Double Data Rate). 230 x 2 = 460 mhz ~ 458 mhz...... so is the fsb for amd boards, 200x2=400mhz. for intel its quad, 200x4=800.

to the world of overclocking.

__________________
Pentium 4 3.4E (SL7E6 D0 Step) @ 3.8 Ghz Stock vcore * Gigabyte 8KNXP Rev. 2.0 Mobo (i875) FK * 1.5 Gig Dual Channel 3200 Ram Samsung TCCC 3-3-3-6 1:1 * TTBT (Aerocool GateWatch) * Sapphire 9800 XT + ATI Sliencer 3 * OCZ Powerstream 600 Watt PSU
.:..:.:.

"Sitting on a bench in the sunshine, Filling up my belly with some fine wine."
fAlCoNNiAn is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?