Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

change cd key on half life?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-01, 10:18 AM Thread Starter   #1
i12bina3
Member

 
i12bina3's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: (K-Town) Belgium

 
change cd key on half life?


does anybody have any idea to change the cd key on half life? especially with the new cs version 1.3
its just to put some pcs in a network so we can game together without having to search for 5 keys
thx
i12bina3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-03-01, 02:37 PM   #2
TT120
Senior Member

 
TT120's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA.

 
I could use that info as well, I'm having that CD key in use problem on my home network.

__________________
I know there is money in computers, I put it there.
TT120 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-03-01, 04:06 PM Thread Starter   #3
i12bina3
Member

 
i12bina3's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: (K-Town) Belgium

 
i tried using a keygen ... but i forgot that on the new version it might have a negative effect well ... i was right ... my half life is bye bye ...
so maybe there is a new keygen or even something you can do by yourself to get your keygen
i12bina3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-03-01, 04:35 PM   #4
Ghaz
Member



Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Portland Oregon

 
Here is where the key is located in the registry. HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\SOFTWARE\Valve\Half-Life\Settings
There is a key named KEY and there it is. Use this for reference if you need help http://www.thaigaming.com/halflife/s...ngecdkey.shtml
Ghaz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-04-01, 12:10 AM   #5
MrOOBiLL
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Vancouver BC

 
OK. I went into the registry, changed 1 digit of the cdkey (changed a 2 at the end to a 0), then tried to open HL.
Window comes up.
"The CD KEY is inncorrent, please re-enter it. etc."

Thats really weird, because i didnt have the CD in, so it couldnt do any kind of check with it. Therefore, all i can think of is that the key is sored in SECOND place other than the registry, or mabye somewhere else in the registry. Anybody done a sucsessful CD-Key change for Half Life?

Grrr.... I believe that once i buy software, it should damn well work on multiple comps in the LAN.
MrOOBiLL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-04-01, 01:07 AM Thread Starter   #6
i12bina3
Member

 
i12bina3's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: (K-Town) Belgium

 
i know where the key is situated in my registry but thats not the problem
i need to know how i can change it ... that im sure it is changed correctly ... thx
i12bina3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-04-01, 01:13 AM   #7
Gresyth
Computer Abuser

 
Gresyth's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Houston, TX

10 Year Badge
 
Can't do it. Each Machine Has to have a Unique CD-Key. The cheap way is to look for version 1.0.0.9 od CD in your store. Got mine for $10.00 (US). Then download and install the upgrades on each machine. Time consuming yes but thats the way to do it legit. Other than that you have to find a cracked version. Good luck on that, they dont work very well for multiplayer.

__________________
RIP My brother. You were my best friend and the little brother I never had.
Maddman - December 29, 1962 - October 28, 2005

ASRock 970 EXTREME4
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz/// Mugen 2 HS/Fan
Crucial 16GB DDR3 1333///SAPPHIRE HD 5770
128GB Crucial M4 SATA III SSD /// 3TB Storage
24" Viewsonic VX2433wm 1920x1080 LCD
ASUS VN247H-P 23.6-Inch Screen LED-Lit Monitor
Win 7 Pro x64 /// CM Silent Pro 700W
Fractal Design Define R3 Black


Partnership for an Idiot Free America
Gresyth is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-01, 10:08 AM   #8
Kalgregor
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2001

 
I know lots of ppl who play lan games using the same keys. I'd say delete the registry keys and it will ask u for them again when u go in. Maybe try changing them to the generic keys in regedit first, ones that work well like 1234567890123 or 3333333333333, otherwise reinstall with new keys
Kalgregor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-01, 04:42 PM   #9
MrOOBiLL
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Vancouver BC

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Kalgregor
I know lots of ppl who play lan games using the same keys. I'd say delete the registry keys and it will ask u for them again when u go in. Maybe try changing them to the generic keys in regedit first, ones that work well like 1234567890123 or 3333333333333, otherwise reinstall with new keys
I have no trouble playing lan games, its inernet games that dont work. it would just be cool to have 1 computer be a deticated server, and play on the other. But I cant understand why changing the key in the registry wont work....
MrOOBiLL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-01, 12:42 PM   #10
Nato
New Member



Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: ohio

 
many moon ago used 3 different cd keys.. i always chagned it in the registry... just make sure the keys you use are real keys
Nato is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-19-01, 02:23 AM   #11
MrOOBiLL
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Vancouver BC

 
Sweet sex on tuesday!
It worked!!!
And it was that simple the whole time...
I was changing one # in my cd key when i should've changed the whole thing. So there you have it folks, it CAN be done.
Thx Nato
MrOOBiLL is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?