Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

RPM sensor with molexed rheostat

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-22-05, 03:05 PM Thread Starter   #1
Damian
Member

 
Damian's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Acton, MA

 
RPM sensor with molexed rheostat


I just got a Yate Loon 120mm fan. It has the 3-pin fan header thing with the rpm sensor. I cut & spliced to have the power come from a molex and go through a rheostat, but how would I go about connecting the fan header so I could get an RPM reading?
Damian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-05, 03:28 PM   #2
Bios24
Member

 
Bios24's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO

 
All you need is the yellow wire on the 3-pin connector and plug it into the board. That's all you need to read rpm's.

__________________
Antec P180 - Corsair HX520W - Dell 2005fpw
Opteron 165 <Currently 280x9 1.35v>
DFI NF4 Ultra-D - 2gb G.Skill 3-4-4-8@250mhz
320gb+200gb Seagate - XFX 6800GS 500/1.2ghz
Sound Blaster X-Fi - BA7900 5.1 Surround
Thermalright XP-90C - <The Quiet Overclock>
[ HEATWARE ]
Bios24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-05, 03:29 PM   #3
Ven0m
Member

 
Ven0m's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warsaw, Poland

 
1st - rheo has t obeon + line, not gnd
2nd - simply use fan connector with only 1 wire for RPM readout.
Perhaps pics in fan controller guide (sticky) might help a bit.
Ven0m is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-05, 03:45 PM Thread Starter   #4
Damian
Member

 
Damian's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Acton, MA

 
t obeon + line? Huh? I have it the rheo hooked up to ground; is that bad?
Damian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-05, 03:57 PM Thread Starter   #5
Damian
Member

 
Damian's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Acton, MA

 
Tried doing just the yellow; it doesn't work.
Damian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-05, 04:38 PM Thread Starter   #6
Damian
Member

 
Damian's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Acton, MA

 
Hey, never mind. It works in MBM5. I only got it down to 1450 RPM, though... damn.

Could I just mount a fairly beefy resistor in series with the rheo to slow it down?
Damian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-05, 05:48 PM   #7
Ven0m
Member

 
Ven0m's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warsaw, Poland

 
Sure, it should work.
I didn't recommend putting rheo on GND, because RPM readout is series of high and low signals. If you modify GND rail instaed of +, instead of GND, you get some higher potential on fan, so low signals may have higher voltage and RPM sensor may not work in such cases.
Ven0m is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?