• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Which moniter to choose...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Counda

I'll be buying an LCD shortly, preferably a 19" with a fast response time for under $500 Canadian. I'm new in the moniter purchasing thing, and would like some opinions on the best moniter to buy. Here's a few I've picked:

http://canadacomputers.com/cc/index.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd=pd&pid=006660&cid=MT.899

http://canadacomputers.com/cc/index.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd=pd&pid=006765&cid=MT.899

http://canadacomputers.com/cc/index.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd=pd&pid=006571&cid=MT.899

This will be used mostly for school work, gaming, web browsing etc. If Anybody could help me pick a good moniter it would be much appreciated.

The Benq looks to have a better spec than the LG. Although both have a 12ms response time, 500:1 contrast ratio and a max res of 1280x1024, the Benq has the option of DVI input (ie better quality connection from PC to monitor). Do you have a DVI output on your video card?

The Samsung has a lower response time at 8ms and a better contrast ratio at 700:1 but doesnt have DVI input.

So i would say if you want DVI the Benq looks best, if not I would get the Samsung. We have Samsung LCD TVs at work and they look very nice indeed.

Well, I plan on getting a new system shortly (~June 15th), and I'll more than likely go with a cheap 6600GT until the G70/R520's come out. So yes, I will more than likely be using DVI :)

The only resolution I would use is 1280x1024, so all the moniters I picked are well suited for that :)

A few more questions:

Is DVI a sort of, "must have" for high quality displays, and would it be worth getting a non-DVI moniter with a higher contrast ratio?

Thanks for the fast reply David (My name's David too :cool: )

Last edited: