Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Easy as 1, 2, 3, Overclocking the A64, Opteron, X2

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-12-05, 07:09 AM   #41
kaibraine
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
Thx, I'm presuming you mean for an all round system test after overclocking is finished. I should have mentioned that I was referring to quick-testing my HTT/FSB to find its limits, my graphics card doesnt run the 3dmark 2003 tests. Anyway I've read through a few of the stickies and have visited some other sites so I'm more sure of what I'm doing now. Sorry about the noob questions and thanks for your help, this is a great little thread for someone who is new to oc'ing

edit: 1 more quick question, you said to set your processor multiplier to its lowest setting and recommended 6x, my clock goes down to 4x with a maximum of 9x and I have been using 4x while testing HTT/FSB and memory should this be ok or should I still use 6x?

Last edited by kaibraine; 09-12-05 at 08:19 AM.
kaibraine is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-12-05, 08:45 AM Thread Starter   #42
infinitevalence
Member

 
infinitevalence's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nashville

 
It should make no difference, but 4x is fine for testing htt and mem, you may find that you cannot achive the highest overall overclock because the memory controler is not getting stressed quite as much, but this is unlikly.
infinitevalence is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-13-05, 05:41 AM   #43
Jon
Just Another Retired Moderator

 
Jon's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lawrenceville, GA

10 Year Badge
 
I definately needed this. After being away for 2 years, everything has changed it seems. I've read alot of guides, but many were still a bit over my head.

Very simple, but I got the point. I was actually dreading the time when it came to go home and begin putting the system I have waiting on me together. I feel quite a bit more at ease over it.

Thanks :]

__________________
theHTPC.net
Jon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-13-05, 12:33 PM Thread Starter   #44
infinitevalence
Member

 
infinitevalence's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nashville

 
glad to help
infinitevalence is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-15-05, 03:59 AM   #45
pontypool
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2005

 
"1. Test the limits of your HyperTransport bus (HTT).

To do this set your CPU to its lowest multiplier. Generally 6x is good enough for this test.

Now set your memory to its lowest divider, 133 is general recommend.

Begin your testing by raising the FSB with the FSB/HTT multiplier set to 5x. Push your HTT up in 5mhz increments until it becomes unstable, generally you back off 5mhz from the last unstable speed. As Quailane pointed out its also a good idea to test with the 3x multi to ensure that your motherboard is not FSB limited, using the same steps test at both 5x for max HTT and 3x for max FSB. Testing should then be done, boot to windows and run a few loops of 3DMark03 or 05, if the system does not create any errors then you know its OK to move on to step 2. If it does fail out then reboot and back off the FSB another 5mhz, and retest.

Once your done note your max HTT number, a pad of paper is your friend so write it down if you think you might forget."

Now this part of the tutorial says to set the cpu multiplier to 6 x
I have found a part of the bios I think corresponds to that, it appears in the guru utility in my bios and was currently set to 10 X.
I couldn't find anything to do with the memory divider, so I suppose you are calling memory divider something different to abit, I have no clue where the "fsb multi" was either, the only thing I could find that was multiplier was set to 10x in guru and I think thats the cpu multiplier.
I tried lowering it from 10 to 5x anyway and managed to raise the fsb to 215, of course the actual clock speed is lower than default this way.
pontypool is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-05, 06:35 PM   #46
GV2NIX
Member

 
GV2NIX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York, NY

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon
I definately needed this. After being away for 2 years, everything has changed it seems. I've read alot of guides, but many were still a bit over my head.

Very simple, but I got the point. I was actually dreading the time when it came to go home and begin putting the system I have waiting on me together. I feel quite a bit more at ease over it.

Thanks :]
My feelings EXACTLY! Wonderful guide, it filled in my knowledge gaps, thanks!

__________________

Processor: 939 Opteron 170 @ 2.7GHz (270x10) Vcore=1.425V
Motherboard: DFI Lanparty UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert
RAM: 2x 512 OCZ PC-4800 Dual Channel DDR EL Elite Edition CL2.5-3-4-9 1T Vdimm=2.8V
Spindles: 1x Maxtor Atlas 10K IV 73.4GB; 1x Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 300GB; 1x Plextor 708A
Video Card: ATi Radeon X1900XT 512MB PCIe
Power Supply: FSP Group FX700-GLN 700W
Case: Cooler Master PAC-T01 "Praetorian"
Cooling: Storm G5 CPU Block; Maze4 GPU Block; Black Ice Micro II; MCP600; 1/2" ID Tygon 3603


My Heatware
GV2NIX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-05, 07:12 PM   #47
fuzzba11
Member

 
fuzzba11's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: in the garage

 
Very easy guide, improved my overclock 187MHz with about an hour's work.
fuzzba11 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-05, 01:28 PM   #48
MrSeanKon
Member

 
MrSeanKon's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: See my profile....

 
Very good guide cos it is simple and small size suitable for anyone.
As about HyperTransport in general should be < 1GHz.
Hyper Transport Speed = HT multiplier X FSB.

But my previous 754 Gigabyte did not achieve high FSBs (over 250 MHz) with HT=1X, 2X, 4X.
For a 754 Epox I set HT=1X LOL for HT=2X, 3X, 4X max FSB for chipset was 220 - 230 MHz only..
This means that sometimes you need to play in the beggining to find the best setting.

More advanced stuff --> look here posts 6,7,8 for I.M.C. (939 system).
That's why I choose a fixed multiplier from beggining to find MSFs for CPU+for RAM.
But it is my personal view.

Here is A64 basics & processor guide.
Focus to 10th post.
It analyzes the effect of using half multipliers.
More advanced o/c guides for A64s click here

Last edited by MrSeanKon; 09-21-06 at 03:15 AM.
MrSeanKon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-09-05, 07:44 PM   #49
flagship
Member

 
flagship's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005

 
When I first installed windows i tryed this method and it led to driver corruption. Obviously I didn't follow it well but would anyone know what could cause this so that it doesn't happen in the future? Not that it was a big deal then as I had nothing on my desktop yet.
flagship is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-09-05, 08:44 PM Thread Starter   #50
infinitevalence
Member

 
infinitevalence's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nashville

 
If your using a MSI K8 Neo with the NF3 chipset, then you need to put the SATA drives on the #3 or #4 SATA port up by the graphics card. The #1 and #2 ports are not locked.
infinitevalence is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-09-05, 09:32 PM   #51
ChonChon
Disabled

 
ChonChon's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: T-DOT (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)

 
is there a program that can be used to O/C a CPU? if not how? i posted a thread but no one is replying im a BIG nOOb when it comes to O/Cing, never done it in my life, but have a sempron 2400+ i experiment on until my killer 3200+ (after o/cing it will be a killer)
ChonChon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-10-05, 03:33 PM   #52
cuda70383
Member

 
cuda70383's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area

 
yes there are....i was using clockgen w/my abit for awhile.

however, my experience, i could push it further in windows than from bios. the problem i had was when i would reboot, it wouldn't go into windows since the settings were too high, so it really wasn't stable.

whereas, when i oc in my bios, part of deteriming stability for me was running memtest and then boot into windows and then prime, 3dmark0?, etc. well, if i can't boot into windows, i know right away the settings are too aggressive.

others were saying that the windows based oc tools weren't good for oc'ing.

maybe some of the programs have changed since last year when i was doing testing.
cuda70383 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-10-05, 03:57 PM   #53
cuda70383
Member

 
cuda70383's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area

 
read this LINK and scroll to bottom......this guy likes clockgen
cuda70383 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-05, 07:47 PM   #54
flagship
Member

 
flagship's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005

 
I'm using a default LanParty SLI-DR bios.

>>To do this set your CPU to its lowest multiplier. Generally 6x is good enough for this test.

This is the CPU/FSB ratio right?

>>Begin your testing by raising the FSB with the FSB/HTT multiplier set to 5x.

And is this the same as the LDT/FSB ratio?

>>Push your HTT up in 5mhz increments until it becomes unstable...

Now this is the confusing part is this the same as the FSB frequency? Or maybe its in some peripheral part of the bios I can't find?

Thanks for any insights.
flagship is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-13-05, 12:48 AM Thread Starter   #55
infinitevalence
Member

 
infinitevalence's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nashville

 
In A64 land there really is no such thing as FSB any more only HTT. Your LTD/FSB should be 5x to start with see how far you can get it, you might also want to test at like 2x or 3x just to see how far you can take your board. As for the cpu/fsb set that to 6x so your not limmiting yourself with the cpu.
infinitevalence is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-13-05, 03:59 AM   #56
peterrastall
Registered

 
peterrastall's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: UK

 
Hmmm... good guide. Sept my PC died at my first attempt lol. Oh well.. quick reset of the bios and it ran again lol.
peterrastall is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-14-05, 09:18 PM   #57
Nahrix
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: BC, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterrastall
Hmmm... good guide. Sept my PC died at my first attempt lol. Oh well.. quick reset of the bios and it ran again lol.
All the more reason to shed the fear, and keep going. Start small, work up in increments until it's unstable. Rinse, repeat, rinse, repeat. The extra performance, and knowledge you'll gain from it will be worth it.
Nahrix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-20-05, 12:42 PM   #58
spyware
Member

 
spyware's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: oshawa on.can

 
Perfect, I just got my first Amd setup and was kinda confused.
Thank's for all the info.
spyware is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-05, 02:50 PM   #59
monkeee2002
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Idaho, USA

 
*bump*

Just proving this thread is timeless !
monkeee2002 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-05, 01:26 AM   #60
Eluzion
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2005

 
If you have RAM rated for higher FSB/HTT (like DDR500), and a motherboard that you know can handle high FSB/HTT, is it safe to say you can simply raise the HTT in small increments until it becomes unstable. At that point, bump up the vcore slightly as long as temperatures are within a reasonable range until it becomes stable (making sure not to go anything over 1.55-1.6ish)?

Do I have my facts straight or am I way off... I have a system on the way that I plan to overclock. Just want to make sure I'm on the right track. Thanks fellas.
Eluzion is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?