Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

I've lost hope in memtest.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-12-05, 10:44 AM Thread Starter   #1
NinjaZX6R
RAM Junkie

 
NinjaZX6R's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: In slots 2 & 4!

 
I've lost hope in memtest.


OK, this is bugging me. At 270mhz on my PC3200 OCZ Rev2 platinum, I can pass 10 tests of memtest #5 at 2.5-3-3-6-1t. However, I go to run 3d mark, and it crashes on the first test. So, I loosen the timings to 2.5-4-4-7-1t and it can run 3d mark endlessly. So, it's the ram...but why the heck does memtest say things are all fine and dandy when I can't run a single 3d benchmark? This makes me think memtest is useless....anyone else had this problem?

-Collin-

__________________
Gaming Rig: Core i7 920|Gigabyte GA-EX58-Extreme|OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum D9JNL (3x1gb)|Visiontek HD 4870|PC Power & Cooling 1kw-SR
Testing Rig: E1600 Celery|Asus Blitz Extreme|Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800 D9GTR (2x1gb)|BFG OC 8800GTS|Antec Server 550 Watt


Me: Dude! I can't post anything because of the NDA on my CPU!!!
Glock: What NDA...you mean that piece of paper that got used as a napkin and thrown away?


My Heat
NinjaZX6R is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-05, 10:47 AM   #2
{PMS}fishy
Senior A64 Killer

 
{PMS}fishy's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Boston, MA

10 Year Badge
 
Yea, I have. 3D is probally the hardset stress that the computer endures.

I can pass test 5 for 8 hours, just to load up 3D03 and have it crap out on me half way though wings.

I don't really bother with memtest anymore. Try SuperPi, seems to give about the same results in terms of stability as 3D. I also find that your 2d stability will always be at higher clocks than 3d, but I think everyone knows that.

__________________
Pick 2: Speed -- Reliability -- Cost

Trouble Shooting 101:
1. RTFM
2. Repeat Step 1

6ghz Club Member.


cw823 Fan Club Founding Member, are you?
{PMS}fishy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-05, 11:04 AM   #3
HousERaT
Senior Air Extraordinaire

 
HousERaT's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Imladris

 
One thing I've found is Test 5 is a good indicator. However Test 5 + Test 8 is an even better indicator. I've memtested Test 5 for hours without error only to try Test 8 and get errors after a few passes. If you can tweak the timings enough to get both tests stable without errors, I've had good success in windows afterwards. A really good quick test would be 20 passes with Test 5 then do 10 passes with Test 8.

__________________
CM-690 | Maximus Formula | Ballistix D9GMH 2GB - 4-4-4-10 - 2.2v (active cooled) | E6850 @4GHz (L719B) 602 Bios 500x8 - 1.475v | Ultra 120 Extreme | 2x HD3870 840/1300 | Lite-On 52327s CDRW | WD 74GB - Raptor HDD | Corsair 620HX PSU | Windows XP Pro sp2 |

Support the OC Benchmarking Team The HD 4870/50 Thread The HD 3870/50 Thread The X1900XT/XTX Thread X800GTO˛ Thread Heatware

Make friends with your "FAST" - 90K 01SE - 77K 03 - 29K 05 - 19K 06 - 274K AM3 - single card all air baby!
HousERaT is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-05, 11:06 AM   #4
Sentential
Contributing Member

 
Sentential's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Midland, Texas

 
I agree, memtest has been slacking off considerably as of late. Not sure why. Same applies to the infamous P95
Sentential is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-05, 11:21 AM   #5
Super Nade
† SU(3) Moderator †

 
Super Nade's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
Collin,

Memtest is a rough indicator of stability. One may think of it as a first line of defence. Surely, all of you who like to bash memtest should know that!

If you cannot pass memtest, everything else may fail. What is memtest? You have blocks of data being read and written to different memory locations. If the checksums don't match, you get an error. Quite simple. It's sole purpose is to see if blocks of data can be written and read faithfully. There is no CPU intensive operations being performed. With 3D gaming/testing, we are stressing the FPU to the max. Also, the Video card comes into play. Now you have 3 variables i.e CPU,GPU and RAM. Are their individual tests mutually exclusive? Experiment tells us NO. You also have crapdows added to the mix.

So, really, there is no point in blaming memtest as you are attributing more to it, than it was designed for.

I believe the modulo 20 test (#8) are the most important. In my experience, I have yet to come across a case where my RAM passed test 8 and failed test 5.

__________________
Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
Understanding SMPS Technology
|| ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

Build in progress
ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L
Super Nade is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-05, 11:30 AM   #6
HousERaT
Senior Air Extraordinaire

 
HousERaT's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Imladris

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Nade
I believe the modulo 20 test (#8) are the most important. In my experience, I have yet to come across a case where my RAM passed test 8 and failed test 5.
My research is demonstrating the same thing. I've had memtest sessions in which I could pass Test 5 and not Test 8. However I haven't had a pass on Test 8 that couldn't pass Test 5. Not that it can't happen, it just hasn't happened to me.

__________________
CM-690 | Maximus Formula | Ballistix D9GMH 2GB - 4-4-4-10 - 2.2v (active cooled) | E6850 @4GHz (L719B) 602 Bios 500x8 - 1.475v | Ultra 120 Extreme | 2x HD3870 840/1300 | Lite-On 52327s CDRW | WD 74GB - Raptor HDD | Corsair 620HX PSU | Windows XP Pro sp2 |

Support the OC Benchmarking Team The HD 4870/50 Thread The HD 3870/50 Thread The X1900XT/XTX Thread X800GTO˛ Thread Heatware

Make friends with your "FAST" - 90K 01SE - 77K 03 - 29K 05 - 19K 06 - 274K AM3 - single card all air baby!
HousERaT is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-05, 11:53 AM   #7
deception``
Member



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
Simply put, Memtest stable does NOT equal Windows stable. On the contrary, it is simply a good way to begin your overclocking ventures.

In my case, I simply use Memtest to benchmark a particular speed before I go into Windows. This way, I am able to rule out certain speeds before I go through tons of in-depth testing. Once I complete a couple of Test #5 passes (about 15-25), I then give it a shot in Aquamark3, 3D Mark, and SuperPi (probably the best test out of the three). However, I am also very realistic about my scores, as I recognize that I may have to do further adjustments once I hit Windows. For example - I can Memtest all day @ 300 Mhz 2.5-3-3-7, but I have to lax my timings to 2.5-4-3-7 to achieve 100% stability.

In the end, Memtest is a good starting point, but it's not everything - just like Prime 95.

deception``
deception`` is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-05, 11:55 AM   #8
Sentential
Contributing Member

 
Sentential's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Midland, Texas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by deception``
Simply put, Memtest stable does NOT equal Windows stable.
I couldnt agree more. These soft errors are a real bitch.
Sentential is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-05, 01:02 PM   #9
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule

 
Eldonko's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaZX6R
OK, this is bugging me. At 270mhz on my PC3200 OCZ Rev2 platinum, I can pass 10 tests of memtest #5 at 2.5-3-3-6-1t. However, I go to run 3d mark, and it crashes on the first test. So, I loosen the timings to 2.5-4-4-7-1t and it can run 3d mark endlessly. So, it's the ram...but why the heck does memtest say things are all fine and dandy when I can't run a single 3d benchmark? This makes me think memtest is useless....anyone else had this problem?

-Collin-
Same experience here. I used to have to same RAM and it would run error free in memtests (all tests) for 24 hours+ at 310Mhz. However the max it would do stable in windows was 283Mhz @ 2.5-4-3.

Now I only use memtest when I get new RAM. After I have an idea of its limits I test in windows with clockgen, tweaker, and superPI 32M.

__________________
Motherboard Reviewer at Hardware Canucks
Team OCX Bench Team
Always lurking the motherboard section
Eldonko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-05, 01:50 PM   #10
tresmonos
Member

 
tresmonos's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Detroit, MI

 
I too, only use memtest as the first step in deciding a stable overclock. Passing memtest, getting into windows, runing superPi then prime95 is the sequence of testing I use to determine if my pc is going to crash midway through a css game or solidedge design. And I've been in your shoes with my OCZ plat rev 2. I can get 260 at 2.5-3-3-6 prime stable. Anything beyond that, prime refuses. Memtest will run overnight at 275...
tresmonos is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-05, 01:51 PM   #11
tresmonos
Member

 
tresmonos's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Detroit, MI

 
Oh, almost forgot:
Its really nice to see you back with AMD, NinjaZX6R!
tresmonos is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-05, 02:30 PM   #12
Reefa_Madness
DRAM Guru Senior

 
Reefa_Madness's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Johns, FL

10 Year Badge
 
What running Memtest will do for you is to give you some assurance that if the ram passes the test it will not corrupt your hard drive when you go into Windows.

It is the high end of any possible overclock, your actual overclock will most surely be less.
Reefa_Madness is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-05, 03:33 PM Thread Starter   #13
NinjaZX6R
RAM Junkie

 
NinjaZX6R's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: In slots 2 & 4!

 
Wow, it seems uniform that people START with memtest, and end with 3d tests in windows. I guess I just got the wrong idea of memtest. I was under the impression that Memtest was the end all be all of an overclock. Looks like 3d stresses it much more!

The input is much appreciated guys!

-Collin-

__________________
Gaming Rig: Core i7 920|Gigabyte GA-EX58-Extreme|OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum D9JNL (3x1gb)|Visiontek HD 4870|PC Power & Cooling 1kw-SR
Testing Rig: E1600 Celery|Asus Blitz Extreme|Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800 D9GTR (2x1gb)|BFG OC 8800GTS|Antec Server 550 Watt


Me: Dude! I can't post anything because of the NDA on my CPU!!!
Glock: What NDA...you mean that piece of paper that got used as a napkin and thrown away?


My Heat
NinjaZX6R is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-05, 03:42 PM   #14
deception``
Member



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaZX6R
Wow, it seems uniform that people START with memtest, and end with 3d tests in windows. I guess I just got the wrong idea of memtest. I was under the impression that Memtest was the end all be all of an overclock. Looks like 3d stresses it much more!

The input is much appreciated guys!

-Collin-
No problem. Sadly, no such program exists when it comes to measuring stability of ANY kind. It takes a fair amount of time and patience to conclude whether or not your system is stable. If you need any advice on timings, drop me a PM.

deception``
deception`` is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-05, 04:07 PM   #15
Big Lar
Senior Member



Join Date: Dec 2000

10 Year Badge
 
I used to use a proggy called Stability Test, It had different levels you could choose, not unlike Prime95, but for some reason, if I passed that, I could do anything with my setup without changes to the setup, and never fault.

Edit; Spelling

__________________
Whats with all the Smoke???



Q9650
4gb OCZ Flex II PC 9200
Water Cooled Cpu/Gpu
Asus P5Q-Deluxe Bios 1406
GTX 280 XSPC Block
XFX 850W/ OWC SSD
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=261
Big Lar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-05, 05:12 PM   #16
Category 5
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ft. Lauderdale

 
I have been wondering if voltage has somethign to do with this phenomenon. I notice on my Powerstream that the light for 3.3 is lit red in memtest, and sometimes in windows at idle, but drops to green when the system is under load.

This leads me to belive that when other system components rae heavily loaded, perhaps there is ram voltage droop causing the subsequent instability.

Of course it could also have to do with RAM temperature too.

__________________
Core i7 970 @ 4.0GHz 1.331v
Corsair H50 Push/Pull
Asus P6X58D-E 405 Bios
6GB (2x3) Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600 - 9-9-9-24
XFX 6950 (flashed 6970) 2GB
Corsair TX850W
Category 5 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-05, 05:39 PM   #17
Silver
Senior Citizen (aka old fart)

 
Silver's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Georgia

 
I am very happy with memtest86. It allows me to ballpark the ram rather quickly, adjust timings and voltage to attain a very good ballpark setting. Clockgen, along with superpi 32 and a benchable setting is attained. I do alot of folding these days and the peak settings are usually off by a couple mhz but definately ballparked rather quickly. 10 passes? A little on the light side as frequently errors occur in the 15 to 25 pass area.

Memtest was of great help to me in getting my xms 3200 to 250 1:1 at 2,2,2,6. It would have taken a good long time to do without it. Folding 24/7.

__________________

Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!
Silver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-05, 07:36 PM   #18
felinusz
Senior Overclocking Magus

 
felinusz's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Taiwan

 
Memtest86 is a great and invaluable tool, but by no means a "be all, end all" to memory stability. I find it invaluable for "scouting out" timings and settings for optimal stability, especially with it integrated into the motherboard's BIOS. 3D stability is a common scourge of an otherwise clean overclock, and always needs to be taken into account, memtest86 aside.

I use memtest86 for stability testing, and I use Prime95 for stability testing, many people don't like or trust these two programs - I personally firmly stand by them.

But there's no way on earth I would trust them as an indication of proper and thorough stability by themselves!

True stability involves an overclock passing memory specific, processor specific, and GPU specific/blended stability testing. For me, that means Prime95, memtest86 tests #5/#8, and the 3DMark2001 Nature test looped.


I can generate overclocks on my current machine that will pass any memtest86 test for ~20 hours, but fail Prime95 or SPi. I can generate overclocks that will pass Prime95, but lock the 3DMark2001 Nature test. I cannot generate an overclock that will run unstable after passing all three

My two cents.

felinusz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-05, 09:24 PM   #19
HousERaT
Senior Air Extraordinaire

 
HousERaT's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Imladris

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by deception``
No problem. Sadly, no such program exists when it comes to measuring stability of ANY kind. It takes a fair amount of time and patience to conclude whether or not your system is stable. If you need any advice on timings, drop me a PM.

deception``
If ever my thoughts were crystalized in a statement this would be it. There is no quick fix to getting a computer overclock stable in your OS. It takes time and lots of testing.

I firmly agree with felinusz on this also, as it takes a few programs to determine stability. If you can torture your computer with benchmarks, tests, burnin programs and other useful applications in situations that go way beyond normal usage and still maintain a stable overclock, you can feel pretty good that your computer is stable enough for normal usage.

__________________
CM-690 | Maximus Formula | Ballistix D9GMH 2GB - 4-4-4-10 - 2.2v (active cooled) | E6850 @4GHz (L719B) 602 Bios 500x8 - 1.475v | Ultra 120 Extreme | 2x HD3870 840/1300 | Lite-On 52327s CDRW | WD 74GB - Raptor HDD | Corsair 620HX PSU | Windows XP Pro sp2 |

Support the OC Benchmarking Team The HD 4870/50 Thread The HD 3870/50 Thread The X1900XT/XTX Thread X800GTO˛ Thread Heatware

Make friends with your "FAST" - 90K 01SE - 77K 03 - 29K 05 - 19K 06 - 274K AM3 - single card all air baby!
HousERaT is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-05, 10:20 PM   #20
Super Nade
† SU(3) Moderator †

 
Super Nade's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
Hints to using memtest in the last post here:-
http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=391391

__________________
Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
Understanding SMPS Technology
|| ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

Build in progress
ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L
Super Nade is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?