Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

should i RMA? *URGENT*

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-17-05, 11:08 PM Thread Starter   #1
CrawlerZX
Member

 
CrawlerZX's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003

 
Exclamation should i RMA? *URGENT*


ok heres da deal i have an ECS N2u400-a mobo generic power supply athlon 2500+ from frys and after a black out it started being weird. it wont turn on nemore. but the fans led drives turn on. whenever i turn the powersupply on.

and the case power switch wont work. and it wont POST.

so i thought the mobo was the problem so i replaced it from newegg. today i installed it and it did the same thing. so should i RMA it or keep it. and what could be da problem? now i think its the power supply so tommo im goin to frys to check it out so reply fast plz.


tnx
CrawlerZX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-17-05, 11:28 PM   #2
CeeDeeJay
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southwest Oklahoma

 
uestion


Can you use a dirrerant power supply and test it with it??
CeeDeeJay is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-17-05, 11:35 PM   #3
winterhavok
Member

 
winterhavok's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Missouri, USA

 
If it fried a brand new motherboard (still causing the problems) then I would say without one doubt that it is the power supply, it probably has a short in the 5v or 12v line and you will need to have it replaced.
winterhavok is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-05, 12:02 PM Thread Starter   #4
CrawlerZX
Member

 
CrawlerZX's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003

 
i cant find a different power supply dat has a da smaller connection to the motherboard. i checked the connectors and it seems to be working fine. i used a volt meter and paper clip to short and test out the power supply.
CrawlerZX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-05, 12:57 PM   #5
aeiou
Member



Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Madison, WI

 
You meen 24pin atx cables vs. 20pin? YOu can get, and most psu's come with, an adapter that will work just fine.

__________________
20" iMac 2.4Ghz C2D 4GB ram
aeiou is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-05, 01:04 PM Thread Starter   #6
CrawlerZX
Member

 
CrawlerZX's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003

 
ya i know i mean i cant find one like dat so i might just have to buy a new one. do u think that its the processsore theres no beeps or display only fans leds and drives run.
CrawlerZX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-05, 01:09 PM Thread Starter   #7
CrawlerZX
Member

 
CrawlerZX's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003

 
by the way is the mobo ok after being attached to the problematic power supply if it is that
CrawlerZX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-05, 01:12 PM   #8
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
^^ you wont know until you get a new su to test it with,

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-05, 01:14 PM Thread Starter   #9
CrawlerZX
Member

 
CrawlerZX's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003

 
im super limited on money ok i'll try psu first but do u htink my mobo got fried cause of psu?
CrawlerZX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-05, 01:49 PM   #10
UPCguy23
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2005

 
The last couple times I've seen a PSU go bad, the motherboards were ok, do you have a friend who would loan you a supply or let you hook it up to your board? Or do you have another machine in the house, even if the PSU is only 300 watt or so, just that you plug in, and if fires up you would know. The motherboard could possibly be fried, but I am not sure. The fans run, do any of the fans connected to the board run? Like does the processor fan run or try to run, do the chipset fans run? If they run or try to, that would say to me the motherboard is conducting current and is probably ok. But you need to test it. Maybe go to a local computer store and see if they have an old power supply from an old machine they'd let you borrow or buy for 5-10 bucks and then use that to test. But before you go buy any big parts, you need to know if that board is still good. The way to do that is try another PSU.
UPCguy23 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-05, 03:34 PM Thread Starter   #11
CrawlerZX
Member

 
CrawlerZX's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003

 
update

heres wat happened b4

it wont turn just fans, case cpu theres not chipset fan.
so i got a the exact same mobo installed it and when i turned on the power supply nuthin happened so i switcheed on the case switch and fans turned on but no display so now its showing the same symptoms.

as i said now i got a raidmax power supply and fans turn on immediately after i turnes the power supply on.

so now i think the mobo is destroyed too and newegg wont RMA it so what should i do?
CrawlerZX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-05, 03:53 PM   #12
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
Why won't newegg RMA it?

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-05, 04:52 PM Thread Starter   #13
CrawlerZX
Member

 
CrawlerZX's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003

 
it said dat its not RMa-able cause when i logged in to get it rmaed the option to rma it wasnt there while for the other stuff i purchased was ok. i think it cause its a motherboard

"This item is not eligible for an online RMA. If the product is warranted by the manufacturer, please contact them directly for more infoRMAtion. You may review Newegg.com's warranty guidelines or contact us if you have any questions. MB ECS N2U400-A ECS AMD 462 RTL - Retail $42.00 "


thats what it said
CrawlerZX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-05, 05:16 PM   #14
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
That's strange...you *should* be able to RMA it. Maybe give Newegg a call for some specifics? The fact that it's a motherboard shouldn't change anything.

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-05, 06:13 PM Thread Starter   #15
CrawlerZX
Member

 
CrawlerZX's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003

 
k imma email them or sumtin
CrawlerZX is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?