Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > General CPU Discussion
General CPU Discussion
Forum Jump

How much faster is Athlon 64 3200+ compare to my old P4 1.8g (northwood)?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-21-05, 09:58 PM Thread Starter   #1
seasontrade
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2005

 
How much faster is Athlon 64 3200+ compare to my old P4 1.8g (northwood)?


I need an opinion on upgrading my old P4 northwood 1.8G to either Athlon64 3200+/Pentium 4 3.2G (prescott). How much faster (in term of %) can I gain by upgrading?

Thanks a lot for your help!!!
seasontrade is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-21-05, 11:44 PM   #2
Drec
Member

 
Drec's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 
no one can give you an exact % but trust me you WILL notice a huge difference.

and
Drec is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-22-05, 12:04 AM   #3
whozyodaddy
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California

 
Go here. Your questions will be answered! Mwahahahhahah
whozyodaddy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-22-05, 06:46 AM   #4
Edo
Member

 
Edo's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia

 
Alot faster. No % possible, but the difference will be "incredible".
Edo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-22-05, 03:04 PM   #5
Dell_Axim
Member

 
Dell_Axim's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005

 
It will be more than three times the speed. I have found that my 3000+ Athlon 64 gets 7.2Mkeys/sec in RC5-72 while my 2.4GHz P4 gets 3Mkeys/s in RC5-72; it's more than twice as fast. Therefore, it's equivalent to a 5.76GHz P4 - really impressive.
64 bits makes a whole lot of difference.

Now, as for Athlon 64 3200+ vs. 3.2GHz P4, they're more or less equal if the P4 has EMT64. Otherwise, the Athlon 64 will be superior.
Oh, and don't forget to use a 64 bit kernel for a 64 bit CPU.
Dell_Axim is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-22-05, 10:57 PM   #6
ropey
Member

 
ropey's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada

10 Year Badge
 
One can not with accuracy quantify the two processors without many and varied benchmarks. Suffice it to say that you will find a great degree of noticeability on all fronts.

There will be no difference between the 64bit subsystem and the same system with 64bit disabled unless one is using 64 bit OS and 64 bit hardware drivers. Since there is really very little software out there for 64bit desktop use one can say with a great degree of accuracy that at this time one can not really make much use on a desktop system of 64 bit. However, that being said, when one excludes the desktop marketing ploy of 64bit and looks at raw power there is no doubt that the A64 is a most robust system.

Personally I like the Intel systems better as I find the chipsets and chips are more stable and snappy on the 800mhz bus and a i865/i875/i925 chipset. If you are to be multi-tasking or encoding multi-media or database number crunching of large volumes you would do better with the Intel system and if you are single tasking volume such as gaming or media playback you would do better with the AMD system although the referential draw line is becoming very tenuous so that the argument vs one system and another is less and less arguable.

R

__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.7,P8P67 Pro Rev (3.1) @ B3 (1850)
Corsair Modded Graphite 600T Case, 4X 4096 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws 9-11-9-28, Corsair HX10000, XFX Radeon HD 6950 XXX @ 710/910
Folding@Home Team 32
ropey is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-23-05, 12:01 PM   #7
avalanche83
Member

 
avalanche83's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ft. Myers, Florida

 
That is not true about the A64's. The whole mobo is set up different because of the hyper transport bus. Here is how my A64 2800 @ 2.43GHz compares to a P4E 570 @ 3.8GHz and so on.

http://www.cryo-laboratory.com/uploa...%20bus%202.JPG

__________________
Lenovo G575
avalanche83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-23-05, 12:04 PM   #8
RJARRRPCGP
Member



Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA (Springfield, Vermont)

10 Year Badge
 
Gee wiz, I would believe that even my Athlon XP T-bred OC'ed to 2.34 ghz would whoop it with no doubt!!!

__________________
Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
-ICH10R
- eVGA GeForce GT 640-Antec VP-450


" holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
"Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
"I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
"Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
"NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."
RJARRRPCGP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-23-05, 11:41 PM   #9
ropey
Member

 
ropey's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada

10 Year Badge
 
One single test of SiSoft Sandra and you say, "Here is how my A64 2800+ compares to an Intel 4.8GHz?" This is (IMO) a useless method of chip/chipset comparison and a wholly inaccurate statement to the person requesting the information.

If I posted a single test on multi-medi encoding of the two above processors the Intel would massacre the AMD and still would NOT be any form of a complete test and would be unfair to both processors should I say, "Here is how an Intel 3.8 fares against the A64 2800+.

How can one even think that a single test on a platform (Sandra) that is not known for accurate quantification at the best is a holistic test.

Complete and utter foolishness all the while being totally inaccurate and does not whatsoever give any degree of testing proofs of one chip/chipset vs another chip/chipset.

R

__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.7,P8P67 Pro Rev (3.1) @ B3 (1850)
Corsair Modded Graphite 600T Case, 4X 4096 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws 9-11-9-28, Corsair HX10000, XFX Radeon HD 6950 XXX @ 710/910
Folding@Home Team 32
ropey is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-24-05, 07:58 AM   #10
avalanche83
Member

 
avalanche83's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ft. Myers, Florida

 
That is integer and floating point tests. The dhrystone and whetstone are roughly the same outcome. If you know of any other software that has similar benches let me know and I will try it out.

__________________
Lenovo G575
avalanche83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-05, 06:16 AM   #11
jenko
Member

 
jenko's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004

 
For games i would go for the A64, but as i use nero vision express,dvdshrink,dvd santa and win avi alot i kept my 3ghz presscot and sold the a64 3000+ rig as i couldnt notice the differance in games but i did notice the presscot so much faster in the programs mention.
jenko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-05, 06:25 AM   #12
MrSeanKon
Member

 
MrSeanKon's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: See my profile....

 
For video programs susch as Virtual Dub, XPEG, DrDivx etc Prescott CPUs are faster than A64s (754+939).
I haven't got X2 of course it is a new generation anyway.
I do not play games so I do not care for gaming performance.
Any Intel is bad for pure Mathematical programs cos of poor FPU (that's why I have both systems).
So if you are thinking A64 3200+ vs Prescott you should clear your criteria.

__________________
Current versions are OcBible v1.54/1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
MrSeanKon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-03-05, 02:56 AM   #13
mx101
Registered

 
mx101's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: fresno,ca

 
Your going to love the differents
mx101 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > General CPU Discussion
General CPU Discussion
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?