Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Dell 700M Bundled PowerDVD install issue.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-05, 10:50 AM Thread Starter   #1
vsalt2
Member

 
vsalt2's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Albany, NY

 
Dell 700M Bundled PowerDVD install issue.


I just installed a fresh copy of windows, and I'm using the original CD that came with the 700m laptop to install the bundled PowerDVD software.

When I click the setup.exe executable I am getting a very annoying message saying:

"This software can only be installed on a DELL,Unbranded system"

The CD itself says:

For Reinstalling Cyberlink PowerDVD 5.3.1012 Software
DELL
www.dell.com | support.dell.com
P/N R8719 Rev. A00

What in the h3ll is causing it not to load? Might I add that this *IS* a Dell laptop. I don't understand what the problem is honestly.

Thank you for any assistance.

__________________
Heatware[/SIZE]
vsalt2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-24-05, 10:58 AM   #2
bchur83
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes

10 Year Badge
 
Did you use the Dell Recovery CD to reinstall the OS? If not, that is your problem, the PowerDVD CD isnt finding the files it needs to confirm that you are installing it on a Dell system.

__________________
Main Rig: Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen3 * Core i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz * 8GB (2x 4GB) Mushkin Blackline PC3-1600 * GeForce GTX 560TI 448 1280MB * 6TB Storage * LG BD/RW * Lian-Li PC-V2000B * Dell 24" 2407FPW & Asus 24" VS248H
Backup Rig: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P * C2Q Q9400 @ 3.2Ghz * 4GB (2x 2GB) G-Skill PC2-8000 * Sapphire Radeon 4870 512MB * 320GB Storage * Samsung SH-S203N DVD+/-RW * Apex Full Tower Case * 2x Dell 19" LCD
HTPC: Abit IP35PRO * C2D E6600 @ Stock * 2GB G-Skill PC6400 * Geforce 8600GT 256MB * 640GB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-ROM * 55" Samsung 1080p 3D LED LCD via HDMI

Media Server: DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D * A64 3800+ X2 * 1GB PC3200 * Powercolor X800XL * 14TB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-RW

Heatware
bchur83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-24-05, 12:06 PM   #3
winterhavok
Member

 
winterhavok's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Missouri, USA

 
You might want to use the recovery disk provided by Dell and install the support that is needed for it.
winterhavok is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-24-05, 12:44 PM Thread Starter   #4
vsalt2
Member

 
vsalt2's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Albany, NY

 
No, it didn't come with recovery discs. I got it used on this forum.

__________________
Heatware[/SIZE]
vsalt2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-24-05, 02:12 PM   #5
winterhavok
Member

 
winterhavok's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Missouri, USA

 
Hmmmm, that is going to be harder than I originally thought then. Have you tried going to the Dell support site and download the PowerDVD patch/upgrade that they have?
winterhavok is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-24-05, 02:26 PM Thread Starter   #6
vsalt2
Member

 
vsalt2's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Albany, NY

 
I know there is a patch, but isn't that just for the program after it is initially installed? I will at least get it and see what happens. Thanks!

__________________
Heatware[/SIZE]
vsalt2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-24-05, 03:34 PM   #7
bchur83
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes

10 Year Badge
 
I think the only way you will be able to use it is to restore it with the Dell OS CD. If you dont have that disc, maybe you could call Dell about it to get a replacement. Did the previous owner lose the discs, or forget to send them?

__________________
Main Rig: Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen3 * Core i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz * 8GB (2x 4GB) Mushkin Blackline PC3-1600 * GeForce GTX 560TI 448 1280MB * 6TB Storage * LG BD/RW * Lian-Li PC-V2000B * Dell 24" 2407FPW & Asus 24" VS248H
Backup Rig: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P * C2Q Q9400 @ 3.2Ghz * 4GB (2x 2GB) G-Skill PC2-8000 * Sapphire Radeon 4870 512MB * 320GB Storage * Samsung SH-S203N DVD+/-RW * Apex Full Tower Case * 2x Dell 19" LCD
HTPC: Abit IP35PRO * C2D E6600 @ Stock * 2GB G-Skill PC6400 * Geforce 8600GT 256MB * 640GB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-ROM * 55" Samsung 1080p 3D LED LCD via HDMI

Media Server: DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D * A64 3800+ X2 * 1GB PC3200 * Powercolor X800XL * 14TB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-RW

Heatware
bchur83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-24-05, 04:09 PM   #8
Vengance_01
Member

 
Vengance_01's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Corona, CA

10 Year Badge
 
Did the previous owner tranfers the warrenty over? If so call dell, and they can send you an OS Disk.
Vengance_01 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-24-05, 06:08 PM   #9
winterhavok
Member

 
winterhavok's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Missouri, USA

 
This is why I don't normally buy my stuff second hand (unless its just hardware parts) especially on proprietary parts. The lesson behind this story kids? Dude, don't get a dell! lol
winterhavok is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-05, 12:35 AM Thread Starter   #10
vsalt2
Member

 
vsalt2's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Albany, NY

 
I don't want dell's crappy preloaded OS junk. I just got a copy of Windvd7, and WOW it's nice, so i'm gonna chuck that powerdvd disc in the garbage and move on

thanks all for your help

__________________
Heatware[/SIZE]
vsalt2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-05, 08:54 AM   #11
winterhavok
Member

 
winterhavok's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Missouri, USA

 
I can understand that, I was going to say that there were some better DVD players out there.
winterhavok is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-06, 07:31 AM   #12
edjakeman
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2006

 
A solution?


I had this problem with a CD that came with a Dell system as well. I wanted to install it on a compaq notebook that I'd just wiped and reinstalled Windows XP on and it told me it had to be a DELL/Unbranded system. So I copied the CD to the hard drive and deleted the custom.ini file. Then it said it had to be a Cyberlink system! (Do they make computers?!)

So I changed it to "any". And it said it had to be an any system.

So I changed it to "Compaq". And it installed without a peep.

No idea how it knew it was on a Compaq machine of course since I had just wiped the thing... Anyway, its all to do with that custom.ini file.
edjakeman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-03-07, 03:14 PM   #13
crxfisher
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2007

 
I ran into this problem today as well. I know this is an old post, but I came up with a fix:

Edit the custom.ini file with the following line:

CLScan='

The single quote is the trick. That fools the code into skipping this section. I'm guessing it just terminates that line in the script early and just goes onto the next line. It installed perfectly for me. Note that I do have a Dell system, but had to reinstall the OS so it was no longer Dell branded. Hope this helps someone in the future.
crxfisher is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-18-12, 06:00 AM   #14
davec80
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2012

 
In case anybody else has this problem, the
CLScan='
trick did not work for me.
I tried remarking that line
rem CLScan='
but that failed.
I finally put in the brand of my motherboard:

CLScan=Gigabyte

That worked!
davec80 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?