Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones
Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones For all your tiny computing needs.
Forum Jump

Screen brightness

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-29-05, 12:39 AM Thread Starter   #1
J_5
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cincinnati,OH

 
Screen brightness


Is there a way to adjust how bright/dark the screen is when you are using battey power? Mine kinda goes to dark when I am using the battery and is annoying.


Thanks
J_5 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-05, 01:04 AM   #2
ozzlo
Senior whose title will pierce the heavens!

 
ozzlo's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002

10 Year Badge
 
you should have a function key on your laptop like Fn or something like that...

hold that key down and try the up/down arrows or pgup/pgdwn keys.

__________________

. . . . . . .
HELP!!!. . . . . . RAWR!!!

. . . . . . . . .\. . . . . . . . /
__________\0/_____/\__________
ozzlo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-05, 03:28 AM   #3
mort
Member

 
mort's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany now, Holland before!

 
You probably can adjust it in your powermanagement settings as well. Not the direct brightness setting but configuring it that when you use the battery it'll still use the brightness setting you used on normal power. My vaio can do it anyway..
mort is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-05, 06:17 AM   #4
juliendogg
Member

 
juliendogg's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NC, USA

10 Year Badge
 
mine remembers where it's set.

IE: Plug in the wall power and turn the brightness all the way up. Now unplug the wall power and turn the brightness down three notches. Now when I plug the AC back In the brightness goes up, when i unplug it the brightness goes back down 3 notches. As long as the "Dim screen on dc" is selected it remembers these settings until i change them again.

J>

__________________
AOpen H 700B
TT TR2 750
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI S4
Phenom 9750
CM Hyper 212 Evo
2x Palit GTX 560ti
8GB of some kind of crappy ram
juliendogg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-05, 05:29 PM   #5
o770
Member

 
o770's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001

10 Year Badge
 
The dell I have has different settings for brightness for battery and AC in the setup. The one for battery is darker by default but can be changed. So maybe you'll find the same in the setup of yours.
o770 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-30-05, 03:57 AM   #6
BUBBLE
Member

 
BUBBLE's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Somewhere I belong

 
Just look inthe functions keys for any symbols. Most of the tme you can use fn+ the relavant function keys to adjust the brightness or otehr wise check your battery powered profiles. Normaly there wil be few power profiles in teh notebooks. In TOSHBA you'll find them as Powerpoint presentation profile, dvd movie profile...etc. That means in each mode they have done some adjusment tot he pwoer settings. BTW what is your laptop brand and the model so we can give more info abt it.
BUBBLE is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones
Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones For all your tiny computing needs.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?