Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Warning about NewEgg (my new 6800NU)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-01-05, 03:55 PM Thread Starter   #1
Gro Harlem
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Frostburg, MD

 
Warning about NewEgg (my new 6800NU)


Just bought one of those super-cheap $156 PNY 6800NU's off newegg.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814133148

Received it yesterday, and opened the box today.

First thing I noticed...white box, shrink-wrapped (not too profesionally i might add). The card inside was in a plastic tray along with another tray w/the manual, cable and converter. Both trays were also half-azzdly shrink wrapped.

I take the card out and inspected it, and sure enough, the DVI port had metal gashs on it as if someone had plugged it in previously. The front label on the heatsink also had very minor, but noticeable abrasions as if it had been rubbing against other components in someones system.

I figure "well maybe they test them before they sell them". So I plugged it in and first thing that I found was odd, was the CD-ROM's software didn't detect that the card was installed. So I shrug that off and download the latest nVidia drivers.

They install fine, and all seems fine. Restart, it seemed fine, until I got sent a video link. The video looked horrific. Contrast very high & bright, pixelated, horrible looking quality. I thought maybe it was the vid, but I open other vids I had on my desktop and they were the same way.

I go to play half-life 2 and it takes FOREVER to load. Once I loaded a save file my monitor would flip on and off and the animation was all choppy.


So..it seems NEWEGG repackages RMA'd peices of garbage and resells them to unsuspecting customers. I really wonder why they think someone who builds their own computer would be so stupid to not notice this. It is very insulting to me & everyone who buys from them that they think we won't notice this. You'd think they'd test the card to see if it works properly when someone RMA's it before repackaging it.

I had the "auto-notify" thing on when I ordered mine. I got an email saying it was back in stock so I bought one immediately. I bet they got a few RMA's from ppl who were unlocking pipes and overclocking them & weren't satisfied with the results, so NEWEGG took those cards & repackaged them and updated that they were back in stock.


LAME! I always had a high regard for newegg but this REALLY pizzes me off and leaves a bad taste in my mouth. I already got an RMA#, but I have to pay for shipping which just sucks. If i return this one, I know they'll just ship me another peice of abused used-crap to me that won't work right.

Now I gotta re-research and figure out what card to buy,
Gro Harlem is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-05, 04:20 PM   #2
ScottinIndy
Premium Member #28

 
ScottinIndy's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Western Arkansas

 
As far as looking like it was previously used, It more than likely was, The card you bought was OEM. As far as it being faulty, That does indeed suck. At least you can do an RMA and try again.

__________________
****************************************

Phenom II 1045T, Gigabyte MA790XT,CM 212 EVO, Corsair Vengence 1600 2x4 gigs,EVGA SC GTX 660,Patriot Torqx 64 gig SSD,Seagate 320 Hd, Corsair 520HX,S.B Extreme Music, Antec 300 Illusion case. Windows 7 64bit HP 23" IPS Panel

****************************************
ScottinIndy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-05, 05:02 PM Thread Starter   #3
Gro Harlem
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Frostburg, MD

 
It was labeled as "new oem"

I've bought OEM stuff before and none of it has ever been used.

OEM basically = less packaging and is meant for buisnesses that build comps for customers who don't need the boxes / manuals for every single component. I've never heard of an OEM product being used before being sold as "new" :Shrug:
Gro Harlem is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-05, 07:14 PM   #4
twEEkerAreUs
Member



Join Date: Dec 2003

 
That is correct, that would not be OEM but refurbished or labeled as a working return. Something seems a little fishy there, honestly it would not shock me now if NewEgg did that.

__________________
My Heatware
i7 920@4Ghz/CM Cosmos 1000
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2/Enermax DXX 1KW
OCZ Platinum 3x2GB
Crucial M4 128GB SSD x2/WD Green 1TB x3
Hanns-G 28in/HIS Radeon 6950
Auzentech X-Fi Forte/Logitech Z-5500
twEEkerAreUs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-05, 07:35 PM   #5
Nandro
Disabled

 
Nandro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Wherever I happen to be.

 
It would shock me, as I have never had an issue with newegg. Not to mention the the egg gets most of its business from forums like these and would be stupid to do such a thing. I would email them and let them know. maybe it was just an error on their part.
Nandro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-05, 07:51 PM   #6
Westline
Member

 
Westline's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004

 
I would send it back to them and tell them that it does not work properly. The card was OEM and you had an option of choosing if you wanted to extend their 15 day(I think) warrenty. I am not surprised that the card is messed up because it is labeled as OEM. Something is usually wrong with those parts. Save yourself the headache and just get the regular stuff, not OEM or refurb. I bought an OEM AMD 64 3400 and it was faulty, so I sent it back to the egg and they replaced it no problem.
Westline is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-05, 07:59 PM   #7
Clerisy
Member

 
Clerisy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westline
I would send it back to them and tell them that it does not work properly. The card was OEM and you had an option of choosing if you wanted to extend their 15 day(I think) warrenty. I am not surprised that the card is messed up because it is labeled as OEM. Something is usually wrong with those parts. Save yourself the headache and just get the regular stuff, not OEM or refurb. I bought an OEM AMD 64 3400 and it was faulty, so I sent it back to the egg and they replaced it no problem.
99% of the time there is nothing wrong with OEM things.

There is no reason to buy extras that you don't really need.
Clerisy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-05, 08:08 PM   #8
Nandro
Disabled

 
Nandro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Wherever I happen to be.

 
Quote:
I am not surprised that the card is messed up because it is labeled as OEM.
Thats just silly. I buy all my parts OEM and never have any issues. Do you really need the instructions for a cpu or video card? He got a refurb plain and simple, OEM parts are new unless sold as otherwise. Send it back and tell them why, it was simply a mistake and has nothing to do with being OEM.
Nandro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-05, 08:21 PM   #9
NiTrO bOiE
Member

 
NiTrO bOiE's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC

 
Why didn't you post this in the vender discussion? There IS a newegg rep in there. Sucks to hear that about your card, give the "Newegg Guy" a PM, and I'm sure he'll do everything he can to make it up to you.

__________________
CPU: AMD 64 3000+ DTR @ 2750
MB:
DFI Lanparty UT 250GB

Memory: 2x 1GB G.Skill PC3200

Video:
Radeon X800XT-PE w/ Maze 4 GPU

Hard Drives:
36GB Raptor (Main) 160GB Hitachi (Storage)

Optical Storage:
44x CD, 8x DVD-RW

Sound:
Audigy 2 ZS
Case & Power: Black Chieftec FT w/ Window, Antec TP 430
Watercooled WW, Pro Core (2) 120mm Deltas, Hydor L20
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
NiTrO bOiE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-05, 08:24 PM   #10
ScottinIndy
Premium Member #28

 
ScottinIndy's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Western Arkansas

 
I always worried about manufacturers trying to get rid of refurbed stuff by pawning it off as OEM, From reading the comments here it doesn't sound like it is a huge issue although it may have happened in Gro Harlems case. I do think that Newegg is quite reputable and will take care of the issue.

__________________
****************************************

Phenom II 1045T, Gigabyte MA790XT,CM 212 EVO, Corsair Vengence 1600 2x4 gigs,EVGA SC GTX 660,Patriot Torqx 64 gig SSD,Seagate 320 Hd, Corsair 520HX,S.B Extreme Music, Antec 300 Illusion case. Windows 7 64bit HP 23" IPS Panel

****************************************
ScottinIndy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-05, 08:44 PM   #11
pak
Member

 
pak's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tracy, ca

 
I got one of those cards and mine works fine besides me trying to over-OC it. Mine looked perfectly new and un touched. Performs well also. I get around 8500 in 03 stock and a lil past 10k OC'd a bit. But sorry this happened to you.


-pak

__________________
Q6600 B3 450x8 P5K 2x2gb Gskill
8800gts Samsung TOC T260
2x36gRaptor 2x7200.10 320GB
Creative X-Fi Extrememusic Klipsch ProMedia 2.1/SENNHEISER RS130
PCP&P silencer 750 quad copper
Dtek Fuzion D5 Coolrad 32T
Lian Li v1000b
Built for the sole purpose to play World Of Warcraft and troll OCforums.
Heat
pak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-05, 09:18 PM   #12
JudgeDredd
Member

 
JudgeDredd's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, Texas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gro Harlem
They install fine, and all seems fine. Restart, it seemed fine, until I got sent a video link. The video looked horrific. Contrast very high & bright, pixelated, horrible looking quality. I thought maybe it was the vid, but I open other vids I had on my desktop and they were the same way.
This is an issue with the latest 77.xx driver set. There's another thread in this forum with how to fix it in like 5 seconds.

__________________
Intel Core i7-930 @ 3.8 GHz (19x200 @ 1.275 vCore) | Gigabyte X58A-UD5 Mobo | G.Skill 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM
EVGA GTX 470 HydroCopper FTW (750core/1705mem) | LG W3000H 30" Widescreen LCD | bluegears bEnspirer
Intel 80GB X25-M G2 SSD | WD Caviar Black 1TB x 3 | Samsung Ecogreen 1.5TB x 3 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Antec Signature 850Watt PSU | Lian Li X1000 Aluminum Case (w/ 5x140mm Fans) | Custom Watercooling
CPU Loop: XSPC Dual DDC BayRes | Swiftech MCP355 | Black Ice SRT 140.2 Radiator | Swiftech Apogee XT Waterblock
GPU Loop: XSPC Dual DDC BayRes | Swiftech MCP355 | Black Ice SRT 140.1 Radiator | Swiftech Full Cover Waterblock for EVGA
JudgeDredd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-05, 10:39 PM   #13
Slimmy
Member

 
Slimmy's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sleeping...

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gro Harlem
Just bought one of those super-cheap $156 PNY 6800NU's off newegg.
Sorry to hear about your lose.

Sounds like you got a refurb. card not oem. I buy almost all my part from newegg as oem and never had a problem. I bought a forton 530 psu and some corsiar xms ram both retail and both doa. So it doesn't matter if it is retail or oem, cause they both can bite the dust just as easy. Except retail has longer warranty.

P.S Newegg has probably the best rma service I have ever delt with.

__________________
Duct tape is like the Force. It has a light side, a dark side, and it holds the universe together.
-- Carl Zwanzig

Slimmy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-05, 10:46 PM   #14
mx101
Registered

 
mx101's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: fresno,ca

 
that is weird for that to happen. i have never had that problem with them be give them an ear full if they don't do anything. also good luck with that
mx101 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-05, 10:53 PM   #15
larva
Inactive Moderator

 
larva's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

 
Try a fresh windows before you blame the card. And if you really have a problm, hit up the Jason, the NeweggGuy (username Newegg Support). He will take care of any issue you might have. To be honest though, it sounds to me like you've got software issues and are barking up the wrong tree.

__________________
Home Rig - cod2 tool--------------------------------------------------------------------------------School Rig - work tool
CPU P4 561 @ 220fsb/4GHz------------------------------------------------------------------------CPU P4 506 @ 200fsb/4GHz
MB Abit AG8-V Video EVGA 7800GT-----------------------------------------------------------------MB Abit AS8-V Video EVGA GF 6200
Memory 4x512MB BH5 - DDR440-2,2,2,5------------------------------------------------------Memory 2x512MB Corsair VS400-2.5,3,3,8
Cooling Scythe Ninja w/103cfm 120x38mm Sanyo-------------------------------------------Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 4 w/Intel 92mm fan
Sound SoundBastid Live Case AMS gTower PS TPII-480----------------------------------Sound Integrated audio Case Antec SLK1650 PS SP2-350
Storage 74GB Raptor - 2x200GB Samsung - LG4167b DVD-RW------------------------Storage 2x160GB Hitachi SATA - LG4163b DVD-RW - 250MB Zip
Display Dell 2005FPW 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i9900
---------------Display Viewsonic VX2025 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i860

Last edited by larva; 07-01-05 at 11:06 PM.
larva is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-05, 11:05 PM   #16
B1gT3x
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2004

 
I usually just stay away from OEM's.
B1gT3x is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-05, 07:06 AM   #17
twEEkerAreUs
Member



Join Date: Dec 2003

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by B1gT3x
I usually just stay away from OEM's.
Why? OEM's are almost always the better deal, I bought my videocard for $350 back in FEB when they were going for like $450. Major freakin steal right there, still right now they go for $380 Lol.

__________________
My Heatware
i7 920@4Ghz/CM Cosmos 1000
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2/Enermax DXX 1KW
OCZ Platinum 3x2GB
Crucial M4 128GB SSD x2/WD Green 1TB x3
Hanns-G 28in/HIS Radeon 6950
Auzentech X-Fi Forte/Logitech Z-5500
twEEkerAreUs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-05, 07:56 AM   #18
k9black
New Member



Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South FL

 
there is nothing wrong with your card. its the newest nvidia drivers, same thing happened to me. i dont know anything about the fix, i just reverted to the previous drivers and it works fine now.
k9black is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-05, 09:24 AM Thread Starter   #19
Gro Harlem
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Frostburg, MD

 
Well the video playback thing seems to be the 77.xx drivers I downloaded, but how do you explain my monitor flicking on & off when I play any graphics-intensive game? I tried Far Cry, Doom3, and HL2 all did the same thing. I haven't tried to "tune" The card or anything. My processor would be the limiting factor anyways (its an xp2100).

Either way, the card is already shipped & on its way to CA. Hopefully they'll remedy this the right way. If the 2nd one is clearly used when I open it...well...that will just suck.
Gro Harlem is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-05, 09:28 AM Thread Starter   #20
Gro Harlem
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Frostburg, MD

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by larva
Try a fresh windows before you blame the card. And if you really have a problm, hit up the Jason, the NeweggGuy (username Newegg Support). He will take care of any issue you might have. To be honest though, it sounds to me like you've got software issues and are barking up the wrong tree.
Ill try to find him & PM him...but why reinstall windows? If I simply shut down the computer, swap my old Geforce TI200 back in, the games run fine, no issues. HOw would windows be the cause of the problem?

Sorry but my windows doens't have extra BS installed. I have 26 processes running when I boot up & keep it that way. I do this crap for a living as a sysadmin locally so I'm always having to remove extra programs & spyware programs that people install on their desktops in order for their programs to function properly. This is definitely a hardware issue.

Last edited by Gro Harlem; 07-02-05 at 09:42 AM.
Gro Harlem is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?