• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

2600+ Multiplier

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

PopeOnDope

Registered
Hey guys,

I'm new to overclocking, so go easy on me.

Anyway, I need to know which setting is better, a low fsb+ high multiplier or a high fsb with a low multiplier. I'm running this cpu on OCZ 2100 memory, so its kinda old.

right now i'm running the processor at 11 x 210= 2310. (at standard vcore)

My temps are at around 56 idle, 58 under load. I'm getting a volcano heatsink to help cool it more efficently.

-Thanks
Steve

CanadianTSi said:
High FSB is better, I don't see how PC2100 memory can do 210fsb though?

It's probably not stable, or maybe he thinks PC2100=210 MHz stock. Having "onDope" in his nick also makes you wonder, lol.

get the highest possible fsb and lower those temps!! I suggest against the volcano HS, go for a Si-97

Memory bus is 139.98 so it's not running 1:1 with the cpu. I doubt it makes any difference how high your cpu frequency is if you run out of sync. with your ram. Try running some benches at different combinations.

Well, is running out of sink a real killer to performance? I had no idea i was even running this way. If i want to correct this problem, how could i and what problems would i face?

Golflad said:
PC 2100 is 266 mhz stock and may OC slightly higher depending....

Wrong!!! It's 133 mhz. (DDR rate 266) (133x2) Set the FSB to literally 266 mhz and it probably won't even POST and BIOS corruption is likely.

Don't say that I didn't warn you, because if you ignore this post and proceed, you're PROBABLY are going to be sorry then you're probably going to blame it on the motherboard being faulty and RMA it when that's false or you're forced to replace the BIOS chip.

Last edited:
PopeOnDope said: