Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

DFI nF4 LP 7/4 new beta BIOS

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-04-05, 03:35 AM Thread Starter   #1
windwithme
Member

 
windwithme's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
DFI nF4 LP 7/4 new beta BIOS


1 . Fix sometimes system will hangup during post if dram speed > 200mhz is selected
2 . Fix PS2 Mouse can not work if the PS2 Keyboard is not installed
3 . Fix System will fail to post when dram timing set to all auto but dram speed > 200mhz setting used
4 . Fix the DRAM speed > 200mhz still show up if D or previous version of CPU installed


7/04-1

7/04-2

7/04-3

thanks OSKAR
windwithme is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 07-04-05, 01:03 PM   #2
deception``
Member



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
The 7/04-1 bios is flash friendly, and appears to be more stable for me than the 5/10-1 and 6/18-3 variants.

deception``
deception`` is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-04-05, 01:50 PM   #3
Sucka
Member

 
Sucka's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Denver, CO

 
I was hesitent to try the 7/02 Alpha, but this one i think i'll give this a shot to. Thanks for the heads up WWM.

__________________
DFI SLI-DR | Opteron 170 | 2x512 G.Skill LE | x1900XTX | 2x250GB T7K250 RAID 0 | PCP&C 510 SLI | X-Fi | Dell 2007FPW
Laptop | Dell E1405 | Core Duo 2 Merom T7200 | 2GB DDR2 | Intel 950GM | 120GB HD | 14.1 in. WXGA+ Truelife | XP Pro

Heatware
Sucka is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-04-05, 03:47 PM   #4
Woody29
Member

 
Woody29's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK

 
Hey, I just wonder will DFI ever release a full version other than betas. As i've had issue's with all beta's apart from the official 310.

__________________
CMstacker, 165 Toledo,
2.6ghz 1.41v 9x290 150 divider,
nF4 SLI-D, XP120 96cfm, 2x512 SP BH5
XFX6600GT, 60/160 ide - 200/300 sata HD, Dvdrw/Dvd, OCZ 600W.
Bios 623-3
Woody29 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-05-05, 12:37 PM   #5
CJ4
Member



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
There is a newer release version. I think it is 623, but that's just from memory.

CJ

__________________
DFI NF4 Ultra-D modded to SLI
3700+ "Cabbage" San Diego
Thermalright XP-120
2x512MB Mushkin Blue PC3200 Original BH-5 :)
MSI 6600GT
Seagate 160GB SATA
Seagate 200GB UATA
Hitachi 250GB SATA II
Antec P180 case and Enermax 495AX
MS MCE2005
CJ4 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-05-05, 03:41 PM   #6
Fighter2a
Member

 
Fighter2a's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas

 
I bet they will release a new final version soon. This version seems to have made some good progress.

__________________

Fighter2a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-05, 08:13 AM Thread Starter   #7
windwithme
Member

 
windwithme's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Due to the a mistake made in 7/04 beta bios , do not use

'Above VID * 123%'
'Above VID * 126%'
'Above VID * 133%'
'Above VID * 136%'

option under "CPU VID Special Control"

The bios may have chance to set wrong vcore voltage under certain circumstances ...

If the cpu can not handle the wrong core voltage , it may be damaged ..

This problem has only been found in 7/04 bios and 'Above VID * 123%' , 'Above VID * 126%' , 'Above VID * 133%' , 'Above VID * 136%' are used ... If you did not use the 4 settings , it will be ok you if still want to use 7/04 bios ...

Please help me to remove this bios around the internet ...

I apologize for the this mistak
windwithme is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-05, 03:55 PM   #8
ROH
Member



Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

 
What exactly is happening??????? I've been using the 7/4 bios since it came out and I'm getting propper voltages using the "Above VID * 123%" settings......
ROH is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-05, 03:59 PM   #9
RedDragonXXX
Senior RAM Pornographer

 
RedDragonXXX's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL

 
Which of the three verions is the most TCCD/TCC5 friendly?

Also did anyone test these with TCCD/TCC5 and were the results better then with previous BETA's.
RedDragonXXX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-05, 04:10 PM   #10
ROH
Member



Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

 
The 7/4-3 are the best overall I've found for my ram!

O.
ROH is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-05, 04:17 PM   #11
RedDragonXXX
Senior RAM Pornographer

 
RedDragonXXX's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL

 
Just to notify the links aren't working. Can someone else repost with the working ones.
RedDragonXXX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-05, 06:21 PM   #12
Dermen
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Virginia

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by windwithme
Due to the a mistake made in 7/04 beta bios , do not use

'Above VID * 123%'
'Above VID * 126%'
'Above VID * 133%'
'Above VID * 136%'

option under "CPU VID Special Control"

The bios may have chance to set wrong vcore voltage under certain circumstances ...

If the cpu can not handle the wrong core voltage , it may be damaged ..

This problem has only been found in 7/04 bios and 'Above VID * 123%' , 'Above VID * 126%' , 'Above VID * 133%' , 'Above VID * 136%' are used ... If you did not use the 4 settings , it will be ok you if still want to use 7/04 bios ...

Please help me to remove this bios around the internet ...

I apologize for the this mistak
He removed the BIOS because of the error. If you still want to use it you can find it here. Just make sure not to use the above settings or you could fry your processor.

__________________
FX-6300 | Gb 970A-UD3P | EVGA GTX 750 Ti | Corsair 8GB 1866 | 120GB Hyper-X 3k | Seasonic G 550w
Heat
Dermen is online now Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-05, 12:52 PM   #13
CJ4
Member



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
The problem comes when you set the VID too high and then lower it (before saving), while using the Above Vid * xxx%:

http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/show...0&postcount=32

CJ

__________________
DFI NF4 Ultra-D modded to SLI
3700+ "Cabbage" San Diego
Thermalright XP-120
2x512MB Mushkin Blue PC3200 Original BH-5 :)
MSI 6600GT
Seagate 160GB SATA
Seagate 200GB UATA
Hitachi 250GB SATA II
Antec P180 case and Enermax 495AX
MS MCE2005
CJ4 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-05, 03:08 PM   #14
deception``
Member



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
I'd just like to confirm that this bios has OFFICIALLY killed my 3000+ Venice. It began with a series of strange reboots, which caused me to revert to a number of different bioses. Over the course of the past several days, I have swapped from bios to bios as the reboots become more frequent. Now, I have seen a few BSODS and even some artifacts during POSTING. The processor will post, but it barely stays in windows for more than a few minutes. I believe that me running 1.3v + 110% caused an issue with my processor as described. I'm not here to flame DFI, as I chose to use the bios at my own risk. However, I do want to warn people NOT TO TRY THIS BIOS!

deception``
deception`` is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-05, 03:43 PM   #15
Sucka
Member

 
Sucka's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Denver, CO

 
Thanks for sharing. When i flashed it back on the forth i didn't POST at all, at that point i knew this BIOS wasn't for me and flashed right back to 6/23 which has been trusty for me so far. I wouldn't reccomend people trying this BIOS either based on what happened to me. I appriciate Oskar's hard work, and putting these BIOS' out there for us, but just not this time.

__________________
DFI SLI-DR | Opteron 170 | 2x512 G.Skill LE | x1900XTX | 2x250GB T7K250 RAID 0 | PCP&C 510 SLI | X-Fi | Dell 2007FPW
Laptop | Dell E1405 | Core Duo 2 Merom T7200 | 2GB DDR2 | Intel 950GM | 120GB HD | 14.1 in. WXGA+ Truelife | XP Pro

Heatware
Sucka is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-05, 10:41 PM   #16
ROH
Member



Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

 
been 2.5 weeks and all is well in my camp. BUT, I am NOT using the aformentioned aspects of the bios to set my running voltages.

But, very scary to think what might have happened if I had.

O.
ROH is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-05, 11:33 AM   #17
ShadowClock59
Member

 
ShadowClock59's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lieing on my back dieing from heat exhaustion in my big black hair/hat thing.

 
Ive had trouble running dual channel on my SLI-DR ever since I bought it. The only bios's that let me run in Dual Channel (usually fails to post, or I get 3 leds and BEEEEEP BEEEEEEEP) are the 6/23 and this one in this thread, so far, I havnt had problems with the 7/04-2's, but I havt started oc'ing with this bios yet. the 6/23 didnt work when I set voltage to 3.0 or higher (Gold VX PC4000) and I would get memtest errors with anything less. The 7/04-2 (for Bh, CH) seem to be doing great and Im running 3.2v @ 2-2-2-8 with stock bus speeds, memtest 100% pass. Im afraid to start overclocking it because Ive had so much trouble getting this board stable, and Ive finally found everyhitng sweet spots to go for days without a bsod or reboot.

Sucka, I see that your using the same RAM as me, so if you had these problems as well with getting Dual Channel to allow posting, please help me out here and if you dont mind, gimme some settings that you think are stable for an overclock (250*11'ish) im all air right now, but plenty of it at that. Thanks, Im rambling so I may need to edit this a little
ShadowClock59 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?