Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

ramdisk/nic/ ultra fun server question

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-06-05, 08:29 PM Thread Starter   #1
fiji
Member

 
fiji's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: berlin

 
ramdisk/nic/ ultra fun server question


ok so i was thinking about putting together a relatively cheap server

i was thinking like

2x2500+ 3 or 4 gigs of cheap ram , and some cheap hard-drive
and gigabit NICs


now if i were to make 2 or 3 gigs of that ram into a ramdisk

then make that partition shared over the net -- via smb


now what kind of throughput//access times would i be looking at?

also what would be a bottleneck for access throughput? (the NIC, ram speed?)


thanks

__________________
---AthlonIIx4 4GBDDR3 NV9800GT---

running Win7x64
fiji is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-06-05, 08:30 PM   #2
MRD
Senior Member

 
MRD's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CT

10 Year Badge
 
You might have more luck in the hardware forums than in the alt os forum with that.
MRD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-06-05, 11:36 PM   #3
kaltag
Senior Member

 
kaltag's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Boise Idaho

10 Year Badge
 
you would hit a bandwidth bottleneck LONG before you reach a RAM bottleneck. even DDR 266 runs at like...*checks google*...2.1GB/sec which would require 2x1Gb nics to saturate.

__________________
`______
/l ,[____],
l---L 0lllllll0-
()_) ()_)--o-)_)

Last edited by kaltag; 07-07-05 at 06:41 PM.
kaltag is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-05, 10:01 AM Thread Starter   #4
fiji
Member

 
fiji's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: berlin

 
(MRD you bring up a good point, and i might post there later, but it just seemed to me that people that browse this section might have more understanding of what im trying to go after)
ahh thanks, that was what i was wondering...

would it be possible to 'bind' several gigabit NICs together, something along the lines of QoS packet load balancing?

also would the pci bus bandwidth be enough to support 3x gigabit NICs, going full out-- or would i need some expensive server/workstation motherboard with PciX or 64 bit pci

__________________
---AthlonIIx4 4GBDDR3 NV9800GT---

running Win7x64
fiji is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-05, 06:38 PM   #5
kaltag
Senior Member

 
kaltag's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Boise Idaho

10 Year Badge
 
the PCI bus supports 133MB/sec throughput and 1x1Gb nic would use 125 of that. If you're looking for more bandwidth than that you're gonna need 64bit/PCIx

__________________
`______
/l ,[____],
l---L 0lllllll0-
()_) ()_)--o-)_)
kaltag is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?