• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Getting a Dell... seeking some advice!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

raven

Hey everyone.

In the next week or so, i will be ordering myself, most likely, a Dell XPS Gen 2 laptop. (from dell.ca).

Anyways, the system specs of this laptop will be as follows:
the basics for this laptop,
with Windows XP Pro
with the dvd burner
with a personalization kit
internal 2.0 bluetooth
and the a/b/g wireless network card.
3 year next buisness day complete care warrenty.

So that means, as of right now, i am keeping the memory at 512megs of DDR2 and a 60 gig HD (rpm not stated).

Anyways, as I am fairly new to the laptop scene, I did some research and determined that this XPS is a thing of beauty. But there are a few things that i would like to upgrade in the future [this includes getting more ram, and a bigger, faster (7200 rpm) Hard Drive]. This is due to financial reasons and dells' overpriced upgrades.

But there is a problem. I cannot seem to find 7200 HD's anywhere. I have done some research on that and have discovered that Hitachi will be releasing their 7200 rpm laptop drives this summer, but what I couldn't find was the approximate price for these. What I am asking, is if anyone could help me generate a ball park figure for these new drives (for the 60, 80 and 100 gig versions).

Also, are there any brands of DDR2 laptop memory that you guys recommend?

/me begins rant