Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Irregular WC setup required -comments, help-

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-11-05, 08:50 PM Thread Starter   #1
DickH
Member



Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Irregular WC setup required -comments, help-


I would like to watercool my shuttle, I wouldnt normally ask for help, but this is different. My shuttle has an internal 500w atx power supply in it (they fit) and I only have ~4cm from the processor to the psu. I can get away with air cooling because the ICE bends at an L and I have rotated the ICE and modded my shuttle so I have a 120mm fan internally cooling my shuttle. If you didnt spot it, my problem is, I don't have a lot of room heighwise for a cpu block. The only cpu block I have seen that would work out is this and I dont want to use that. With a bit of looking I found that this gpu block is ideal aside from it being made for a video card. So here is where I need help, does anyone know of annother waterblock (3/8) that would work out, assuming I could get it mounted, would the dangerden product cool my cpu properly?

If it matters, these are the other parts I want to use.
http://www.frozencpu.com/ex-rad-09.html
http://www.frozencpu.com/ex-pmp-31.html
http://www.frozencpu.com/ex-tub-29.html

How hard would it be to make my own waterblock, made specifically for my senario, would you recomend it?

__________________
SN95G5
AMD3500+
2x512mb Ballistix
200gb Seagate (sata)
msi 6800gt
audigy 2zs
DickH is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-05, 08:56 PM   #2
scott d
Member

 
scott d's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tampa, FL

 
I don't know if you're considering ordering from frozenCPU, but you can get better prices at www.dangerdenstore.com

__________________
Heat
scott d is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-05, 09:04 PM   #3
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
Instead of making a whole new block, could you make your own hold down bracket that would fit the lugs on the socket?

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-05, 10:36 PM   #4
Lotec25
Member

 
Lotec25's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Florida

 
i seen someone water cool a small case like that on another forum let me find it.

Lotec
Lotec25 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-05, 10:44 PM   #5
Lotec25
Member

 
Lotec25's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Florida

 
http://www.gruntville.com/phpBB2/vie...asc&highlight=

this guy got a tdx in his. You will have to look threw it and see if it will work for you.

Lotec
Lotec25 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-05, 10:48 PM Thread Starter   #6
DickH
Member



Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Its not that the case is small, Its that I only have 4 cm from the processor to the psu, and normal waterblocks wont fit in the tight area.

__________________
SN95G5
AMD3500+
2x512mb Ballistix
200gb Seagate (sata)
msi 6800gt
audigy 2zs
DickH is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-05, 10:58 PM   #7
Lotec25
Member

 
Lotec25's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Florida

 
you got a picture of it?

Lotec
Lotec25 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-05, 11:08 PM   #8
ls7corvete
Member



Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tampa, FL

10 Year Badge
 
the 500w atx is not stock I assume.

Stick the stock back in, you should get some good OCs on it.
ls7corvete is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-05, 11:10 PM   #9
Lotec25
Member

 
Lotec25's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Florida

 
or get someone to measure the distance on the screw holes for the Maze 4 that fits on the 6800 cards. It might just be the right distance. I would measure mine but i sold it But i know the holes are preety far apart might have to mod the screws a little but i think it might work.

Lotec
Lotec25 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?