Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

raid question

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-12-05, 07:28 AM Thread Starter   #1
Aidenswarrior
Member

 
Aidenswarrior's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
raid question


i know you are suppose to have 2 of the same hard drive for raid 0. I have a 200gb maxtor sata hard drive with 16mb cache and was wondering if it would be possible to use a 200gb sata maxtor with 8mb cache in raid 0 with that hdd? Or could someone lead me to a site that still sells the 16mb cache sata 200gb maxtor hdds...?

__________________
w/e

http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=40089
Aidenswarrior is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-12-05, 07:30 AM Thread Starter   #2
Aidenswarrior
Member

 
Aidenswarrior's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 

__________________
w/e

http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=40089
Aidenswarrior is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-12-05, 08:19 AM   #3
edwardaune
Member

 
edwardaune's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Texas

 
They have to be identical or you risk corruption. When I set up my first raid I had to drives that had the same capacity and cache, the only difference was the seek times were off just a bit. I could set it up and what not but the performance sucked and I was getting errors left and right. So in others words, that have to be exactly the the same.

__________________
UNDER 64 BIT CONSTRUCTION, so far:

Tsunami Dream (Black)
DFI Ultra D (SLI Mod)
Thermalright XP-90C (Lapped)
Plextor 716SA/SW DVD Dual Laye Burner

FOLDING for TEAM32
edwardaune is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-12-05, 08:57 AM   #4
Xaotic
Very kind Senior

 
Xaotic's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Greensboro NC

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by edwardaune
They have to be identical or you risk corruption. When I set up my first raid I had to drives that had the same capacity and cache, the only difference was the seek times were off just a bit. I could set it up and what not but the performance sucked and I was getting errors left and right. So in others words, that have to be exactly the the same.
I'd have to disagree. It will work with dissimilar drives, but the performance is not optimized. I've used many different mixed drive configurations. Just curious, which disks and controller were they and did you have any other issues running after the array was broken? Corruption, I've seen more in controllers and PCI lock problems.
Xaotic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-12-05, 09:02 AM   #5
edwardaune
Member

 
edwardaune's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Texas

 
^^In a JBOD array or in an actual RAID 0.^^ I was and still am using the on board RAID controllers on my abit and the same when I had my GIG GA-7N400 Pro 2. I had nothing but problems when I used different drives and since changing to the same drives clean as a whistle.

__________________
UNDER 64 BIT CONSTRUCTION, so far:

Tsunami Dream (Black)
DFI Ultra D (SLI Mod)
Thermalright XP-90C (Lapped)
Plextor 716SA/SW DVD Dual Laye Burner

FOLDING for TEAM32
edwardaune is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-12-05, 09:04 AM   #6
edwardaune
Member

 
edwardaune's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Texas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aidenswarrior
BTW, that was a good price for that drive.

__________________
UNDER 64 BIT CONSTRUCTION, so far:

Tsunami Dream (Black)
DFI Ultra D (SLI Mod)
Thermalright XP-90C (Lapped)
Plextor 716SA/SW DVD Dual Laye Burner

FOLDING for TEAM32
edwardaune is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-12-05, 09:28 AM   #7
edwardaune
Member

 
edwardaune's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Texas

 
http://www.buy.com/retail/Product.as...mp&dcaid=17260

This was the only one that I found but I didnt search that hard. Im not sure if it the exact same model because you didnt mention it. All I did was a google, Im sure there's more out there.

__________________
UNDER 64 BIT CONSTRUCTION, so far:

Tsunami Dream (Black)
DFI Ultra D (SLI Mod)
Thermalright XP-90C (Lapped)
Plextor 716SA/SW DVD Dual Laye Burner

FOLDING for TEAM32
edwardaune is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-12-05, 01:31 PM   #8
Xaotic
Very kind Senior

 
Xaotic's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Greensboro NC

10 Year Badge
 
Interesting, I'd never seen compatibility issues with that chipset, perhaps there were stability problems with earlier BIOS levels.

And yes, that's an excellent price on the drive.
Xaotic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-05, 05:06 PM Thread Starter   #9
Aidenswarrior
Member

 
Aidenswarrior's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
woohoo, it is back in stock for $97 bucks... i pad $130 for my other one. Raid 0 here i come!

__________________
w/e

http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=40089
Aidenswarrior is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-05, 10:35 PM   #10
edwardaune
Member

 
edwardaune's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Texas

 
Let us know if you have anu more questions, awesome deal.

__________________
UNDER 64 BIT CONSTRUCTION, so far:

Tsunami Dream (Black)
DFI Ultra D (SLI Mod)
Thermalright XP-90C (Lapped)
Plextor 716SA/SW DVD Dual Laye Burner

FOLDING for TEAM32
edwardaune is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?