Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Can I use this CPU without a fan ?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-12-05, 10:41 PM Thread Starter   #1
Mr_Fuchs
Disabled

 
Mr_Fuchs's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Rockaway Beach (Outskirts of NYC)

 
Can I use this CPU without a fan ?


I pulled a 1.8ghz p4 mobile CPU out of a laptop.. it is socket 478, can I put it in my desktop, without a fan ?
Mr_Fuchs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-12-05, 10:50 PM   #2
FSBxtreme
Member

 
FSBxtreme's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NY

 
nope of course not...but low speed fan like the Vantec Stealth will do a good job cooling it silently.

__________________
MY HEATWARE

Asus P5W-DH Deluxe motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 at 3.2GHz w/ 1.375V(in bios)
Patriot DDR2-800 (PC2 6400) 2GB @ 802Mhz 2.0V
ATI X1900XTX video card
Seagate 320GB 8mb SATAII
NEC 3550A DVD writer
OCZ GameXtreme 600W SLI
Fan Master
Lian-Li PC-7B Plus II Black Midtower
2 x Gateway FPD2185W 21" LCD Dual monitors
Logitech Z-5500 speakers system
FSBxtreme is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-12-05, 10:56 PM   #3
tenchi86
Member

 
tenchi86's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Smoky Mountains, NC

 
Yeah, once you even start getting to the PIII I would use a fan. However my old 866mhz pc had no fan on the HS. Though I wouldnt go much above that.

Edit: I missed the mobile part, it had a fan before right? If not then you may just get away with it. I am not to sure how those mobiles run, heat wise.

__________________
"Millions saw the apple fall, but Newton was the one who asked why." -Bernard Mannes Baruch

Mobo: MSI Neo2-V
CPU: 2.8a Prescott @ 3.2
PSU: Blue Storm 500 Watt
GPU: Geforce 6600GT
HS: Zalman 7000
Ram: Kingston HyperX 1024mb 3200
tenchi86 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-12-05, 11:11 PM Thread Starter   #4
Mr_Fuchs
Disabled

 
Mr_Fuchs's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Rockaway Beach (Outskirts of NYC)

 
heatsink , no fan
Mr_Fuchs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-12-05, 11:13 PM   #5
SolidxSnake
Member

 
SolidxSnake's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA

 
It probably had its own fan setup in the laptop, so get a small fan on that proc. Nothing too small, but doesn't have to have a ton of CFM

__________________
When I logon to Windows, I press Ctrl+Alt+ELITE
i7-2600 4001MHz @ 39x102.6~ASRock P67 Fatal1ty Professional~MSI N580GTX Lightning 1536MB @ 1000//2400 @ 1.149v~8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24~256GB Samsung 830 SSD and 60GB OCZ Vertex~2x Western Digital Caviar Green 1TBs in RAID1 ~BFG ES-800 PSU
Custom Watercooling Loop | Apogee GT, MCW82, MCP35x + Res, Thermochill PA120.2 and 120.3 (both rev1) w/ Gentle Typhoon AP-15s pull, 7/16"x5/8" MasterKleer, 100% Distilled Water with Iodine ---All encased in a Silverstone TJ07B-W
Join in on the fun! Heatware OCForums Metal Club member #13224

SolidxSnake is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-12-05, 11:59 PM Thread Starter   #6
Mr_Fuchs
Disabled

 
Mr_Fuchs's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Rockaway Beach (Outskirts of NYC)

 
yes, it has some kind of exhaust kind of setup.. i guess i'll play it safe and buy a fan.
Mr_Fuchs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-05, 12:06 AM   #7
Drec
Member

 
Drec's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 
actually you might be able to get away with it if your case has good ventalation and if the hs was considerably better then the one in the laptop. wouldn't hurt to try check temps in bios if it starts getting up there turn it off.
Drec is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-05, 02:50 AM   #8
SunRedRX7
Member

 
SunRedRX7's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kenmore, NY

 
With a big enough heatsink and adequate case airflow, possible. DELL's use a setup like that, big heatsink, with a duct pulling air off it.

As Drec said, monitor it.

__________________
7 DP
Got a fast computer sitting around idle all day? PUT IT TO WORK!
Member Of Overclockers.com's BOINC Teams
SETI@home, Climate Prediction, Einstein@Home, Predictor@home, LHC@home
Click here to visit The BOINC/SETI section of the forums
Click here to visit The Team32 Folding section of the forums

Heatware
SunRedRX7 is offline SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-05, 02:55 AM   #9
TalRW
Member

 
TalRW's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Irvine, CA

 
depending on what heat sink it could be possible, you will probably need a big copper heatsink though. Also don't expect to be overclocking it.

__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3400+
MOBO: Asus K8N4-E Deluxe
HARD DRIVE:
MEMORY: 3.0GiB
POWER:
VIDEOCARD:
GNU/Linux Distribution: Trisquel 5.0 (Dagda)
Support software freedom! Try one of the nine FSF endorsed distros.
Got a wireless network? Secure it!
TalRW is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-05, 11:27 AM Thread Starter   #10
Mr_Fuchs
Disabled

 
Mr_Fuchs's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Rockaway Beach (Outskirts of NYC)

 
definitly no overclocking, going to be replacing my file server, but its in the living room , and the ibm there now sounds like an airplane.
Mr_Fuchs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-05, 12:05 PM   #11
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
from pics at recent computer shows, you can see lots of huge passive coolers coming out from various companies. they look like little skyscrapers, but look to do the job well if you've got some air flow.

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-05, 12:11 PM   #12
tenchi86
Member

 
tenchi86's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Smoky Mountains, NC

 
I would not waist money on a new HS, use the old one. With good case flow you might be fine, if not then just turn it off. If you do need better cooling just put like an 80mm fan on it.

__________________
"Millions saw the apple fall, but Newton was the one who asked why." -Bernard Mannes Baruch

Mobo: MSI Neo2-V
CPU: 2.8a Prescott @ 3.2
PSU: Blue Storm 500 Watt
GPU: Geforce 6600GT
HS: Zalman 7000
Ram: Kingston HyperX 1024mb 3200
tenchi86 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-05, 01:28 PM   #13
Ritek
Member



Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ohio

 
my P4 2.4c northwood came stock with just a big heatsink. and of course.. lack of thermal paste. It ran at stock speeds for about a year and a old. untill i started to OC it.. and then i bought a new heatsink and fan.
Ritek is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?