Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

virtual memory question

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-14-05, 07:11 PM Thread Starter   #1
AzNaLaN15
Member



Join Date: Dec 2004

 
virtual memory question


if i make a seperate partition to hold my virtual memory, do i set the whole partition as the memory size

ie: size of partition : 1536mb size of memory: 1536mb ?

or do i have to put a lil room there so...

size of partition 2000mb size of memory: 1536 ?

__________________
MSI 915P Platinum
Corsair 2 x 512MB XMS2-PC5400
550 3.4 Ghz P4 @ 3.8!!!
80G WD ATA
120G MAXTOR ATA
320G WD SATA
AzNaLaN15 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-05, 07:22 PM   #2
Albigger
Member



Join Date: Sep 2002

10 Year Badge
 
As far as I know you can set it to the whole drive size (there might be like a few mb reserved though). If you're using windows XP it will tell you the maximum amount of free space available on the partition though, so you can just set it to the max amount available.

__________________
Asus PC-DL - 2x2.4M0 xeons @ 3.27ghz - 9800pro - 2 x 512 pqi Turbo @ 2,2,2,5 - 550W FSP550-60PLN
cooling: Iwaki WMD-30RZT & 2x Apogee CPU Blocks
Albigger is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-05, 08:08 PM Thread Starter   #3
AzNaLaN15
Member



Join Date: Dec 2004

 
but i was wondering if that would offer optimum performance, like how u should have like 10-15% of ur hd free and stuff like that

__________________
MSI 915P Platinum
Corsair 2 x 512MB XMS2-PC5400
550 3.4 Ghz P4 @ 3.8!!!
80G WD ATA
120G MAXTOR ATA
320G WD SATA
AzNaLaN15 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-05, 08:52 PM   #4
Albigger
Member



Join Date: Sep 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Well, a quick read through this thread may be of interest, even though not directly related to your question there is some good info in here and some think that putting the VM file on a separate partition won't improve perfomance at all.

http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=387205



Anyway, about leaving some % of the drive free, if it is a drive specifically for virtual memory then I see no real reason to, as it won't need to be defragged or anything. But I have no conclusive proof of this, hopefully someone will come along and enlighten us...

__________________
Asus PC-DL - 2x2.4M0 xeons @ 3.27ghz - 9800pro - 2 x 512 pqi Turbo @ 2,2,2,5 - 550W FSP550-60PLN
cooling: Iwaki WMD-30RZT & 2x Apogee CPU Blocks
Albigger is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-05, 12:50 AM   #5
Enablingwolf
Senior Member overclocking at the speed of plaid

 
Enablingwolf's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Strongsville

 
I don't have much to say. I do however come with a link on the what, how and why of the Page file.

http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d...c_evl_bsaq.asp

__________________


No one ever expects Aloysius Snuffleupagus







Enablingwolf is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?