Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

can you guys give me some info on this?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-14-05, 09:00 PM Thread Starter   #1
deathstar13
FSB FRIEK

 
deathstar13's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

10 Year Badge
 
can you guys give me some info on this?


wth 5000 units at 16m a unit? finish date september 8th!
really my pc is rather fast but damn is this normal? i just turned one in a few minutes ago and it took 2 days,but i only fold 12 hours a day as my room gets too hot at night.

is this worth the motherload in points or something?


__________________

Alright Brain, you don't like me, and I don't like you. But lets just do this, and I can get back to killing you with beer. -HJS-
deathstar13 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-05, 09:28 PM   #2
ChasR
Senior Member

 
ChasR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
The GUI client doesn't have a clue how long a WU will take until it's completed a frame. It really shouldn't show anything until it can make an accurate forecast. I'm not sure why your pie shows 60% when it says 0 out of 5000 frames complete unless this is right after a restart. Read fahlog.txt to see what is really going on.

__________________

All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


Folding User Stats
ChasR is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-05, 09:38 PM Thread Starter   #3
deathstar13
FSB FRIEK

 
deathstar13's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

10 Year Badge
 
the pie chart is just showing the current frame length i think.
whats odd is it errered out right after i posted this,saying my pc was unstable.
funny since its been rather stable and even finished its last unit wich was 400 with no issues.
mabey was just a bad unit?

__________________

Alright Brain, you don't like me, and I don't like you. But lets just do this, and I can get back to killing you with beer. -HJS-
deathstar13 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-05, 10:03 PM   #4
ChasR
Senior Member

 
ChasR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
Not likely a bad WU on that particular project. Your OC may be a bit high to fold stably.

__________________

All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


Folding User Stats
ChasR is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-05, 10:35 PM   #5
AlabamaCajun

 
AlabamaCajun's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A Labyrinth

 
The GUI does that all the time. Be sure your screen saver is set to just go to blank or logon, otherwise it sucks cycles and well and warms your room.

__________________
Main Rigs
Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
dead- Phen2-940
AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.
AlabamaCajun is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-05, 11:03 PM Thread Starter   #6
deathstar13
FSB FRIEK

 
deathstar13's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChasR
Not likely a bad WU on that particular project. Your OC may be a bit high to fold stably.
i highley doubt that.
i use folding mainly for stability testing and ive been running these settings for days without issues.but if i see it happen again ill agree and go back and add vcore.i have it pushed low as possible atm and more would fix it IF that was the issue.

im not useing a screensaver but the windows program itself.

anyhow its back folding fine now

__________________

Alright Brain, you don't like me, and I don't like you. But lets just do this, and I can get back to killing you with beer. -HJS-
deathstar13 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-05, 11:14 PM   #7
tenchi86
Member

 
tenchi86's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Smoky Mountains, NC

 
Some WUs are a lot harder then others. From what I remember gromacs are some of those hard ones. Any way like they said its wrong, use Wedos one click. And EMIII.

__________________
"Millions saw the apple fall, but Newton was the one who asked why." -Bernard Mannes Baruch

Mobo: MSI Neo2-V
CPU: 2.8a Prescott @ 3.2
PSU: Blue Storm 500 Watt
GPU: Geforce 6600GT
HS: Zalman 7000
Ram: Kingston HyperX 1024mb 3200
tenchi86 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-05, 01:03 PM   #8
ChasR
Senior Member

 
ChasR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
No one has reported stability problems on p890 to Stanford. Almost everyone doubts it's their computer that's unstable.

__________________

All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


Folding User Stats
ChasR is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-05, 10:42 PM Thread Starter   #9
deathstar13
FSB FRIEK

 
deathstar13's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChasR
No one has reported stability problems on p890 to Stanford. Almost everyone doubts it's their computer that's unstable.
WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE TELLING MY SYSTEM OF STABILITY TESTING IS FLAWED?




lol j/k
and after further review and the verdict is in.
i had to add more vcore and all is good and its eating up another gromac core.hey i wish i was always right but im not and wasnt this time.
luckily to get the 100% stability i didnt loose any mhz just added voltage.
these gromacs are also heating my cpu up more also.i was dancing along at 37c but adding more vcore and the new gromacs core its 39c
not bad but lets just see how many extra points i can give F(OC)LD when my X2 gets here in about 2-3weeks.

__________________

Alright Brain, you don't like me, and I don't like you. But lets just do this, and I can get back to killing you with beer. -HJS-
deathstar13 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-05, 09:18 AM   #10
veryhumid



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New Hampshire

 
39C is pretty low anyway. Thanks for adding all that megahurrrrrzzzz!!111one!

__________________

< FOLD!
< Heatware

< EVGA X58, 920, TRUE, 12GB Corsair, 2 x EVGA GTX 285, Enermax Revolution, Velociraptor, 7 64-bit
veryhumid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-05, 09:26 AM   #11
muddocktor
Retired

 
muddocktor's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Iberia, LA

10 Year Badge
 
Is that a mobile Claw you are running, deathstar13?

I have one like that setup of yours and I found that I had to back down to 2665 MHz for total stability on my DFI board. At first it seemed stable at 2700, but a few of the Gromacs wu's showed it not entirely stable at 2700 MHz.
muddocktor is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-05, 11:36 AM Thread Starter   #12
deathstar13
FSB FRIEK

 
deathstar13's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by veryhumid
39C is pretty low anyway. Thanks for adding all that megahurrrrrzzzz!!111one!
the TT typhoon is a rather amazing heatsink.i never thought id say that about anything made by TT but i just did.

yeh its a mobile 3000+
mine wants to max out at 2.8ghz but takes almost 1.75v to do it.
2.75ghz is fine but still takes 1.68v
i found 2.7ghz @1.57v to be completly stable.but i could still crank it upto 2.8ghz when i want some benching and such but for normal stuff i prefer the lower voltages.


__________________

Alright Brain, you don't like me, and I don't like you. But lets just do this, and I can get back to killing you with beer. -HJS-

Last edited by deathstar13; 07-19-05 at 11:42 AM.
deathstar13 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-05, 09:44 PM   #13
AlabamaCajun

 
AlabamaCajun's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A Labyrinth

 
Look at those LATS' ,;'

__________________
Main Rigs
Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
dead- Phen2-940
AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.
AlabamaCajun is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-05, 10:07 PM   #14
harlam357
Senior Fold-a-holic

 
harlam357's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: @Home... Folding@Home

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathstar13
wth 5000 units at 16m a unit? finish date september 8th!
really my pc is rather fast but damn is this normal?...

is this worth the motherload in points or something?
My rig 2(see sig) has seen two of these 5000 unit WU's come and go in the past few days. Seems as though they are worth a couple hundred points.

Just turned the second one in... Stanford isn't registering it quite yet. I'll post back with a true point count when it registers on my total.

edit: 142pts. for the 5000 unit gromacs WU.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlabamaCajun
Look at those LATS' ,;'
Cas 1.5 sure... but a Tras of 0. Never seen that... maybe an A64 thing. What's up with that deathstar?


Last edited by harlam357; 07-19-05 at 10:14 PM.
harlam357 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-05, 10:16 PM   #15
freeagent

Member

 
freeagent's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Winnipeg!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlabamaCajun
Look at those LATS' ,;'
Agreed. Thats Sick!! wanna trade?

__________________
Xeon X5690 E.S. @ 4063mhz, 1.275v /Corsair H100
Asus Rampage III Formula @ 150/3310/3310
6x2GB @ 752mhz 6-7-6-20 1T 1.6v
Asus GTX 580 Matrix Platinum @ 900/1000 1.1v
Intel 520 120GB/WD 1TB Black
Auzentech Prelude
Thermaltake SP850M
Fractal Design Define R4
freeagent is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-20-05, 07:28 AM   #16
ChasR
Senior Member

 
ChasR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
CPU-Z may report 0 but I don't think it'd work if the tRAS were really 0. Ive never seen a motherboard with tRAS lower than 4 available in bios. Here's a quote from Anandtech about latency on nForce motherboards:

Quote:
*Several memory tests have shown that memory performs fastest on the nVidia nForce chipsets at a TRas (RAS Precharge) settings in the 9 to 13 range. We ran our own Memory Bandwidth tests with memtest86 with TRas settings from 5 to 15 at a wide range of different memory speeds. The best bandwidth was consistently at 9 to 11 at every speed, with TRas 10 always in the best range at every speed. The performance improvement at TRas 10 was only 2 to 4% over TRas 5 and 6 depending on the speed, but the performance advantage was consistent across all tests. All benchmarks were run at a TRas setting of 10.

We have not tested a Socket 754 board that offered a CAS 1.5 setting. The OCZ memory ran without problems with 1 DIMM at 1.5-2-2-10 settings.

__________________

All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


Folding User Stats
ChasR is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-20-05, 07:49 AM   #17
hibner

 
hibner's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Huntington, WV

10 Year Badge
 
I just started folding a few days ago. TEAM 32 BABY!!! Last night I got a 5000 unit gromac and my cpu temp shot up about 3c. It should finish tommorrow morning, so I'll confirm the 142pnts. Now that I think about it, I've had 4 WUs so far and all have been gromacs.
hibner is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-20-05, 08:31 AM   #18
walaka7
Member



Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: el segundo, ca or caprock, nm

 
WELCOME to the fold!!
walaka7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-20-05, 06:23 PM   #19
harlam357
Senior Fold-a-holic

 
harlam357's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: @Home... Folding@Home

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChasR
CPU-Z may report 0 but I don't think it'd work if the tRAS were really 0. Ive never seen a motherboard with tRAS lower than 4 available in bios. Here's a quote from Anandtech about latency on nForce motherboards:
I didn't think so... such timings should be theoretically impossible- I don't have the exact equation for calculating minimum Tras but 4 would make perfect sense. I think it is (ras-to-cas + ras-precharge) = min. Tras.

10 Tras misreported as 0 makes sense. Someone needs to remove that "% 10" from the code that calculates the Tras.

I haven't checked to see what low end Tras my boards will do. I just know that nForce2 loves 11 Tras! So that's what I run.

harlam357 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-20-05, 06:57 PM   #20
ChasR
Senior Member

 
ChasR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
From Mushkin:

Quote:
The minimum tRAS would be tRCD+CAS latency + 2 cycles (to output the first burst of four and make way for the second burst in the output buffers).
Obviously tRAS of 5 works I've got a few rigs running at that. Here's a good explanation of latency from Corsair. After rereading this, I just might loosen up tRAS on my Intel rigs like I already have on my nForce rigs and see what happens.

__________________

All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


Folding User Stats
ChasR is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?