• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

3200+ Venice 2.4Ghz/Corsair Xpert 1GB Kit and OVERCLOCKING!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

apopilot

Registered
First of all does anyone have this MEMORY Kit. I would like to purchase another 1GB and put it under the actuall XPERT modules. The PDF on there site for this shows another set of 1GB memory below it.

http://corsair.com/corsair/products...1024-3200XL.pdf

I have currently overclocked to 2.4 Ghz. However, I am a overclocking rookie. What I have done is the following.

1.) I increased the FSB to 240 Mhz.
2.) I increased teh VDIMM (Memory voltage) to 2.75.
3.) I also increased the timings from 2-2-2-5 to 2.5-3-3-5. Why I did this and why I chose these number I dont know. I hope someone can explain the relationship between voltage and latency? And why do we need to go higher when we overclock higher?

My CPU temps are 32C IDLE. Is this ok? I have Thermaltakes Water cooling kit.

4.) The main question is I have never adjusted the VCORE which is set as AUTO in the BIOS. The Vcore at stock speed on my 3200 Venice is around 1.38V. Now Asus proble is reporting 1.472V. Is this ok? When does it get dangerous?

5.) I have left the memory at 400 mhz. I have heard so many people discuss Memory ratios. If I am am at 2.4Ghz now with a 240FSb I am assuming I am running the memory at DDR480? Can someone give me a simple mathatical example.

6.) I believe the HTT is the FSB. I have 5 settings in my BIOS. 1x,2x,3x,4x,5x and AUTO. I have left it on auto. Can someone explain when I would adjust this?

7.) How long should I run PRIME95?
8.) How long should I run MEMTEST86? How many passes?

Thanks,

Last edited:
First off, :welcome:

Ok, looks like you have a good start.