Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

What are these "grand canyons" on AthlonXP's?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-11-01, 10:12 AM Thread Starter   #1
Über~PhLuBB
Jedi Knight Senior

 
Über~PhLuBB's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Portland, OR

10 Year Badge
 
What are these "grand canyons" on AthlonXP's?


I've seen a few articles referring to gaps, or trenches on AthlonXPs that somehow interfere with unlocking. Can someone give me a pic to explain this? (Or a really good text explaination!)

__________________
Member of The Avatar Maker's Guild™
Help your fellow Overclockers, Folding@Home Team 32!
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.6GHz / Asus P6T / Win 7 Pro
6GB Muskin DDR3-1600 / Enermax 720W PSU
300GB WD Velociraptor / SB X-Fi XtremeGamer
2x eVGA GTX 280 SLI / Samsung 2233rz
Anything worth stealing is worth paying for.
Über~PhLuBB is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-11-01, 10:21 AM   #2
oc jason
Senior Member

 
oc jason's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Fayetteville, AR

 
Its the L! bridges, they used to be a flat chip surface to connect on, now there is actually a little "ditch" dug in between the 2 unconnected bridges, so you cannot directly connect the 2, you just find something to fill the bridges and then connect it

__________________
[THE HATEMACHINE]
.: p4 3.2c : Abit IC7 : 1.5gb pc3500 : Gf Fx 5950 :.

[FAVORITE GIRL]
.: AMDxp 3700 : DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 : 2gb pc4000 : Gf 7900gt :.

WoW
Server: Laughing Skull
Faction: Alliance
Name: Truex 60 Dwarf Rogue
oc jason is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-11-01, 10:22 AM   #3
cowanrg
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Boulder, CO

 
ok, you know with the L1 bridges that you usually have to connect? well, they are flat. in the new xp chips, there is not only a gap between the contacts, but there is also a "pit" or a trench. this doesnt allow you to simply use a pencil. you have to either fill in the trench, then pencil it in, or, use a conductive material to fill in the trench, AND connect contatcs.

here is a CRUDE pic.

contact 1--> __ __ <-- contact 2
\__/
cowanrg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-11-01, 10:23 AM   #4
cowanrg
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Boulder, CO

 
oops, they didnt come out right, well, maybe someone will post a pic.
cowanrg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-11-01, 11:08 AM Thread Starter   #5
Über~PhLuBB
Jedi Knight Senior

 
Über~PhLuBB's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Portland, OR

10 Year Badge
 
No, I see what you guys are saying.

Wouldn't it make sense to use an ultra-fine tip soldering iron to solder over the gaps, or even a thick conductive paint? It would come out something like this:

__________________
Member of The Avatar Maker's Guild™
Help your fellow Overclockers, Folding@Home Team 32!
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.6GHz / Asus P6T / Win 7 Pro
6GB Muskin DDR3-1600 / Enermax 720W PSU
300GB WD Velociraptor / SB X-Fi XtremeGamer
2x eVGA GTX 280 SLI / Samsung 2233rz
Anything worth stealing is worth paying for.
Über~PhLuBB is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-11-01, 11:32 AM   #6
Angry

 
Angry's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bluefield, WV

10 Year Badge
 
The problem with soldering is Frying the chips...some have done it sucsefuly..others have not...

__________________

Main Rig.....................Game Server............................................ Media Server..............Untangle
Core i3 2100 ....... ........Phenom II X4 965 w/CM Hyper 612.............Athlon II X4 620....... Athlon X2 2350-BE 2.1ghz
MSI P67A-GD65 ..............GA-890GPA-UD3H.....................................Biostar A780L3G...........MSI 785GTM-45
G.Skill 1333 4x2gb............16gb Partriot S5 1333................................4gb DDR3 1333...........4gb OCZ DDR2 1066
EVGA GTX 670 ....................EVGA GTX275
60gb OCZ Summit.................4x250gb WD RE Raid0
ViewSonic VX2453mh-LED
Angry is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-11-01, 11:50 AM Thread Starter   #7
Über~PhLuBB
Jedi Knight Senior

 
Über~PhLuBB's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Portland, OR

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Angry
The problem with soldering is Frying the chips...some have done it sucsefuly..others have not...
Then window-defogger repair paste. Use masking tape to isolate a single bridge, and slother between the tape edges. Repeat 3 more times. Boom, bang. Done.

__________________
Member of The Avatar Maker's Guild™
Help your fellow Overclockers, Folding@Home Team 32!
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.6GHz / Asus P6T / Win 7 Pro
6GB Muskin DDR3-1600 / Enermax 720W PSU
300GB WD Velociraptor / SB X-Fi XtremeGamer
2x eVGA GTX 280 SLI / Samsung 2233rz
Anything worth stealing is worth paying for.
Über~PhLuBB is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-11-01, 11:53 AM   #8
cowanrg
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Boulder, CO

 
yeah, that works.

many people have been using a high heat tolerant compound to fill the gaps first. then, you are pretty much a the same point you would be with an old tbird or duron...

either way, you will have to viod the warranty.
cowanrg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-11-01, 12:05 PM Thread Starter   #9
Über~PhLuBB
Jedi Knight Senior

 
Über~PhLuBB's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Portland, OR

10 Year Badge
 
I don't see why those little tape things wouldn't work either... Y'know, they go for about $20 for 2 of 'em. It's a piece of sticky plastic with 4 little strips of adhesive metal that you just kind of "tape" to the bridges.

__________________
Member of The Avatar Maker's Guild™
Help your fellow Overclockers, Folding@Home Team 32!
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.6GHz / Asus P6T / Win 7 Pro
6GB Muskin DDR3-1600 / Enermax 720W PSU
300GB WD Velociraptor / SB X-Fi XtremeGamer
2x eVGA GTX 280 SLI / Samsung 2233rz
Anything worth stealing is worth paying for.
Über~PhLuBB is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?