• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Gigaram 1gig dual3200

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ochungry

Hi,
I am a noob here. Been reading all the posts on Gigaram and find it not too many overclocker enthusiasts are happy about this ram 2-2-2-5 3200 series.
and others have had many complaints on 3700 and 3500
Well I just bought 1gig dual(2x512) from newegg along w/ chaintech-S1689 and AMD64 3000+ (Venice) socket 939.
I bought a cheapo mobo because I am hesitant on upgrading too far since AMD and Intel are at war w/ new products keep coming out(example: Intel's 8xx dual core and AMD's DDR500 and DDR2 w/ bios updates) and all hardware manuf. are in transition because of this.
So for the fun of it, I decided throwing $120 at Gigaram and weigh it to see how heavy, or can it compete w/ OCZ,Corsair,Mushkin, etc..
I know you are going to say why chaintech? it does not overclock as good as DFI or Epox, etc. But I have a Good AGP card and Chaintech uses AGP instead of PCIe, and bought at mwave.com for $49; and as said, didn’t want to spend too much money.
For those who have had bad experience w/ Gigaram, and those on sideline hearing all the remarks on this Ram, I will test my setup for overclocking and will let you know if this ram can do the job.
If I can get a decent OC on my cheap mobo, then you should know it will do better on your high end system. And if I do poorly, then more power to Corsair, OCZ etc.., and would confirm the negatives, helping those who are still interested to know.
Wish me luck.
Thanks

Last edited:
I've had good overclocking with my 512MB PC3200 stick, but it was manufactured, like, 4 weeks ago, so maybe thats why. Cost me $40 and it has a silver heatspreader on it, gonna look good in my new case :D

techparadise.com has fantastic review on this Ram

NsOmNiA91130 said: