Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

A8V deluxe- promise controller settings

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-28-05, 01:42 PM Thread Starter   #1
Admiral
Registered

 
Admiral's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bucharest, Romania

 
A8V deluxe- promise controller settings


Was wondering, is there any way to run two SATA drives in RAID and a single IDE on the promise controller ?

From what I've tried it seems you either set it to RAID mode in the bios and it doesn't see the single IDE drive, appears in the RAID utility as unallocated (since ther isn't another IDE drive to pair it with) or you set it to IDE mode, sees all drives, but the SATA drives are detected as single drives and not as a RAID matrix.
Admiral is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 07-30-05, 12:30 PM   #2
Super Nade
SU(3) Moderator

 
Super Nade's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Admiral
Was wondering, is there any way to run two SATA drives in RAID and a single IDE on the promise controller ?

From what I've tried it seems you either set it to RAID mode in the bios and it doesn't see the single IDE drive, appears in the RAID utility as unallocated (since ther isn't another IDE drive to pair it with) or you set it to IDE mode, sees all drives, but the SATA drives are detected as single drives and not as a RAID matrix.
Mate,

I don't think that is possible.

__________________
Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
Understanding SMPS Technology
|| ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

Build in progress
ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L
Super Nade is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-05, 02:53 AM Thread Starter   #3
Admiral
Registered

 
Admiral's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bucharest, Romania

 
Thought so, thanks anyway
Admiral is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-04-05, 09:20 AM   #4
vulcanman09
Member

 
vulcanman09's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: ontario, canada

 
actually yes you can
cannot remember where i read it from
but it said to set both sata and single ide
drives to master
winxp and other files were copied to all 3 drives
vulcanman09 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-04-05, 06:18 PM Thread Starter   #5
Admiral
Registered

 
Admiral's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bucharest, Romania

 
Err, I don't think there is such a thing as master for SATA drives
Admiral is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-04-05, 10:30 PM   #6
vulcanman09
Member

 
vulcanman09's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: ontario, canada

 
er! sorry
just set the ide drive to master
vulcanman09 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-05, 02:53 AM Thread Starter   #7
Admiral
Registered

 
Admiral's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bucharest, Romania

 
Well, it was set as master, just doesn't seem to work. As I said in the first post, it either sees the RAID and doesn't detect the IDE drive in Windows or it sees all drives as single drives.
It's not like there's an option for RAID+IDE in the BIOS, just RAID or IDE mode.
Admiral is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-05, 07:33 AM   #8
vulcanman09
Member

 
vulcanman09's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: ontario, canada

 
did you install f6 via raid drivers prior to installing winxp
promise controllers are a little bit quirky
after the 1st post screen you will see the promise bios screen
press whatever buttons it tells you to enter the promise bios
you have 3 options
performance / security / the 3rd 1 i cannot remember
if you want raid 0 set it to performance
if you want raid 0 + 1 set it to security
each drive should show up in each sata port
sata 0 = maxtor ******
sata 1 = maxtor ******
i will test myself after i get another board to test
vulcanman09 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-05, 08:41 AM   #9
Super Nade
SU(3) Moderator

 
Super Nade's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Admiral
Well, it was set as master, just doesn't seem to work. As I said in the first post, it either sees the RAID and doesn't detect the IDE drive in Windows or it sees all drives as single drives.
It's not like there's an option for RAID+IDE in the BIOS, just RAID or IDE mode.
RAID=SATA+IDE is supported only by the NF4 boards. The K8T800Pro does not support this feature.

__________________
Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
Understanding SMPS Technology
|| ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

Build in progress
ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L
Super Nade is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-10-05, 08:41 AM   #10
JalmarBugge
New Member



Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Norway

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Admiral
Was wondering, is there any way to run two SATA drives in RAID and a single IDE on the promise controller ?

From what I've tried it seems you either set it to RAID mode in the bios and it doesn't see the single IDE drive, appears in the RAID utility as unallocated (since ther isn't another IDE drive to pair it with) or you set it to IDE mode, sees all drives, but the SATA drives are detected as single drives and not as a RAID matrix.
no, only on the via controller
JalmarBugge is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-10-05, 10:23 PM   #11
Paintballfreaka
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by vulcanman09
did you install f6 via raid drivers prior to installing winxp
promise controllers are a little bit quirky
really? all I got was crap from my via sata controller and resorted to the promise in raid and had 0 issues. dunno why but I could NOT get the via controller drivers loaded correctly and windows just ignored them and kept telling me there were no hds hooked up to the system. weird. I got it working fine with the promise. no questions just wanted to comment.
Paintballfreaka is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?