• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Linux newbie needs help with wireless urgently

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Terminat.

Okay, yesterday I installed YOPER Linux on my laptop, and that all went fine. However, I have absolutely no idea on how to get my wireless card to connect to my local area network.

I have a ZoomAir 11Mbps Wireless PCMCIA card in my laptop. Linux detects this, as it shows up in "Hardware Information" as being in PCMCIA card slot 1.

However, the green light on the ZoomAir never comes on, and I'm assuming it's a lack of drivers.

So - how do I solve this?

I'm a total linux newbie, and - although I googled multiple mentions of installing wireless drivers on Linux - any articles I've found have all been for people with some reasonable knowledge of Linux.

I would really appreciate an advanced Linux user or expert here giving me a step-by-step guide to installing drivers for my ZoomAir card.

Thanks very much in advance for any help :)

Edit: I've read other posts here, and it seems you don't need drivers if Linux detects your card, like it does with mine. But then - why does the power light not come on the wireless card? And why won't it work?

Again, thanks so much for help :)

Last edited:
Ok, I have no experience with linux on laptops or wireless, but I may be able to point you in the right direction-

First question:
Are you sure pcmcia is working? Try another card if you have one; doesn't matter what, just to make sure that something works in there.
- If nothing works in the pc card slot you may need to look into that.
- IF other pc cards do work you may need to load the driver for the card.

Distro-specific things sometimes throw configuration off so you might want to check out the Yoper forums for info as well.

Thanks for the reply :)