Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Intel CPU capable of highest speed

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-09-05, 12:24 PM Thread Starter   #1
JohannM
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Intel CPU capable of highest speed


Hi,

I bough a Vapochill and but nothing to put in it yet. I am pretty much an Intel man, I looked at x2 as an option since the vapo has a socket 939 kit installed but wouldnt easily buy an AMD.

Bear in mind that Im willing to pay when it comes to building this system.

What Intel chip in general reach the highest speeds with ultimate performance, if a Dual core 830 can do 4Ghz on the Vapo Ill proppably buy that but Im looking at the following:

3.6Ghz 660 with 2mb
3.8Ghz 570 with 1mb
Extreme edition 3.46Ghz with 2mb l3

which one?

I like 2mb cache and EMT64 of the 660, the loads of cache and 1066FSB of the 3.46, but the 3.8 is cheapest and is obviously the best prescott cores selected by Intel.

Has anyone hit 4.5Ghz with one of these and which one is most likely to do 4.5Ghz?
JohannM is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-09-05, 04:24 PM   #2
ryanmartini
Member

 
ryanmartini's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: douglasville ga

 
The 660 has seen some awesome speeds. I have seen some that run 5+ ghz under phase.

__________________
Intel C2Q Q6600 2.4 @ 3ghz stock voltage / Stock Cooling
Corsair XMS DDR2 800 2x1gb
Gigabyte P35 DS3-L
HIS Radeon HD3870 864/1300
WD Raptor 36gb [OS/Bench]
2 x Hitachi 250 [The Black Hole of Data]

~Warming Up 11-0-0~ heatware.

Nothing is worse than doing something your excellent at, but hate doing. ~me~
ryanmartini is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-09-05, 04:35 PM   #3
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
660 as well here, seeing they hit 4.0 on good air, and 4.5 on good water.
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-09-05, 05:28 PM Thread Starter   #4
JohannM
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Thanks guys, 660 sounds good. I like the extra cache and EMT64, running at 4.5Ghz+ that sounds good to me
JohannM is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-09-05, 05:31 PM   #5
crimedog
Member

 
crimedog's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South of Boston

 
670

__________________
i'm packing heat
crimedog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-09-05, 06:18 PM Thread Starter   #6
JohannM
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by crimedog
670
I didnt even know of the existance of a 670! LOL I though you were making a joke until n googled it

670 it shall be if I can find one at a good price
JohannM is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-09-05, 08:08 PM   #7
Gautam
Senior Benchmark Addict



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hillsboro, OR

10 Year Badge
 
X2 4400+. Especially since money doesn't seem to be a concern, this is an option you should DEFINITELY be looking into.

__________________
El<(')>Maxi: I still have your board...and I'm afraid I lost your address so I can't send it back...and my pm box is broken...and I can't remember where the PO is anyway
Gautam is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-09-05, 08:27 PM   #8
brakezone
Member

 
brakezone's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004

 
well to get the 670 your looking at a fairly high cost just for the cpu. Its just one good option. Weigh that in against a few hundred more for a pentium duel core with hyperthreading (4 logical processors). Ocing that thing would make for one heck of a machine. Or an X2 is another option; however, the fabled fx 57 could be one as well. Theres alot of great cpu's to be had if you got the money.

Although, to get the highest mhz speed i'm unsure of the answer but probably is the 670.
brakezone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-09-05, 08:32 PM   #9
Alchemy1
Member

 
Alchemy1's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gautam
X2 4400+. Especially since money doesn't seem to be a concern, this is an option you should DEFINITELY be looking into.
I was goign to say...you guys have some DEEP pockets!

It seems like people are hitting over 4ghz with the 830's on custom h20.
Example 1

Example 2

__________________

i7 920 D0 (4ghz @ 1.28v) l EVGA Classified l WD 300gb velociraptor l maxtor 200gb l 6gb G. Skill Trident 2000 l Cooler Master 1100 UCP l XFX GTX260SLi l Black MM Extended Ascension) l 2x PA 120.3 l 2x DDC+(355's) l Heatkiller Cu v3 l Dell 2005FPW l


Gigabyte UD3R as a backup
Heat


"Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery/None but ourselves can free our minds " -Bob Marley
Alchemy1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?