Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

BF2 - good graphics card

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-17-05, 01:54 PM Thread Starter   #1
timtooAMD
Member

 
timtooAMD's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005

 
BF2 - good graphics card


hello all, im thinking of uprading my card (fx5600) *embarrised look* and been thinking about maybe the 6800gt, i play bf2 alot now and need to run it all on low for smooth gameplay, if i was to get a 6800gt or there abouts, do u recon it would run pritty smoothly on medium/high? -cause that looks so sweet, just i have only a few fps on top settings

my budget is realisticly 130 but 6800gts are around 200 so do you know of any other cards that could do just as well......whats the 6800gt like?

Edit looking for a AGPx8 - don't have pci-e on my mobo Asus A7v8x-x

Last edited by timtooAMD; 08-17-05 at 02:10 PM.
timtooAMD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-17-05, 02:27 PM   #2
[SaS]hornet
Member



Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Doncaster, UK

 
try and save up for a 6800gt. i run bf2 on medium-high and get 50odd fps all the time.
[SaS]hornet is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-17-05, 07:31 PM   #3
SpaceyWilly
Member

 
SpaceyWilly's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sturbridge, MA

 
6600gt or unlocked 6800le should run BF2 fine and fit your price range (I don't know about pounds, but both those cards are about $130US)

my rig is nearly identicle to yours and I've got a 6800le coming end of the week so if you want I'll let you know how it runs. I don't forsee any problems though.

__________________
My Comp:

Athlon XP Barton 2500+ ------------Asus A7V8X
1024mb HyperX PC2700 RAM------Chieftec BLUE Dragon Series Case
5 BLUE Neon LED Fans--------------Leadtek 6800le unlocked to 12x1, 6vp
AverTV TV Tuner--------------------Logitech Z5300s
17" Dell 1704FPT--------------------Microsoft BLUE Optical Mouse
Creative SoundBlaster Audigy 2 Platinum
Gateway FPD2185W 21" Widescreen monitor
Laptop: Dell 600m, Pentium M 1.60ghz, 512mb ddr, Radeon Mobility 9000, DVD/CD-RW Combo
SpaceyWilly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-17-05, 07:53 PM   #4
massraptor
Member

 
massraptor's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: OC ,Kalifornia

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpaceyWilly
6600gt or unlocked 6800le should run BF2 fine and fit your price range (I don't know about pounds, but both those cards are about $130US)

my rig is nearly identicle to yours and I've got a 6800le coming end of the week so if you want I'll let you know how it runs. I don't forsee any problems though.
I agree use a 128mb 6800 and RIVATUNER to unlock the extra pipes and shader.It is easy to do.It should meet all you're needs and price range.

MassRaptor

__________________
Heatware
I7 920 @ 3.3
ASUS R2E
6 Gig Corsair
GTX 580 Refrence
2x 74 gig 15k SCSI Raid 0
OCZ GOLD 850
FOLDING FOR TEAM 32
massraptor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-18-05, 12:56 AM   #5
brakezone
Member

 
brakezone's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004

 
I got a 6800nu oced to 430/860 12 pixel pipes and it runs bf2 1600x1200, effects medium, everything else high. One thing I notice is putting agp memory to 512mb helps alot for bf2. It seems pretty smooth to me.
brakezone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-18-05, 01:28 AM   #6
SNieX
Member

 
SNieX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada- Brampton

 
XFX 6800GT does all the tricks.. bro with AGP at hand.. dont settle with mid-range.... go for high range as it will come in handy for the months to come....


SnieX
SNieX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-18-05, 01:42 AM   #7
y2jed_2000
Member



Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Vallejo, CA

 
i agree with Sniex, get the 6800gt, i got a asus v9999gt which is a 6800gt core with 6800nu memory and i can run it at 1024x768 everything on high with no lag.
y2jed_2000 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-18-05, 02:10 AM   #8
Sneaky
Skulltrail Junkie

 
Sneaky's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI

 
look into the Leadtek 6800LE on newegg - you can unlock pipes & shaders and turn it into one hell of a card for only $130

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814122212

__________________
Lian Li PC-75B Corsair Professional Series AX850
2x Intel Xeon E5420 @ 3.0GHz (400x7.5) Intel D5400XS Skulltrail
8GB (4x2GB) A-Data DDR2-800 FB-DIMM ECC (1:1 @ 400MHz)
MSI Radeon HD4870 1GB Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
2x WD VelociRaptor 150GB (RAID 0) + 2x WD Caviar Black 500GB
2x EK Supreme HF CPU EK S-MAX NB EK VGA Supreme GPU Blastflow Tidal SB
Thermochill PA120.3 Swiftech MCRes-Micro Laing D5 w/ Bitspower Top

-----------------------------------------------------------------
Heatware http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=34593
Sneaky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-18-05, 02:21 AM Thread Starter   #9
timtooAMD
Member

 
timtooAMD's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005

 
Quote:
One thing I notice is putting agp memory to 512mb helps alot for bf2. It seems pretty smooth to me.
how is that done? im confused by what you mean, do you mean get a 512mb vid card? thought they were only 256 tops
timtooAMD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-18-05, 02:32 AM   #10
Sneaky
Skulltrail Junkie

 
Sneaky's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI

 
i think he means setting it in BIOS

__________________
Lian Li PC-75B Corsair Professional Series AX850
2x Intel Xeon E5420 @ 3.0GHz (400x7.5) Intel D5400XS Skulltrail
8GB (4x2GB) A-Data DDR2-800 FB-DIMM ECC (1:1 @ 400MHz)
MSI Radeon HD4870 1GB Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
2x WD VelociRaptor 150GB (RAID 0) + 2x WD Caviar Black 500GB
2x EK Supreme HF CPU EK S-MAX NB EK VGA Supreme GPU Blastflow Tidal SB
Thermochill PA120.3 Swiftech MCRes-Micro Laing D5 w/ Bitspower Top

-----------------------------------------------------------------
Heatware http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=34593
Sneaky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-18-05, 02:38 AM   #11
shard
Member

 
shard's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: You Should Make a Wish!

 
also Nvidia just anounced a big price cut on all 6xxx series of vidcards, so maybe wait a bit, and that 6800gt will definatly in your price range

__________________
Intel i5 2500k @ 4.6ghz
X-Mystique DDL Surround Soundcard 7.1
Harman Kardon AVR 135 | JBL E30 Pair | BIC F3 Center | Dayton Reference 12" 4cu ft box
Gigabyte Z77-D3H
G. Skill DD3 1600 8gb
EVGA 670 GTX | Asus VE248H 24" Widescreen LCD
Corsair 750TX 750w PSU
shard is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-18-05, 02:48 AM Thread Starter   #12
timtooAMD
Member

 
timtooAMD's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005

 
you think so, how long do you recon for them to come down, i was looking at this http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=83354 as a possibility, what do you think?
timtooAMD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-18-05, 02:50 AM   #13
SNieX
Member

 
SNieX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada- Brampton

 
how desperate do u want it
....go with wat ur gut tells u....
SNieX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-18-05, 02:53 AM   #14
SNieX
Member

 
SNieX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada- Brampton

 
ohh wait a minute ur CPu might become a bottle neck for the VID card.....
SNieX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-05, 04:41 AM Thread Starter   #15
timtooAMD
Member

 
timtooAMD's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005

 
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, ile guess ile have to look at minimum requirements before i get it, ive not o/c a vid card before, but i suppose, as most people say, doing it a little bit doesn;t seem to be as dangerous as other equipment.

and being a student, just found out i got into uni yesterday (yay) means im gonner be skint whilst im there, so gonner see if i can get enought money to get good card that would last a while, my FX5600 works on pritty much everything at moment, but only just scrapes bf2 so i guess ile need something to keep me going

my FX5600 i got when i built my computer, so around 2/ish years ago, (card might have been around alot before then, i dunno)

and i guess no new games would be so high as to 6600gt, or 68 to be minimum requirements just yet, never had the pleasure of running things on high in anygame yet really except doom 3
timtooAMD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-05, 05:47 AM Thread Starter   #16
timtooAMD
Member

 
timtooAMD's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005

 
bump
timtooAMD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-05, 12:11 PM   #17
SpaceyWilly
Member

 
SpaceyWilly's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sturbridge, MA

 
I'm a student too and you really can't beat the 6800le for $125. I unlocked it to 12x1, 6vp and it runs BF2 fine at 1280x1024 and a mix of medium and high settings. It looks fantastic and runs great too.

__________________
My Comp:

Athlon XP Barton 2500+ ------------Asus A7V8X
1024mb HyperX PC2700 RAM------Chieftec BLUE Dragon Series Case
5 BLUE Neon LED Fans--------------Leadtek 6800le unlocked to 12x1, 6vp
AverTV TV Tuner--------------------Logitech Z5300s
17" Dell 1704FPT--------------------Microsoft BLUE Optical Mouse
Creative SoundBlaster Audigy 2 Platinum
Gateway FPD2185W 21" Widescreen monitor
Laptop: Dell 600m, Pentium M 1.60ghz, 512mb ddr, Radeon Mobility 9000, DVD/CD-RW Combo

Last edited by SpaceyWilly; 08-26-05 at 04:25 PM.
SpaceyWilly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-05, 01:05 PM   #18
shard
Member

 
shard's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: You Should Make a Wish!

 
that 6800LE will do great for you, dont worry about the CPU, it will have plenty of bandwidth to carry this card far, and worse case senario, you upgrade to A64 soon

__________________
Intel i5 2500k @ 4.6ghz
X-Mystique DDL Surround Soundcard 7.1
Harman Kardon AVR 135 | JBL E30 Pair | BIC F3 Center | Dayton Reference 12" 4cu ft box
Gigabyte Z77-D3H
G. Skill DD3 1600 8gb
EVGA 670 GTX | Asus VE248H 24" Widescreen LCD
Corsair 750TX 750w PSU
shard is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-05, 03:16 PM   #19
brakezone
Member

 
brakezone's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004

 
Lol I think a geforce 6800le is many times the power of a geforce 5600
brakezone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-05, 04:20 PM   #20
shard
Member

 
shard's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: You Should Make a Wish!

 
many many times the power
trust me when i say any 6800 is awsome, i went from 5200FX to 6800Ultra, i felt the power

__________________
Intel i5 2500k @ 4.6ghz
X-Mystique DDL Surround Soundcard 7.1
Harman Kardon AVR 135 | JBL E30 Pair | BIC F3 Center | Dayton Reference 12" 4cu ft box
Gigabyte Z77-D3H
G. Skill DD3 1600 8gb
EVGA 670 GTX | Asus VE248H 24" Widescreen LCD
Corsair 750TX 750w PSU
shard is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?