• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

"Newcastle" AMD64 3000+ OC'ing Help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

EdwardTobia

Hi guys and gals,

Im new to oc'ing CPUs and need big help on doing so.
i know the only way to overclock an AMD64 is to raise the FSB right? but for some reason i cant find my FSB in the bios :bang head is there any software way to change the fsb?

heres some info pics on my system:
CPUZ INFO 1
CPUZ INFO 2
CPUZ INFO 3

I've had the exact same CPU as you did, another way to OC this is by using Clockgen..it is avaliable at www.cpuid.com, go find your motherboard and download the correct chipset, you can start from there. My old NC can hit 2.45ghz on stock coolin, goodluck on yours.

Doesnt seem like they have the model of my mobo or chipset

i have an MSI MS-7010 Mobo and a VIA K8T800 (VT8383) Chipset and it doesnt seem to be on the list, any other ways?

EdwardTobia said:
Doesnt seem like they have the model of my mobo or chipset

i have an MSI MS-7010 Mobo and a VIA K8T800 (VT8383) Chipset and it doesnt seem to be on the list, any other ways?

you might have no luck trying to oc an a64 with VIA chipsets...so I'm not sure if there is a option to raise the FSB or not in your bios..but it SHOULD have an option where you can play around with your FSB...I have no time to read the manual on that but good luck..usually people get NF/23/4 for overclocking.

ok thanks for your help CordialSpam :)

Anyone else have any other thoughts or ways that i could OC my system? please post if you do :)

*EDIT* nvm i downloaded the K8 series of clockgen and it seems to work! :D thanks again cordialspam :D

Last edited:
I have the 3200+ NewCastle and I'll say its one fine little CPU. On a small bong setup I have 38C load temps and 29C idle.