Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

5% over clocking lockup?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-24-05, 01:28 PM Thread Starter   #1
[WCC]ROAD-KILL!
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Point OR USA

 
5% over clocking lockup?


When I first got my system together I could adjust it to where ever I wated with little or no problems. I found 5% to be where I left it. Now if I try to even do a 5% it will not load it keeps looping the load screen. If I try to change it to 5% in windows with the Asus Ai booster it locks the whole system and I'm forced to reboot and go back into the bios and reset back to standard with no OC. Anybody have any ideas?
[WCC]ROAD-KILL! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-05, 02:11 PM   #2
Yuriman
Member

 
Yuriman's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The OCFORUMS

 
Is it completly prime/memtest stable at stock? How warm is it?
Yuriman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-05, 02:16 PM   #3
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Make sure the AGP/PCI is locked to 66/33. Check load temps at default speed.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-05, 03:08 PM Thread Starter   #4
[WCC]ROAD-KILL!
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Point OR USA

 
How would I be able to see the startup temps before they go back down? AT idle the temp seesm to be around 50c and around 70c under prime. I'm not sure how to check the "AGP/PCI is locked to 66/33" . I would guess it's in my Bios I will check that latter. Thanks for the sugestions.
[WCC]ROAD-KILL! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-05, 03:10 PM   #5
g0dM@n

Inactive Moderator

 
g0dM@n's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: 20mi W of NYCity, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Doesn't a 5% overclock also overclock your ram? Maybe your ram can't handle 210fsb... that's where I'd put my money. Loosen your ram timings and/or raise the vcore a tad bit to rule some things out. And as batboy said, lock the AGP PCI frequency.

__________________
ASUS Crosshair V *Water* | FX-8320 Enzotech Sapphire CPU block | 8GB Mushkin 2133 | 6970 2GB | 256GB SSD | SB X-Fi Elite Pro | Corsair 520W Modular | 3x 26" Asus VW266H Eyefinity 5760x1200 | DDC pump with petra top @ 18w, Thermochill HE 120.3 w/ 3x120x38mm Deltas 152cfm on controller |
Xbox 360 Gamertag: g0dMAn114
Top 5 Heatware
**IHS Removal Tutorial**HotFlashing Tutorial**DFI NF4 UTT Problems**Funny-ChuckNorrisFacts**Custom RAM Cooler**
nightelph: I wanted to play so bad last night but I was OC'ing my video card.
g0dM@n is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-05, 03:19 PM   #6
Showstoppermd
Member

 
Showstoppermd's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: hawaii

 
If you are using the ai for overclocking then yes it is probably memory settings. Change the memory divider. If i remember correctly its not listed as a ratio but rather 400, 300 or something like that.

__________________
Rig 1 :generic case with modified exos wc
2.4c@3.4 on asus p4c800
2*512 muskin lvl II 3500 using 3:2 divider
radeon 9800 pro < stock timings:\
vcore 1.6v, vdimm 1.7

Rig 2:
4400+ toledo 2.6(260*10)
asus a8n-sli premium
2x1gb crucial ballistix tracer pc4000
antec p-180
2 xfx 7800gtx sli
ocz powerstream 600
Showstoppermd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-05, 03:33 PM   #7
g0dM@n

Inactive Moderator

 
g0dM@n's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: 20mi W of NYCity, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Correctomundo. Or do overclocking manually.

__________________
ASUS Crosshair V *Water* | FX-8320 Enzotech Sapphire CPU block | 8GB Mushkin 2133 | 6970 2GB | 256GB SSD | SB X-Fi Elite Pro | Corsair 520W Modular | 3x 26" Asus VW266H Eyefinity 5760x1200 | DDC pump with petra top @ 18w, Thermochill HE 120.3 w/ 3x120x38mm Deltas 152cfm on controller |
Xbox 360 Gamertag: g0dMAn114
Top 5 Heatware
**IHS Removal Tutorial**HotFlashing Tutorial**DFI NF4 UTT Problems**Funny-ChuckNorrisFacts**Custom RAM Cooler**
nightelph: I wanted to play so bad last night but I was OC'ing my video card.
g0dM@n is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-05, 03:34 PM Thread Starter   #8
[WCC]ROAD-KILL!
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Point OR USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by batboy
Make sure the AGP/PCI is locked to 66/33. Check load temps at default speed.

Ok I checked the AGP/PCI. It was set to auto. I locked ita 66/33 like you said but no change. Thanks for the shot ata it batboy
[WCC]ROAD-KILL! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-05, 03:35 PM   #9
Showstoppermd
Member

 
Showstoppermd's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: hawaii

 
Found how the ratios will be displayed.
1:1 = 400
5:4 = 320
3:2 = 266

__________________
Rig 1 :generic case with modified exos wc
2.4c@3.4 on asus p4c800
2*512 muskin lvl II 3500 using 3:2 divider
radeon 9800 pro < stock timings:\
vcore 1.6v, vdimm 1.7

Rig 2:
4400+ toledo 2.6(260*10)
asus a8n-sli premium
2x1gb crucial ballistix tracer pc4000
antec p-180
2 xfx 7800gtx sli
ocz powerstream 600
Showstoppermd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-05, 03:36 PM   #10
g0dM@n

Inactive Moderator

 
g0dM@n's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: 20mi W of NYCity, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Try the other recommendations as well. When you OC you MUST MUST MUST MUST test the RAM and the CPU separately. One's performance may fool the other's.

__________________
ASUS Crosshair V *Water* | FX-8320 Enzotech Sapphire CPU block | 8GB Mushkin 2133 | 6970 2GB | 256GB SSD | SB X-Fi Elite Pro | Corsair 520W Modular | 3x 26" Asus VW266H Eyefinity 5760x1200 | DDC pump with petra top @ 18w, Thermochill HE 120.3 w/ 3x120x38mm Deltas 152cfm on controller |
Xbox 360 Gamertag: g0dMAn114
Top 5 Heatware
**IHS Removal Tutorial**HotFlashing Tutorial**DFI NF4 UTT Problems**Funny-ChuckNorrisFacts**Custom RAM Cooler**
nightelph: I wanted to play so bad last night but I was OC'ing my video card.
g0dM@n is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-05, 03:54 PM Thread Starter   #11
[WCC]ROAD-KILL!
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Point OR USA

 
I'm showing my

memory at 2.65v
AGP at 1.60v
FBS at 801.82
HT at 1-1
MHZ at 3006.84
CPU core at 1.39
CPU Multiplier 15.0x

Does any of this help?
[WCC]ROAD-KILL! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-05, 03:56 PM Thread Starter   #12
[WCC]ROAD-KILL!
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Point OR USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Showstoppermd
Found how the ratios will be displayed.
1:1 = 400
5:4 = 320
3:2 = 266

Ok I see what you have there. What should I have?
[WCC]ROAD-KILL! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-05, 04:04 PM   #13
g0dM@n

Inactive Moderator

 
g0dM@n's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: 20mi W of NYCity, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Try the 5:4 and see if it makes a difference first. Then you can work your way around from there. If it works with the divider, then that means that your ram was causing the stability issues.

__________________
ASUS Crosshair V *Water* | FX-8320 Enzotech Sapphire CPU block | 8GB Mushkin 2133 | 6970 2GB | 256GB SSD | SB X-Fi Elite Pro | Corsair 520W Modular | 3x 26" Asus VW266H Eyefinity 5760x1200 | DDC pump with petra top @ 18w, Thermochill HE 120.3 w/ 3x120x38mm Deltas 152cfm on controller |
Xbox 360 Gamertag: g0dMAn114
Top 5 Heatware
**IHS Removal Tutorial**HotFlashing Tutorial**DFI NF4 UTT Problems**Funny-ChuckNorrisFacts**Custom RAM Cooler**
nightelph: I wanted to play so bad last night but I was OC'ing my video card.
g0dM@n is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-05, 04:04 PM Thread Starter   #14
[WCC]ROAD-KILL!
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Point OR USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0dM@n
Try the other recommendations as well. When you OC you MUST MUST MUST MUST test the RAM and the CPU separately. One's performance may fool the other's.


How do I test the ram????
[WCC]ROAD-KILL! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-05, 04:11 PM   #15
g0dM@n

Inactive Moderator

 
g0dM@n's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: 20mi W of NYCity, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Set the divider to 5:4, and then do your 5% overclock and see if you still have the same problem. Like I said, if you have no problems with 5% overclock with the 5:4 divider, then the problem initially was with your ram; if you don't get any improvements after using the divider, then that means the problem initially was with your CPU (and maybe RAM also).

__________________
ASUS Crosshair V *Water* | FX-8320 Enzotech Sapphire CPU block | 8GB Mushkin 2133 | 6970 2GB | 256GB SSD | SB X-Fi Elite Pro | Corsair 520W Modular | 3x 26" Asus VW266H Eyefinity 5760x1200 | DDC pump with petra top @ 18w, Thermochill HE 120.3 w/ 3x120x38mm Deltas 152cfm on controller |
Xbox 360 Gamertag: g0dMAn114
Top 5 Heatware
**IHS Removal Tutorial**HotFlashing Tutorial**DFI NF4 UTT Problems**Funny-ChuckNorrisFacts**Custom RAM Cooler**
nightelph: I wanted to play so bad last night but I was OC'ing my video card.
g0dM@n is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-05, 07:45 PM Thread Starter   #16
[WCC]ROAD-KILL!
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Point OR USA

 
Oh crap! Bad news for the rookie I just lost about three months of stuff on my computer . Don't ask me how cause I can tell ya but it didn't like somthing I did. Oh man that sucks any ideas on how to retrieve my old setup? It dosen even see my d drive anymore. LOL I guess thats what I get for fixing somthing that wasn't broken.
[WCC]ROAD-KILL! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-05, 08:02 PM   #17
g0dM@n

Inactive Moderator

 
g0dM@n's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: 20mi W of NYCity, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Hook that hard drive up to a working computer, and you should be fine.

If for any reason your partitions disappeared then you could use a program called "GET BACK DATA." If you can't find it, then I'll help you when I get back from my trip on Saturday... on my way out right now. Cya.

__________________
ASUS Crosshair V *Water* | FX-8320 Enzotech Sapphire CPU block | 8GB Mushkin 2133 | 6970 2GB | 256GB SSD | SB X-Fi Elite Pro | Corsair 520W Modular | 3x 26" Asus VW266H Eyefinity 5760x1200 | DDC pump with petra top @ 18w, Thermochill HE 120.3 w/ 3x120x38mm Deltas 152cfm on controller |
Xbox 360 Gamertag: g0dMAn114
Top 5 Heatware
**IHS Removal Tutorial**HotFlashing Tutorial**DFI NF4 UTT Problems**Funny-ChuckNorrisFacts**Custom RAM Cooler**
nightelph: I wanted to play so bad last night but I was OC'ing my video card.
g0dM@n is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-05, 10:27 PM   #18
1cem4n
Member

 
1cem4n's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: FusoFuso

 
Did you try going back to default settings?

-1cem4n

__________________
HP dv2700t
Bluetooth
Webcam
12-cell battery
Fingerprint Reader
1cem4n is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-05, 10:02 AM Thread Starter   #19
[WCC]ROAD-KILL!
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Point OR USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0dM@n
Hook that hard drive up to a working computer, and you should be fine.

If for any reason your partitions disappeared then you could use a program called "GET BACK DATA." If you can't find it, then I'll help you when I get back from my trip on Saturday... on my way out right now. Cya.


I hope we all will lower our heads for a moment of silence for my 250gig HD. IT's DOA and less then a year old . This will teach me one thing and that is... backup backup backup! Yep I lost it all like a WW2 plane going down in flames. A shop is trying to recover what they can .
[WCC]ROAD-KILL! is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?