Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Upgrading an Athlon xp 2100+ and a Duron 1Ghz

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-13-05, 12:36 PM Thread Starter   #1
freakystyley
New Member



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
Upgrading an Athlon xp 2100+ and a Duron 1Ghz


I have a Palomino Athlon XP 2100+ that I want to swap for a 3200+ and then use the 2100+ in place of my Duron 1 Ghz. is there enough performance boost to merit the $150 investment?
I have not had much luck with OC'ing these systems, only a few mhz on the fsb before trouble happens.

I really do not want to upgrade with new boards, etc - and have pc3200 and pc2700 ram ready to go in each respectively.
THANKS!!
freakystyley is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-13-05, 12:45 PM   #2
Quailane
Member

 
Quailane's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Who stole my white stars?

 
If you want, buy a mobile barton athlon XP. It doesn't matter which one you get. You can change the multiplier and will overclock better than the 3200+ for half the money. Then put the 2100+ in the rig with the duron.

__________________
I DRIVE A HYUNDAI AND I'M PROUD OF IT!
Quailane is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-13-05, 01:30 PM Thread Starter   #3
freakystyley
New Member



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
do the mobiles use the same cooling fans and thermal tape as the "desktop" cpu's?
is there a way to know a fake mobile from a real chip? I found this... http://cgi.ebay.com/AMD-Mobile-Athlo...QQcmdZViewItem or this http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-AMD-Mobile-A...QQcmdZViewItem
freakystyley is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-05, 01:12 PM   #4
FlailBoy
Member

 
FlailBoy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Not at the Fest...

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quailane
If you want, buy a mobile barton athlon XP.
Agreed. If you're not going to upgrade the mobo, this is a good choice. What's the mobo the Palomino is in right now?

Ebay is always a crap shoot.

XP-M

4 bucks more and you'll know you're getting a new CPU.

And yes, mobiles can use the same cooling as the desktop versions.

I don't even know where to *begin* telling you what's wrong with 'thermal tape'...

__________________
Phenom II X4 965 BE C-3, 207*19.5~4036@1.40v, CM EVO, Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3(F6), CPU NB VID@1.25v, G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1600 2x8GB, 9,9,9,24,1T@1.55v, 1GB EVGA Geforce GTX560Ti, SB Audigy 2 ZS, 1x1TB & 1x250GB WD caviar blue 7200RPM, Rosewill CAPSTONE 550W, Rosewill Blackhawk mid-tower, Win7Pro 64bit, SP1
-EPOX 8kra2+, XP-M 2600+, IQYHA 0447-226*10.5~2373@1.75v (retired)
-EPOX 8k9a2+, AMD 2100+, AIUHB 0302-188*12~2264@1.675v (out to pasture)

Heat
You should see if you can launch yourself across a lake. -drenader

Last edited by FlailBoy; 09-14-05 at 02:25 PM.
FlailBoy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-05, 01:38 PM   #5
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Stay away from eBay mobiles, go with newegg.com instead.

By the way, they use the same cooling as desktop CPUs.

Expect a 700 MHz jump or more with decent cooling from your Palomino, a significant improvement you can really 'feel.'
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-05, 06:38 PM Thread Starter   #6
freakystyley
New Member



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
thanks for the help - got my order shipped from newegg, as5 paste, xp-m 2600+, and a 1gig kit from ocz gold 2-2-2-5 cas 2. should get me started. the board is a mach speed viper V881DAS http://www.machspeed.com/v_v881das.htm (with a "magic" setting allowing easy oc stepping) I got locally pretty cheap, the other one is an ecs k7s5a? ver 1 or something like that. never had much luck with anything other than best settings in the bios. on another note, i used the term thermal tape incorrectly instead of Phase Change Material (PCM). my bad.
freakystyley is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-05, 07:44 PM   #7
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
I know you specifically said you didn't want to replace your board but others reading this, the 2500+ Socket 754 Sempron is here and it's only $59:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubmit=Property

There are some good 754 mobos out there for cheap, if you don't want to get the DFI Lanparty 250GB UT, there are some cheap decent overclockers for $58 like VNF3-250 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...T=Motherboards

DFI Lanparty 250GB is $99 but today they have a used refurb DFI Lanparty 250GB for only $54:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...&Go.x=0&Go.y=0


These should outperform Athlon XPs even when XPs run at higher MHz frequency plus with revision E6 they are now AMD64 enabled just like Athlon 64s.

EDIT:
The 7x multiplier 2500+ has may be a bit of a problem on some mobos.
Quote:
Originally Posted by electrorcamd
It is a problem. Most of the nforce3 motherboards seem to only go a little past 300 htt. That would only give you 2100MHz, and the cpu should be able to do more being a slightly disabled Venice.

Also, the models below the 3000+ do not have Cool n Quiet. IIRC, there are some motherboards that require Cool n Quiet to change the vcore, so overclocking may be limited on those boards.
The 2600+ and the 3000+ both have only 128KB L2 cache, but that usually does not noticeably affect performance.

Last edited by c627627; 09-14-05 at 11:00 PM.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?