Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

so im JUST about to place my order for all my new comp parts when..

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-14-05, 03:19 AM Thread Starter   #1
EaH
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
so im JUST about to place my order for all my new comp parts when..


i come across a whole new door. i shouldnt have did that search for crossfire, and read that its coming out soon blah blah blah lotta people on ocf.com are gonna try it out for its stability.... and how its an alternative to the SLi technology. i could possibly, instead of buying a 6600gt now and MAYBE one later, buy two x700 pros for the same price as one 6600gt(give or take 10-20 bux)
im very finicky when it comes to big purchases, such as a whole new rig. would it be worth it to wait a bit and see how crossfire does? and what companies offer in terms of mobo capabilites and especially the PRICE.
originally, i was either going with the abit an8-sli (b/c its 100 bux AR now heheh) or bite the bullet and spend an extra 30 bux on the dfi nf4 ultra-d(which i realistically wont use 50% of the features probably :P)
however, i am set on some other things, that i wont see changing in the future.. such as fortron blueStorm 500w, 1 gig patriot ram, p180. amd 64 3200+

oh yeah, from what we all know.. would my choice in CPU be good for the crossfire boards? im not sure if there is much info that would allow us to base claims on, but.. opinions?


thanks in advance!``
;]
EaH is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-05, 03:24 AM Thread Starter   #2
EaH
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
well, taking a look at more reviews and benchmarks for the 128mb x700 pro. i think i MIGHTl pass on it. but crossfire boards are something of interest to me lol

oops sorry, can a mod move this to the mobo section pls? :[

Last edited by EaH; 09-14-05 at 03:48 AM.
EaH is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-05, 12:02 PM   #3
Quest For Speed
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NJ

 
I would wait and see how well the crossfire boards perform.
For the processor you can save a few bucks and get the 3000. The OC in most cases as good as the 3200.

__________________
Rig 1:Asus P5B Deluxe E6600 Core 2 3.6Ghz@400 fsb
2 gig Gskill DDR2-1000@1200(2:3)5-5-4-5
WATER COOLED:White Water & Swifty MCW50 block
2x74Gig Raptors RAID 1 ATI X850XT PE 660/650
Pro Power & Cooling 510
Quest For Speed is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-05, 01:05 PM   #4
Yuriman
Member

 
Yuriman's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The OCFORUMS

 
Get a 3000+, and 2x 1024mb of ram. Patriot makes some pretty good, cheap CAS2 sticks, or you can go with Corsair value.

Where can you get 2 X700pro's for the price of a 6600gt? As far as I know, you can get an X800xl for the price of 2 X700pro's and it will match or beat them.
Yuriman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-05, 02:47 PM Thread Starter   #5
EaH
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
tigerdirect has them for bout 80bux. although i never hear anything good about TD.. mainly because of their rebates. but the x700 pro doesnt have rebates.

eWiz has the amd 64 3200+ oem for $133. im 98% sure its the venice core (e6 revision)
cheaper than what newegg sells its 3000 for ;]

and someone told me that the jump from 1 gig to 2 is marginal. and its not worth the price for the added performance.. is that true?
EaH is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-05, 03:57 PM   #6
IWasHungry
Member

 
IWasHungry's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Seattle, WA

 
lol, I don't think you understand how Crossfire works. So I will tell you the secrets.

-Instead of requiring 2 identical cards like SLI, Crossfire will require a normal video card and a master card. These master cards haven't been released yet.
-Crossfire will not work for the X700 series. The only current cards that it will work with are the X800 and the X850 series.

I'm guessing it will be another month before the X800 master card and the X850 master card will release.
IWasHungry is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-05, 04:16 PM   #7
thegreek
Member

 
thegreek's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Philadelphia

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by IWasHungry
lol, I don't think you understand how Crossfire works. So I will tell you the secrets.

-Instead of requiring 2 identical cards like SLI, Crossfire will require a normal video card and a master card. These master cards haven't been released yet.
-Crossfire will not work for the X700 series. The only current cards that it will work with are the X800 and the X850 series.

I'm guessing it will be another month before the X800 master card and the X850 master card will release.
You have a source for this?

__________________
I always tell the truth even when I lie. - scarface
I know it sounds like I'm in denial, but I'm not. - unknown
thegreek is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-05, 04:19 PM   #8
Pro*Banshee
Member

 
Pro*Banshee's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Pittsburgh Pennsylvania

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EaH
tigerdirect has them for bout 80bux. although i never hear anything good about TD.. mainly because of their rebates. but the x700 pro doesnt have rebates.

eWiz has the amd 64 3200+ oem for $133. im 98% sure its the venice core (e6 revision)
cheaper than what newegg sells its 3000 for ;]

and someone told me that the jump from 1 gig to 2 is marginal. and its not worth the price for the added performance.. is that true?

If you think 1 GB is enough, when you get your crossfire/SLI rig up and running, try playing battlefield 2 at 1024x768 on a 64 player system and see if you dont smash your keyboard in frustration as your systems swap file rushes to catch up and make up for the lack of ram.

I wish I was running 2 GB

__________________
Athlon 64 3200+Venice 200*10
1024 MB Samsung 1:1 | 2.5-4-4-7
DFI nF4 SLI Infinity | Geforce 7950 GT 512MB

Build your Evaporative cooler (With additives list!)
Pro*Banshee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-05, 04:25 PM   #9
waiownsyou
Disabled

 
waiownsyou's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Houston, TX

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by IWasHungry
lol, I don't think you understand how Crossfire works. So I will tell you the secrets.

-Instead of requiring 2 identical cards like SLI, Crossfire will require a normal video card and a master card. These master cards haven't been released yet.
-Crossfire will not work for the X700 series. The only current cards that it will work with are the X800 and the X850 series.

I'm guessing it will be another month before the X800 master card and the X850 master card will release.
He's right. I read this in MaximumPC a few months back. Apparently, you need a standard card and a Crossfire-certified card.

Also, I'd suggest you just go for the SLi technology now. ATi might take until the end of this year, and even then, NVIDIA may have a counter video card to match up to the threat.

And, not to mention, but as of yet, Crossfire is not supported in any commercial motherboard manufacturered. People are saying that the Intel 955X may be a Crossfire board, but even so, it will still require a software upgrade (but there's also a possibility that it's just a motherboard with dual PCIE x16).

I'd definitely go for NVIDIA.
waiownsyou is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-05, 04:33 PM   #10
thegreek
Member

 
thegreek's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Philadelphia

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by waiownsyou
He's right. I read this in MaximumPC a few months back. Apparently, you need a standard card and a Crossfire-certified card.

Also, I'd suggest you just go for the SLi technology now. ATi might take until the end of this year, and even then, NVIDIA may have a counter video card to match up to the threat.

And, not to mention, but as of yet, Crossfire is not supported in any commercial motherboard manufacturered. People are saying that the Intel 955X may be a Crossfire board, but even so, it will still require a software upgrade (but there's also a possibility that it's just a motherboard with dual PCIE x16).

I'd definitely go for NVIDIA.
Intels 975X Chipset will support both SLI and Crossfire (link)

__________________
I always tell the truth even when I lie. - scarface
I know it sounds like I'm in denial, but I'm not. - unknown
thegreek is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-05, 04:56 PM   #11
IWasHungry
Member

 
IWasHungry's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Seattle, WA

 
IWasHungry is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-05, 11:44 PM   #12
waiownsyou
Disabled

 
waiownsyou's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Houston, TX

 
I'm pretty sure they said the 955X could do the same. Go do a search at Yahoo! (I'm too lazy to do so myself).
waiownsyou is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-05, 11:46 PM   #13
Quailane
Member

 
Quailane's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Who stole my white stars?

 
It is not like it would take much extra to support SLI or crossfire as long as two big pci-e slots are available.

__________________
I DRIVE A HYUNDAI AND I'M PROUD OF IT!
Quailane is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-05, 11:50 PM   #14
waiownsyou
Disabled

 
waiownsyou's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Houston, TX

 
It's not support for both. It's either one or the other... usually because of the MCP.
waiownsyou is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-15-05, 04:36 AM Thread Starter   #15
EaH
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
thanks for all the feedback ;]
i looked up the total cost of a Xfire setup.. it looks more expensive than the SLI. and the technology is new as well. i think im too newb to last through the troubleshooting and bios updates for the Xfire boards hahah

another thing dawned to me when considering SLI again. should i jsut get an SLI board for future proofing sake? get an SLI compatible board now, buy ONE 6600gt now and then when the more graphic intense games come out, pick up another 6600gt for (hopefully) 100bux or less in half a year or so? if they dont discontinue them that is.
my main thought is wheter there would be a vid card that can out perform the 6600gt SLI for cheaper than what i buy two 6600gt's for for in the future when i upgrade. the fact of the matter is that i am gonna get a 6600gt, and if i dont go SLI, my only option for upgrading is to buy a new vid card entirely. not sure if vid cards have any market for selling used though.

what are your thoughts? :]

Last edited by EaH; 09-15-05 at 04:53 AM.
EaH is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-15-05, 07:07 AM   #16
CarRamrod
Member



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
I wouldnt suggest getting a 6600gt in hopes to future proof a machine more. I would suggest going for a 6800gt. Chances are it will be a better performer for longer than the 6600gt.
CarRamrod is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-15-05, 07:09 AM   #17
Yuriman
Member

 
Yuriman's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The OCFORUMS

 
If you can afford a 6800gt right now, its a better choice than getting 2x 6600gt's. You could afford one by moving down to a non-sli motherboard.
Yuriman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-15-05, 07:46 AM   #18
Sentential
Contributing Member

 
Sentential's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Midland, Texas

 
As much as I like AMD for its peformance and price, I am not really sure thats the path you want to be taking at this moment. DDR1 prices are sky high and it would severly limit your budget unless you decide to buy inferior RAM.

The advantage of LGA775 is the use of very cheap and fast DDR2. It would reduce the cost of 2GB from possibly $300 to $200-150. Just a few things to consider. Sadly 2GB is the first of many new *standards*. According to devs creating Windows Vista, running true 64bit mode will require directally 2X the RAM needed in 32 bit mode. In other words, while running 64bit 2GB will feel like 1GB (etc etc).

With games like BF2 pretty much requiring 2GB of RAM for operation, you are looking at a possible 4GB standard in less than two year's time. The only way to hit that mark will be with DDR2.

I'd also like to add that Socket M2 is schduled for release shortly before Vista's arrival. Just a few things to think about for you

In addition, try to keep a lookout for a refurbished / cheaper X800PRO. I have been exceptionally happy with mine and I think you would as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by waiownsyou
I'm pretty sure they said the 955X could do the same. Go do a search at Yahoo! (I'm too lazy to do so myself).
The only reason why it cannot at this moment in time is due to a lack of driver support. The motherboard itself is quite capable of using videocards in both slots (as I tested). Its a matter of getting them to work together that becomes the problem.

The boards in question that are capable of such are: Intel's 955XBX, Asus's P5LD2 and P5WD2 Premium(s)

Last edited by Sentential; 09-15-05 at 07:52 AM.
Sentential is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-15-05, 08:55 AM   #19
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Well, we should see Socket M2 next summer, which is too far away to wait for, and generally the cost for it will be higher, not forgetting the gamble on revision 1 board bugs that show up with every new chipset.

....and Vista will likely see a December 2006 release date.

Last edited by c627627; 09-15-05 at 02:49 PM.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-15-05, 09:04 AM Thread Starter   #20
EaH
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
i looked into the intel route for a few min and tried to check the prices on the 775 mobos and 640/650 series p4's... and wow. the price of those two alone was near the price of my 75% entire planned setup with an amd lol
heres the break down of my list with prices.

amd 64 3200+ 2.0ghz venice core $134
DFI nf4 ultra-D for $129 or EPoX EP-9NPA+Ultra $95
2x512 Patriot xblk ram $160
fortron blue storm 500w $80
antec p180 $119
xp-90 $30
6600gt $122 or a refurb 6800gt $250 :[

damnit the 6800gt is soo much more $$$ haha if i plan to get the epox, i will consider getting an ATi card cause no more possible SLI. from the looks of it, i think i got myself a pretty well budgeted mid-performance machine :] what u guys think? hahah
EaH is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?