Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Which PSU...?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-18-05, 08:39 AM Thread Starter   #1
millard
Registered

 
millard's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Essex

 
Which PSU...?


Hello all!

I have been building a 64 bit SLI P.C and have found myself stuck on the following question... "Which PSU do I get?!"

The specs of the P.C are:

Asus A8N-SLI MoBo
AMD 3800+ (2.4GHZ) CPU
2GB (4 x 512MB 400MHZ) Corsair RAM
x2 IDE HDD's (120GB each)
x2 SATA HDD's (120GB each)
nVidia 7800 GTX GPU
CD-RW Drive
DVD-RW Drive
Floppy Drive

It will also ave a water cooling system - I have not decided on a specific system yet but it won't be an expensive one!

Nothing will be overclocked at first but will also need enough power to handle overclocking at a later date.

ANY ideas you guys have would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks, Steve Millard
millard is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-18-05, 09:23 AM   #2
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Nice setup, but why all the HDs and Dimms? I'd probably favor 2x300GB Sata drives and if you really need 2GBs of memory then I'd look into 2x1GB dimms.

Neway to answer your question about PSUs you can look at this PC P&C unit:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817703001

You can probably find a better pricetag if you look around, but that's the class of unit you should be looking into if you intend to run two of those vid cards in SLI.

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-18-05, 09:29 AM Thread Starter   #3
millard
Registered

 
millard's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Essex

 
I have a certain way that I ALWAYS set up my P.C's - i.e: I always install the OS twice (on 2 seperate drives) in case something goes wrong with the first etc. - after carefull planning I decided on the HDD's specified...

As for the RAM - I have been told that 512mb chips are more stable than the 1gb's?

I haven't got ALL components yet, they are going to be order next month (pay day! so I can always change the components around.

I'll put a post in the memory section about 1gb chips.

Thanks TimoneX!
millard is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-18-05, 09:41 AM Thread Starter   #4
millard
Registered

 
millard's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Essex

 
I forgot to ask...

The link given in TimoneX's post shows that the PSu is an american model (the plug is a dead give away!)... I'm in England? I have searched google but NOTHING is found whern I search U.K pages.

If I were to go with this PSU, would I be able to use it over here???
millard is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-18-05, 10:26 AM   #5
darksparkz
Member

 
darksparkz's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL

 
I'd say 2x1GB performs better then 4x512MB. The 2x1GB also allows for a bit of future upgrades.

An OCZ PowerStream 520W is also fine for your system. It'll also be stable and as reliable as the PCP&C ones, but maybe just a little bit under. It'll still work great for OCing and many and many people have them and it's never failed.

__________________
Antec P182 w/ 3 Yate Loon D1SL-12
Intel DG965WH Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
G.Skill 4x2GB DDR2 PC6400 4-4-4-12
WD Raptor WD1500ADFD 150GB
OCZ Vertex2 60GB SSD
eVGA 8800GTS 512MB
Asus DRW-24B1ST
Corsair HX520
Scythe Ninja w/Panaflo 120mmx38mm FBA12G12M

[Heatware] <---Or rather lack of heatware
darksparkz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-05, 10:18 AM   #6
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
The OCZ power stream is a very nice unit and is oft compared to the Blue Storm. Without re-hashing old debates I just prefer the FSP unit because it can be had cheaper, but both are excellent units IMO. The FSP unit has a voltage switch for global applications, and I can't recall for certain if the OCZ unit does, but I'd be very surprised if this simple feature was overlooked.

So you install your OS to both drives? You don't mean Raid 1 mirroring but you actually install it 2x? That's very unusual. I just set everything up, get all the updates, install the MUST HAVE programs then create a ghost image of each system. If disaster strikes it usually takes no more than 20mins to get any system right back to the way it looked on day 1. To each his own I guess.

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-05, 10:35 AM   #7
Oklahoma Wolf
Senior Warranty Validity Sealed Stick Remover

 
Oklahoma Wolf's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Saskatchewan

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by millard
64 bit SLI P.C
Fortron/Sparkle FSP550-60PLG, OCZ PS520 (avoid the 600), PC P&C 510, Etasis EPAP-560, Zippy HP2-6500P 500w or PSL-6701P 700w.

The Etasis can only be found at a place like www.powersupplypartner.com (who also carries Zippy), however the rest can be found at Newegg. eWiz carries the Fortrons much cheaper than Newegg does.

The Zippy 700w is the strongest I have been recommending for SLI - it has a single 45A 12v rail. However, it's not really necessary to have that much power just yet.

__________________
Asus P8Z68 Pro-V Gen3
2500K w/ Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws
Inwin GRone, Corsair AX860i
MSI 280X, Asus 270 2GB
250GB Samsung 840 Evo, 640GB WD Black, 2TB Samsung F4, 3TB Seagate 7200.14
Lite-On iHAS324, LG BH14NS40

Oklahoma Wolf is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-05, 11:34 AM   #8
Burner27
Member



Join Date: Aug 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by darksparkz
I'd say 2x1GB performs better then 4x512MB.

You have numbers to back up this claim ?
Burner27 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-05, 04:07 PM   #9
Know Nuttin
Senior Member

 
Know Nuttin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burner27
You have numbers to back up this claim ?
they're probably going by the fact that you have to do 2T to have 4 sticks, and can do 1T on 2 sticks (most times).

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE, Asus M5A88-V Evo, 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600 , Coolermaster Hyper212+, OCZ Vertex Plus 60GB, Seagate 7200.11 500GB, Antec EA-380
Lenovo X200, P8400 C2D, 8GB, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.
Know Nuttin is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?