Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Can you "pause" a gentoo installation

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-19-05, 02:23 AM Thread Starter   #1
TheGreySpectre
Member

 
TheGreySpectre's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix, Az

 
Can you "pause" a gentoo installation


I am looking at installing Gentoo linux, but part of the problem is I need to be able to use my computer at random intervals for homework, due to college


Is it possible to pause a gentoo installation, boot up using knoppix or another bootable distro so I can do things like type word documents and the such. then go back and resume my gentoo install or if I install gentoo am I just stuck without a computer for like 3 days

Thanks
TheGreySpectre

__________________
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9300 w 6800go and 1.2 gigs of ram
Desktop: intel i7-3770, 16Gb Ram, Radeon 7970, 18.5 Tb HD space, Dell 3008 WFP 30"
TheGreySpectre is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-19-05, 02:28 AM   #2
TazExtreme3
Member

 
TazExtreme3's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Portage, Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
you can use the alternative installation http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/altinstall.xml

__________________
-Greg-

Asus G73JW: i7 740QM -- 8GB RAM -- OCZ Agility 2 80GB SSD -- 500GB HDD -- Nvidia GeForce GTX 460M
HTPC: Gigabyte H55N-USB3 -- i3 540 -- G.Skill 2x2GB DDR3 1600 Ripjaws -- 500GB Hitachi -- 4TB Western Digital Green -- Sapphire 5770 Vapor X -- Corsair H50 -- SilverStone SUGO SG06
My Heatware
TazExtreme3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-19-05, 03:10 AM   #3
MRD
Senior Member

 
MRD's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CT

10 Year Badge
 
I would do the installation from inside Knoppix, then you have a working computer at all times as gentoo gets built.

If you prefer, you can stop the gentoo install at many points. To continue, put in the cd, chroot, and go on where you left off. However, this may require slightly more understanding of what exactly you're doing.

The gentoo installer cd really has little purpose other than being a linux compatible boot disk. Any linux boot disk that has network support works fine to install gentoo. In fact, my first gentoo install didn't even involve any gentoo media... I used a 1.44 mb fedora boot disk.
MRD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-19-05, 04:00 AM   #4
Gnufsh
Senior Member

 
Gnufsh's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: June Lake, California

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGreySpectre
I am looking at installing Gentoo linux, but part of the problem is I need to be able to use my computer at random intervals for homework, due to college


Is it possible to pause a gentoo installation, boot up using knoppix or another bootable distro so I can do things like type word documents and the such. then go back and resume my gentoo install or if I install gentoo am I just stuck without a computer for like 3 days

Thanks
TheGreySpectre
Well, sort of. You probably shouldn't stop the bootstrap process (it will start over from the beginning). You could stop during emerge system (or any point thereafter) and reboot into windows. To get back to the install you can boot from the CD, mount the partitions and chroot in again. Then, an emerge system will resume starting with the package you canceled (Ctrl+c).

__________________
Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
Forum Policies
Sig Rules

"Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
-Sir Winston Churchill
Gnufsh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-19-05, 09:35 AM Thread Starter   #5
TheGreySpectre
Member

 
TheGreySpectre's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix, Az

 
I think I will try the alt install with knoppix

__________________
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9300 w 6800go and 1.2 gigs of ram
Desktop: intel i7-3770, 16Gb Ram, Radeon 7970, 18.5 Tb HD space, Dell 3008 WFP 30"
TheGreySpectre is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-19-05, 11:01 AM   #6
MRD
Senior Member

 
MRD's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CT

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Well, sort of. You probably shouldn't stop the bootstrap process (it will start over from the beginning). You could stop during emerge system (or any point thereafter) and reboot into windows. To get back to the install you can boot from the CD, mount the partitions and chroot in again. Then, an emerge system will resume starting with the package you canceled (Ctrl+c).
This is not quite true. This is true for most emerges, but emerge system is done with the --emptytree option so as to recompile even those packages that already exist. This means that it will start over from package 1 every time since it doesn't check if dependencies are already installed.
MRD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-19-05, 02:06 PM   #7
Gnufsh
Senior Member

 
Gnufsh's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: June Lake, California

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRD
This is not quite true. This is true for most emerges, but emerge system is done with the --emptytree option so as to recompile even those packages that already exist. This means that it will start over from package 1 every time since it doesn't check if dependencies are already installed.
I don't remember having to do an emerge -e system. In that case, just use emerge --resume.

__________________
Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
Forum Policies
Sig Rules

"Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
-Sir Winston Churchill
Gnufsh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-20-05, 04:03 PM   #8
{PMS}fishy
Senior A64 Killer

 
{PMS}fishy's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Boston, MA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gnufsh
I don't remember having to do an emerge -e system. In that case, just use emerge --resume.
Its new.

I just noticed it myself today when doing a new install on my T43.

__________________
Pick 2: Speed -- Reliability -- Cost

Trouble Shooting 101:
1. RTFM
2. Repeat Step 1

6ghz Club Member.


cw823 Fan Club Founding Member, are you?
{PMS}fishy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-05, 12:39 AM Thread Starter   #9
TheGreySpectre
Member

 
TheGreySpectre's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix, Az

 
so will I be able to remain in knoppix almost the entire time, IE to look at help files?

__________________
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9300 w 6800go and 1.2 gigs of ram
Desktop: intel i7-3770, 16Gb Ram, Radeon 7970, 18.5 Tb HD space, Dell 3008 WFP 30"
TheGreySpectre is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-05, 02:04 AM   #10
MRD
Senior Member

 
MRD's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CT

10 Year Badge
 
Yeah, until the part where you reboot into your gentoo install. Even then, you could boot back into knoppix and chroot before installing X/Gnome.
MRD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-05, 11:18 AM Thread Starter   #11
TheGreySpectre
Member

 
TheGreySpectre's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix, Az

 
Cool I think Ill do that im going to mess around wiwth knoppix for another week or so to get more familiar with the linux enviroment

__________________
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9300 w 6800go and 1.2 gigs of ram
Desktop: intel i7-3770, 16Gb Ram, Radeon 7970, 18.5 Tb HD space, Dell 3008 WFP 30"
TheGreySpectre is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?