Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Opera is now free (as in, NO ADS, LEGALLY, for EVERYBODY, FOREVER)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-20-05, 10:08 AM Thread Starter   #1
gt24
Member

 
gt24's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ohio

 
Opera is now free (as in, NO ADS, LEGALLY, for EVERYBODY, FOREVER)


Quote:
Why we're going free

Opera has removed the banners, found within our browser, and the licensing fee. Opera's growth, due to tremendous worldwide customer support, has made today's milestone an achievable goal. Premium support is available.
http://opera.com/free/

Opera has been blasted over and over again for having those darn ads that they are so fond of.... now, they don't.

I think it is time to seriously look into Opera... but I have to do this tomorrow. Thought I would post a thread about the news...

__________________
:: Main System ::
ASUS P8Z77-V LK, Intel i5-3570, 8 Gb Ram, Geforce 9600 GT, Windows 8.1 Pro

:: PDAs, Tablets ::
Asus Transformer TF 101, HTC Wildfire S
gt24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-20-05, 10:13 AM   #2
DaWiper
Image Compare Man

 
DaWiper's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norway

 
Bump! (because I was just about to post this)
DaWiper is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-20-05, 10:19 AM   #3
9mmCensor
Disabled



Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Banned Camp

 
9mmCensor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-20-05, 10:29 AM Thread Starter   #4
gt24
Member

 
gt24's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ohio

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9mmCensor
oops...

__________________
:: Main System ::
ASUS P8Z77-V LK, Intel i5-3570, 8 Gb Ram, Geforce 9600 GT, Windows 8.1 Pro

:: PDAs, Tablets ::
Asus Transformer TF 101, HTC Wildfire S
gt24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-20-05, 05:10 PM   #5
Kevin007
Member

 
Kevin007's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: 321 Florida

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by gt24
http://opera.com/free/

Opera has been blasted over and over again for having those darn ads that they are so fond of.... now, they don't.

I think it is time to seriously look into Opera... but I have to do this tomorrow. Thought I would post a thread about the news...
hmm, and I felt special for having the free version like that, from there aniversary.

__________________
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
4.00 GB Mushkin
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H (Socket M2)
ATI Radeon HD 4800
Kevin007 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-20-05, 08:56 PM Thread Starter   #6
gt24
Member

 
gt24's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ohio

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin007
hmm, and I felt special for having the free version like that, from there aniversary.
Actually, so many people requested that free version that the Opera team made Opera free. They didn't notice before that event that there was a lot of people who would at least try Opera, as long as it had no ads (either from the registration code, or it simply not being there).

__________________
:: Main System ::
ASUS P8Z77-V LK, Intel i5-3570, 8 Gb Ram, Geforce 9600 GT, Windows 8.1 Pro

:: PDAs, Tablets ::
Asus Transformer TF 101, HTC Wildfire S
gt24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-05, 12:02 AM   #7
thegreek
Member

 
thegreek's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Philadelphia

 
this is good news

__________________
I always tell the truth even when I lie. - scarface
I know it sounds like I'm in denial, but I'm not. - unknown
thegreek is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-05, 11:33 AM   #8
TheGreySpectre
Member

 
TheGreySpectre's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix, Az

 
Yay free opera, so is there still a retail version?

__________________
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9300 w 6800go and 1.2 gigs of ram
Desktop: intel i7-3770, 16Gb Ram, Radeon 7970, 18.5 Tb HD space, Dell 3008 WFP 30"
TheGreySpectre is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-05, 11:10 PM Thread Starter   #9
gt24
Member

 
gt24's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ohio

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGreySpectre
Yay free opera, so is there still a retail version?
There is an option for premium support... I dunno about a pay version persay...

By the way, I am using Opera now... and wrote a Firefox to Opera conversion tips thing that you can read at the link below. (joy of having a few Opera threads floating around...)

http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.p...65#post3987865

__________________
:: Main System ::
ASUS P8Z77-V LK, Intel i5-3570, 8 Gb Ram, Geforce 9600 GT, Windows 8.1 Pro

:: PDAs, Tablets ::
Asus Transformer TF 101, HTC Wildfire S
gt24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-05, 11:35 PM   #10
Albigger
Member



Join Date: Sep 2002

10 Year Badge
 
gt24 - thanks for writing that short guide on converting, I just installed opera and it seems much faster. going to go through your suggestions (especially about having the tabs under the address bar - it just makes more sense).

anyway, one thing is when I try to access my.yahoo account (SBC) through opera it says I need IE5 or Netscape 6.2 or higher (although I never had any problems with FF). I'm sure this is more of an SBC thing but before support for firefox was widespread I used to get annoyed with incorrectly loading websites. Is there anyone else that's using Opera to access your sbc/yahoo account successfully?


EDIT: fixed the yahoo issue. Had to edit ua.ini to read yahoo.com=4 and also get a cloaking js script. I think I'll be moving over completely now...

__________________
Asus PC-DL - 2x2.4M0 xeons @ 3.27ghz - 9800pro - 2 x 512 pqi Turbo @ 2,2,2,5 - 550W FSP550-60PLN
cooling: Iwaki WMD-30RZT & 2x Apogee CPU Blocks

Last edited by Albigger; 09-22-05 at 01:38 AM.
Albigger is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-22-05, 05:21 PM   #11
Vulcan
Member

 
Vulcan's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pa

 
I decided to give it a try... Its running very fast for me, check out the results I got with BenchJS. A best time of 4.2 seconds, I could probably get more with some tweaking and such. In comparison, my best time in Firefox was around 6.97 using Firefox 1.5 b1. I am using Windows X64 by the way.
Attached Images
 

__________________
Currently rocking a BlackBook
Vulcan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-23-05, 12:58 AM   #12
Albigger
Member



Join Date: Sep 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Ok, so far loving Opera. A few nit-picky things still really bug me though, maybe someone has suggestions for me:

1) I get rid of status bar by un-checking the box Tools->appearance->toolbars but everytime I close and re-open Opera it comes back (all my other customizations are fine as far as I can tell). What gives?

2) All other apps I can think of (IE, FF, word, excel, etc...) 'remember' if they were opened on the secondary monitor (I have a dual-monitor setup). But Opera always opens to the primary one when I want it to open to the secondary. Yes I know I could probably use Ultramon but I really don't have much of a need for it and all my other programs 'remember where they were' just fine.


EDIT: 1) must have saved session BEFORE turning off status bar - duh me.
2) needed to save a new session maximized on my second monitor for it to open to that location.


Also - I must comment on some great aspects of Opera that are a good improvement over firefox - opens faster, back/forward faster, scolls more smoothly, memory management seems better. Although it can get up there 50-75mb I've seen, as soon as Opera is minimized to the taskbar mem usage drops below 5mb. Something I've never seen with FF.

__________________
Asus PC-DL - 2x2.4M0 xeons @ 3.27ghz - 9800pro - 2 x 512 pqi Turbo @ 2,2,2,5 - 550W FSP550-60PLN
cooling: Iwaki WMD-30RZT & 2x Apogee CPU Blocks

Last edited by Albigger; 09-23-05 at 01:08 AM.
Albigger is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-23-05, 08:41 PM Thread Starter   #13
gt24
Member

 
gt24's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ohio

 
Wow... this is INSANE...

http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=node&from=325
Quote:
It's been an astonishing and sleepless 72 hours since we released Firefox Preview Release. Thanks to your impressive efforts, nearly 790,000 people have downloaded Firefox in 3 days, bringing us within arm's length of our 1 million goal with a week to go!
http://my.opera.com/community/
Quote:
Opera is Free!
Tuesday, 20. September 2005, 07:26:35
Quote:
Thursday, 22. September 2005, 12:37:18
Apparently the word got out about the new version of Opera. Version 8.5 has been downloaded over 1.4 million times so far. But this is only the beginning! We are depending on our community to help others Choose Opera.
Have you already helped people make the switch to the world's best browser? Blog about your experiences so we can all work together to bring a better browsing experience to the masses.
UPDATE (9/23/05): We've just reached 1.6 million downloads since the release of Opera 8.5. Keep up the good work!
A TON more people are downloading Opera compared to Firefox... comparing both to their initial launches. Just amazing.

Anyways, back to features... If you don't mind a 10 Mb additional download package, highlight some words and hit the v key on your keyboard. You have a browser that speaks to you... and speaks much better than Firefox does with its' extension.

ANOTHER ANNOYANCE... Page finding. Hit CTRL-F and you get the lovely IE "let's find things on this page in a painful manner" dialog box!!
SOLUTION... hit ., yes, the period key on your keyboard. A little box appears at the bottom left that says "Finding text". Start typing and you have find as you type. To find the next word in the page, hit F3.

Minor annoyances... Tab browsing has different keys. CTRL-N (not ctrl-t) is a new tab. SHIFT (not ctrl) click a link for it to appear in a tab, but the tab is thrown in your face. You have to CTRL-SHIFT on a link to have it appear in the background. You can optionally override that, but it isn't a big deal because middle clicking still makes a tab appear in the background.

Minor annoyance... Firefox shows in my Windows XP start menu as the browser for the internet, even though Opera is my default browser. In fact, Opera is submissive to Firefox!!

HTML Code:
Plug-in path	D:\Program Files\Opera\Program\Plugins
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\Plugins
Yeah... I was wondering how Opera installed all the plugins I ever needed without me knowing about it. Truth is, it is "borrowing" Firefox's plugins!! It makes it work wonderfully, but it would certainly cause issues later on if I didn't notice that. So, Opera is also less agressive about "taking over the system". Perhaps one day I can kick Firefox off of the darn start menu's internet option... hmmm...

So, anyways, I can make a preliminary conclusion finally. Opera is great... if you are somewhat handy with computers. It certainly needs a bit more kicking of the tires and tweaking under the hood to make it gel with your computing experience. Firefox, for the most part, has a great UI in place and is similar enough to Internet Explorer to work for most computer newbies. So, if you can figure it out, Opera is spectacular to work with. If you can't quite get your head around operating Opera, Firefox allows you to just browse the web with little learning required.

The features in Opera make it worth learning though... and currently, Opera has "won" the battle for my little piece of the desktop... although they can certainly improve (just like Firefox can certainly improve... and IE needs to catch up already!).

__________________
:: Main System ::
ASUS P8Z77-V LK, Intel i5-3570, 8 Gb Ram, Geforce 9600 GT, Windows 8.1 Pro

:: PDAs, Tablets ::
Asus Transformer TF 101, HTC Wildfire S

Last edited by gt24; 09-23-05 at 08:50 PM.
gt24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-05, 02:22 AM   #14
Disputant
Member

 
Disputant's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Only thing I don't see that is of of the major reasons for me using Firefox is the ability to use multiple startup pages. When I launch Firefox, it automatically logs into 4 forums which is very handy. Maybe I am missing it, other than that I really like it a lot.

__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield 2.83GHz
Lian-Li PC61
ASUS Rampage Extreme
2x OCZ Reaper HPC 2GB
Western Digital VelociRaptor 150GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB
EVGA GeForce GTX 260
Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
Klipsch Pro Media 4.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W Power Supply
Disputant is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-05, 11:07 AM   #15
Albigger
Member



Join Date: Sep 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Disputant
Only thing I don't see that is of of the major reasons for me using Firefox is the ability to use multiple startup pages. When I launch Firefox, it automatically logs into 4 forums which is very handy. Maybe I am missing it, other than that I really like it a lot.


Open up whatever tabs you want to be your 'home' pages. THen go to file->save session and give it a name. This session should start up for you next time you open Opera.

__________________
Asus PC-DL - 2x2.4M0 xeons @ 3.27ghz - 9800pro - 2 x 512 pqi Turbo @ 2,2,2,5 - 550W FSP550-60PLN
cooling: Iwaki WMD-30RZT & 2x Apogee CPU Blocks
Albigger is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-05, 11:44 AM   #16
Disputant
Member

 
Disputant's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albigger
Open up whatever tabs you want to be your 'home' pages. THen go to file->save session and give it a name. This session should start up for you next time you open Opera.
Excallent! Thank you.

__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield 2.83GHz
Lian-Li PC61
ASUS Rampage Extreme
2x OCZ Reaper HPC 2GB
Western Digital VelociRaptor 150GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB
EVGA GeForce GTX 260
Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
Klipsch Pro Media 4.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W Power Supply
Disputant is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-05, 12:55 PM   #17
MainEvent
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
I might have to give Opera a try after hearing all of these good things about it. I have been using Firefox for quite some time and I guess the time has come for a change...
MainEvent is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?