• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Looking for advice troubeshooting

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Sumigo

Registered
Hello, this is my first time on this board. i have built many PC's and fixed many for friends and family so I think I know what is wrong but am looking for confirmation and ideas.

I have an Abit NF7-S rev. 2 with a 3200 XP barton 400 mhz, 1 gig of corsair XMS, Radeon 9800 pro.

I just installed a new 200 gig Maxtor SATA and turned my on 30 gig maxtor as a secondary, so did a fresh install of Windows on Saturday. I still use Win 2K and I had a few problems installing the latest catalyst drivers but got everthing working. Ive been doing my thing playing games and what not and not having any trouble.

Today I turned on Guild Wars for the first time in a few months and downloded all the patches, got into the login screen, but screwed up my password when I tried to log in and got an error message from the game saying I used the wrong password and then some code like (er=105) or something like that, I didnt write it down because I thought it was only game related.

But my system froze completely, I couldnt Ctr+Alt+del, I couldnt use reset button or on/off switch, I finally had to unplug it.

Now it wont post at all, I get LED's and the fans all come on but it wont even show the BIOS, it just sits there with the fans running and once again, I have to unplug it to shut down the fans and LED's. My thoughts are that the CPU fried, if the mother board was shot my instincts tell me that none of the headers for the fans work, but im not 100 % on that. I first thought it may be the video card but then noticed that the signature "beep" my computer emits during bootup was absent, so Im leaning toward the CPU, but not ruling out the mother board.

Looking for some trouble shooting.