Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

How secure is your pc?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-24-05, 09:51 AM Thread Starter   #1
Mustard Duster
Member

 
Mustard Duster's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN

 
How secure is your pc?


Just wondering how paranoid everyone else is when it comes to securing your pc. As of now, I am behind a router. I have to open up 2 ports, 1 for my bittorrent client, and another one for my dc++ client. I run kerio personal firewall to monitor outgoing connections. I try to update Spybot, Adaware, and Windows weekly. I also try to run Spybot and Adaware weekly. I am not running any antivirus software.

I will admit that I do hit some sites that could infect my system but I think I'm pretty secure.

__________________

My System:
Case: Antec 1035B 350 watt P/S
Mobo: Shuttle AK35GTR
CPU: AMD Athlon XP 1700+
RAM: 512 MB DDR PC2100
Video Card: Geforce3 Ti 200
Hard Drives: Seagate 120GB w/ 8MB cache, Maxtor 80GB w/ 8MB cache
My Heatware
Mustard Duster is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-24-05, 09:54 AM   #2
Kendan
Senior Punk

 
Kendan's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Dark side of hell

 
If you are running any kind of P2P software I highly recomend you run an antivirus. Some people have nothing better to do than use P2P networks to distribute virus and other nasties

__________________
Hello:sn:
Kendan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-24-05, 10:36 AM   #3
tenchi86
Member

 
tenchi86's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Smoky Mountains, NC

 
Mine is not to secure, I mean I am not like blocking every little thing from my pc. I have AVG+Firewall and a few antispyware apps. AVG may not be a great antivirus but oh well works fine for me.

__________________
"Millions saw the apple fall, but Newton was the one who asked why." -Bernard Mannes Baruch

Mobo: MSI Neo2-V
CPU: 2.8a Prescott @ 3.2
PSU: Blue Storm 500 Watt
GPU: Geforce 6600GT
HS: Zalman 7000
Ram: Kingston HyperX 1024mb 3200
tenchi86 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-24-05, 11:14 AM   #4
SavageBasher
Member

 
SavageBasher's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Northeast PA

 
I have a smoothwall, with 1 forwarded port. No software firewall, antivirus, adaware, or spybot. I mostly only use a private BT tracker, which they moderate very well.
SavageBasher is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-24-05, 11:52 AM   #5
moz_21
Member

 
moz_21's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MN

10 Year Badge
 
I run a Smoothwall with Guardian reactive, so the bad people get automatically blocked.

Typical Windows install for me includes AVG, Adaware, Spybot, and Peerguardian. I let AVG do its automatic updates and scans, and try to run Adaware/Spybot every couple weeks.

I don't use Windows user accounts, just Admin accounts - nothing ever functions properly as many programs require Admin accounts to run; Winamp comes to mind.

I'm in the process of learning Gentoo/VLOS. I might run Peerguardian on here too, once their issues are sorted out.

__________________
[Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, Sapphire AMD Radeon 290X, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
[Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server] Supermicro H8DME-2, 2x Opteron 2419 (6 core 1.8GHz), 20GB DDR2 ECC, 12x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID6 array, wrapped in an AIC 24bay chassis
[Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, Ceton InfiniTV 4
[Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
[Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
[Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb WD Raptor, 2x Realtek NIC
[My].Heatware
moz_21 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-24-05, 12:20 PM   #6
NaNoBLaZe01
Member



Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: queens, NYC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenchi86
Mine is not to secure, I mean I am not like blocking every little thing from my pc. I have AVG+Firewall and a few antispyware apps. AVG may not be a great antivirus but oh well works fine for me.
Same here...

But if AVG isn't that great... which is the AV of choice?

__________________
Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Intel Core i7 920 w/ Scythe Mugen 2
Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 1GB
OCZ Platinum 6GB DDR3-1600 [7-7-7-24]
WD Raptor 74GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB
Sony Optiarc 7220S | LITEON 52327S
Corsair HX620W
NaNoBLaZe01 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-24-05, 12:23 PM   #7
Flip-Mode
Member

 
Flip-Mode's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Beer Sheva, Israel

 
Well I'm behind a router, I got Protwall running and I update the IP blocklist every few weeks, NOD32 as AV and Spybot for adware/spyware cleaning and I use FireFox which is more secure then IE at least for now.

__________________
Heatware (Yes Israelis have it too!) PayPal Verified[/size]
Flip-Mode is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-24-05, 06:25 PM   #8
ErikD
Member



Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC

 
I try to keep things prety secure. All of my PCs are behind a Smoothwall that stealths all ports. I manage acces to my Windows network using a domain server running Windows 2003. I also install AVG, Sygate Personal Firewall, Spybot, and Adaware on all Windows PCs. AVG does its thing with daily updates and scans. Windows Updates and Spybot scans about once a week.

I am also planning on putting my wireless on a different VLAN once I get another router and DHCP server running. I also use all managed routers and switches which I keep all locked down too.
ErikD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-24-05, 07:13 PM   #9
amazon10x
Member



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: College Park, MD

 
I think I'm the least secure here.

I'm behind a router but I have my comp on the DMZ so I don't have to mess with ports. I do, however, run Kerio firewall. No antivirus except Housecall about every month or two and same with spybot.
amazon10x is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-05, 01:14 AM   #10
Flip-Mode
Member

 
Flip-Mode's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Beer Sheva, Israel

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by amazon10x
I think I'm the least secure here.

I'm behind a router but I have my comp on the DMZ so I don't have to mess with ports. I do, however, run Kerio firewall. No antivirus except Housecall about every month or two and same with spybot.
Unless someone wants to hack your computer really bad you are pretty secure.

__________________
Heatware (Yes Israelis have it too!) PayPal Verified[/size]
Flip-Mode is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-05, 02:06 AM   #11
Lancelot

 
Lancelot's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: the Netherlands

10 Year Badge
 
I have 3 PC's and a laptop behind a standard smoothwall. The laptop has a wireless WPA2 encrypted connection with a WRT54G router in AP mode. All computers run Symantec AV. It has happened a few times a finished torrent contained some kind of trojan so I recommend anyone working with torrents to use updated AntiVirus software. I also update and run Ad-Aware and SpyWareBlaster every few weeks. If something dubious happens and I'm in doubt about a compromised system or not I restore a drive image just to be sure...

__________________
:: Xeon E3-1220v2 @3745 on Asus P8H77-V with 8GB Corsair DDR3 @1712

Folding User Stats

Last edited by Lancelot; 09-25-05 at 02:12 AM.
Lancelot is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-05, 06:59 AM   #12
Shuruga2
Member

 
Shuruga2's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ottawa, Canada

 
Desktop and Laptop running NOD32 and Sygate personal firewall, both are protected by a Smoothie. The Desktop is also running protowall which I update every few months. Spyware scans are done a couple times a year (never find anything).

What a difference the smoothie makes. I just got hooked up to a new ISP yeasterday and I let the tech connect the desktop directly to the modem and go. There were about 30 hits on Sygate within the first 5 minutes. After he left I set up the smoothwall and havent seen anything since.

__________________
HEATWARE
Shuruga2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-05, 11:18 AM   #13
Crana
Member

 
Crana's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004

 
Running Kerio, AVG Anti-virus here, with a few anti spyware appz. (And my router has a firewall built in)

Ive had a few viruses, but they we "controlled" as in they were bundled in a .rar file (Which was off P2P)

The last time i had spyware i remember my desktop being turned into a porno site Took a while to get rid of that. Then i used to have a virus when i first got my computer (Nearly 2 yrs ago) which turned out to be a Window Messenger virus and i used to get asked if i wanted a bigger penis every 15 minutes, lol.

But now.. [Boris voice]"I am invincible"[/Boris Voice]

__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.4GHz with Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme // Asus P5Q Deluxe // PowerColor ATI HD 4870 with Zalman VF1000 // 4GB Corsair DDR2 PC 6400 RAM // 640GB WD HDD // Corsair 620W HX // Antec P182 // Samsung SyncMaster 21.6" // Windows 7 64-bit


Crana is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-05, 11:52 AM   #14
flamerail
Disabled

 
flamerail's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Im out of bed, I made it to the keyboard. What more do you want!

 
Not to worried. I just use windows firewall. Avast antivirus and ad-aware for spyware bull****.

Im on a network so being hacked a little bit hard.
flamerail is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-05, 10:05 PM   #15
JigPu
Inactive Pokémon Moderator

 
JigPu's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA

10 Year Badge
 
Internet -> Router (4 open ports) -> PC

No anti-spyware.
No anti-virus.
No software firewall.


No issues.
Though, if somebody a) attacked through Apache, b) found out my VNC password and 128-bit encryption key, or c) cracked through Azureus which is on a nonstandard port.... I'd probably be screwed =D

JigPu

__________________
.... ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
.... Intel Core i5 2500 ........................ 4 thread ...... 3300 MHz ......... -0.125 V
2x ASUS GTX 560 Ti ............................... 1 GiB ....... 830 MHz ...... 2004 MHz
.... G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage ............. 8 GiB ..... 1600 MHz ............ 1.25 V
.... OCZ Vertex 3 ................................. 120 GB ............. nilfs2 ..... Arch Linux
.... Kingwin LZP-550 .............................. 550 W ........ 94% Eff. ....... 80+ Plat
.... Nocuta NH-D14 ................................ 20 dB ..... 0.35 C°/W ................ 7 V


"In order to combat power supply concerns, Nvidia has declared that G80 will be the first graphics card in the world to run entirely off of the souls of dead babies. This will make running the G80 much cheaper for the average end user."
"GeForce 8 Series." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. 7 Aug 2006, 20:59 UTC. Wikimedia Foundation, Inc. 8 Aug 2006.
JigPu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-05, 10:17 PM   #16
hafa
Premium Member #24

 
hafa's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: A tiny dot in the middle of the Pacific

 
Hardware firewall with stateful packet inspection and all ports stealthed, Windows updates every Tuesday, AVG updated daily. No anti-spyware products needed, as I run Firefox; I run spybot search and destroy and hijack this! every 3 months or so just for kicks, but have yet to find a single problem.

__________________
.
HTPC: Core i3 540/8GB/300GB Raptor/GTS450-1GB/W7P-64 ~|~ File Server: (Green) AMD 4850E/4GB/6TB RAID/Windows Server 2008 ~|~ Notebook/Workstation: M780 Toshiba Convertible Tablet/i7 M620/8GB/128GB Crucial M4 SSD /7200RPM 750GB/W8 Pro

hafa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-05, 10:25 PM   #17
hibner

 
hibner's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Huntington, WV

10 Year Badge
 
XP firewall and good computing practices are all I use. I run adaware and spy-bot once a month and do an online virus scan from Kaspersky whenever I get paranoid. In 7 years I have had 1 virus for about 30 seconds.
hibner is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 05:11 AM   #18
DarkVirusVx
Member



Join Date: Jul 2004

10 Year Badge
 
I am behind a router. I olny have a port for bittorrent client, I run kerio personal firewall to monitor outgoing connections. I update spybot 2-3 times a week. I also run peer guardian.
DarkVirusVx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 05:18 AM   #19
sandrock
Member

 
sandrock's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Green Bay, WI

 
Behind SmoothWall w/ Guardian Active Response, run AVG Anti-Virus and Spybot.

__________________
MB: ASRock Z68 Gen3 CPU: Intel 2600K @ 4.4GHz RAM: 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 Video: AMD Radeon 6950 2GB (unlocked to 6970) SSD: 240GB Vertex 2
sandrock is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 08:11 AM   #20
AngelfireUk83
Member

 
AngelfireUk83's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England

 
I have a router firewall and Norton IS05 software Firewall which I keep updated weekly when I get the time too. I have only the programs which pass through my software firewall example IE6, LimeWire, Windows Update etc for my hardware firewall. I have only limewire setup which only changes the settings to my firewall when it's open and Diablo 2 for LAN gaming.

I update SP2 whenever possible and at the moment were all just waiting for M$haft to release last months and this months updates.

__________________
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Board: Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 Rev.1 F8
CPU: INTEL i7 2600k 3.40ghz (Stock)
RAM: Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB 1866mhz DDR3 (1600mhz@1.60v)
OS Storage: Crucial 128GB M4 SSD (FW 040H)
Spare Storage: Seagate 500GB 7,200rpm, Hitachi 1TB 7,200rpm (Back-Up HDD)
GPU/Audio: HIS 7850 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E Card (OC: 920/1270)
PSU: OCZ Fatality 750w Modular PSU
Optical: LG GH24NS90 24x DVD-RW
AngelfireUk83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?