• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Modstream vs Powerstream 520w

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Bugsmasher

Alrighty then....

First let me say thanks to those that have had helpful suggestions so far regarding power supplies. I am basically a PS newb in that I never really paid much attention to what was powering my system in all honesty. So this is a learning curve.

Before its suggested I have indeed read through the forums and stickies and have seen an overwhelming preference for the Powerstream line of OCZ products vs the Modstream line. I have also read that it seems most people suggest a single solid 12v rail versus the twin 12v rails found in the Powerstream.

According to several reviews the load/idle variances in the rails of the Modstream and Powerstream are remarkably close overall. Here are the reviews understanding different reviews = another variable in the results dependability.

Insanetek's Modstream 520 Review
Range: 11.98 to 12.01 stock with a delta of 0.03v

LegitReview's Powerstream 520w review
Range: 12.23 to 12.27 (understanding this can be adjusted) the delta is 0.04

and finally a nice light weight review of 34 different power supplies:
Hexus' Review of 34 different power supplies