• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Big problem with x850xtpe

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Meathead

I was messing around with ati tool and I hit set clock at the default speeds of 540/590 and my screen froze and then it showed on my monitor it was rebooting but then flashed back to windows without ever rebooting. Now I get artifacts after 30 seconds of running the artifact tester and I don't know what to do. I tried rebooting. Its not overclocked at all and I never had the chance to overclock it yet. I get artifacts after one minute with ATI tool but 0 after 1 minute with ATI tray tools. I'm so confused on what to do.

Last edited:
I am not that experienced in this... All that I could tell you to do from reading is tryto lower your clocks and see what happens... and if that is really the prob... RMA the card.... GOood luck

Well if artifacts keep showing up in ATI tools but not ati tray tools, could that be a problem with ati tools?
Heres the log from ati tool
2005-09-26 22:28:35 ATITool v0.24 started.
2005-09-26 22:28:35 Detected GPU Chip: R480 (5D4D), 16 Pipelines, 256 MB

2005-09-26 22:28:35 Temperature monitoring: LM63 detected
2005-09-26 22:28:39 Scan for Artifacts started... Core: 540.00 Mhz Memory: 589.50 Mhz
2005-09-26 22:28:39 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:00:00
2005-09-26 22:29:25 Artifacts detected after 00:46.38. 573 pixels don't match.
2005-09-26 22:29:29 Last message repeated 306 times.
2005-09-26 22:29:29 Scan for Artifacts stopped Total runtime: 50 seconds
2005-09-26 22:29:33 Application terminated.

* EDIT * great now ati tray tools found an artifact after 2 minutes. ALso tried underclocking it and I get the same if not more artifacts. This is just great money is tight as it is and now I will probably have to ship this card back.

Last edited:
Meathead said: