Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

The best Mouse and Keyboard for gaming....

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-27-05, 04:30 PM Thread Starter   #1
Devilvamp
Disabled



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
The best Mouse and Keyboard for gaming....


What is the Best Keyboard and mouse for Gaming I have heard there is allot of crap out there and I want best.
Devilvamp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-27-05, 06:17 PM   #2
Tyreal
Member

 
Tyreal's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada

 
New logitech Gsomething keyboard. Has an lcd screen on it and back lit keys.

Logitech G5 or G7 if you like wireless. comes out to about 250 dollars canadian.

__________________
-- Main Rig --
Q6600 @ 3.2 Water cooled. | GA-P35-DS3R | 4 GB Corsair XMS2 DDR-667 4-4-4-12 | nVidia XFXGefore 8800 GTS Stock| Seagate Barracuda 320 GB | Western Digital Raptor 36 GB | HSPC Tech Stationw/ Custom Mods

Feel free to IM me with any questions. :D
Tyreal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-27-05, 06:29 PM   #3
fuzzba11
Member

 
fuzzba11's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: in the garage

 
The G7 mouse is the best mouse on the market, or an MX1000 if you like the design better. Best keyboard is tougher, Saitek Eclipse is nice.
fuzzba11 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-27-05, 06:32 PM   #4
Janus67
Benching Team Leader
Wannabe Admin Senior

 
Janus67's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ohio State

 
best mouse, I would go with the G-series from logitech, the keyboard is more up to the user imho. I prefer my ergonomic microsoft natural over anything because I got used to the split keyboard.

__________________
Haswell Benching and Gaming: ASRock Z87 OC Formula : Intel i7 4770k w/ Phanteks PH-TC14 : 8GB 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2666 : MSI, XFX, and Sapphire R9 290X
Other Components: Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD : 2TB Hitachi : Silverstone Strider Gold 1250W and Seasonic Platinum 1000W : Auria EQ276W 2560x1440


Folding User Stats
Janus67 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-27-05, 06:35 PM   #5
Fr3@k3r
Member

 
Fr3@k3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)

 
Saitek Eclipse ($49.99) or Logitech G15 ($79.99) Keyboard...

and

Logitech G5 (Wired $69.99) or G7 (Wireless $99.99), Razor Copperhead ($59.99)

__________________
[Tablet]Motorola Xoom - Android 4.2 Rooted/ROM
[Work] AMD-64 3000+ - DFI RS482 Infinity - 1GB Corsair TwinX DDR-400 - Radeon HD5450 - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - XP Pro SP2
[NAS/DNLA Server] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
[Game Rig]AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8

(HEATWARE)
(FORUM RULES)
(OCF ANTI DRM)
Fr3@k3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-27-05, 11:29 PM   #6
madhatR
Member

 
madhatR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NJ

 
best mouse is the Razer copperhead
madhatR is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-28-05, 02:19 PM   #7
Celeron_Phreak
Member

 
Celeron_Phreak's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003

 
Me and shard use the Logitech Elite and the Logitech MX1000 w/fUnc 1030 pad. I think he'd agree with me when I say.....I've yet to play on a computer with more comfortable HIDs (Human Interface Devices).

__________________
Seasonic 600W SLI PSU
2x Logitech MX Revolutions -- Icemat 2nd Edition: Black
Plextor 16x SATA DVD-RW -- LG 16x DVD-/+RW/RAM
nVidia Reference GTX 280 - IBM P260 Trinitron 21" & DCLCD 19" LCD
2x 1GB Mushkin & 2x 512MB Centon SP3200 (3-3-3-8)
Seagate 200GB SATA -- WD 120GB SATA -- Seagate 300GB SATA -- Seagate 500GB IDE
939 AMD Opteron 180 @ 2872 MHz -- ASUS A8N-SLI
HDA X-Plosion DTS -- Logitech Z-680 rev. 2 :)

Heatware
Celeron_Phreak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-28-05, 11:08 PM   #8
madhatR
Member

 
madhatR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NJ

 
anyone know anyplace that has the razer copperhead in stock ?? razer zone is out of stock
madhatR is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-28-05, 11:26 PM   #9
Captain Slug
Helpful Senior Member

 
Captain Slug's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Asteroid B-612

10 Year Badge
 
"Best" will depend on personal preference from what I've seen.
I'm weird in that I will always prefer ball mice on wood surfaces over optical mice on "precision surfaces".

__________________
||[ Oni is a bot! ]-[ My Heatware]-[ In the event of an emergency, the nearest senior member may be used as a floatation device. ]||
Captain Slug is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-28-05, 11:34 PM   #10
Schalldampfer
Member

 
Schalldampfer's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Under a ceiling.

 
I've a Saitek Eclipse and an MX1000, and they're working well for me. And, for me at least, the wireless lag is a myth.
Schalldampfer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-29-05, 01:03 AM   #11
Celeron_Phreak
Member

 
Celeron_Phreak's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003

 
Hehe Captain Slug. You're one of those peoeple that AMD Phreak and I will never fully understand the l33tness of. lol If you can game professionally with a ball mouse at low sensitivity like a neighbor does, then you have earned my respect! Wait......your mods have already do that for you.

__________________
Seasonic 600W SLI PSU
2x Logitech MX Revolutions -- Icemat 2nd Edition: Black
Plextor 16x SATA DVD-RW -- LG 16x DVD-/+RW/RAM
nVidia Reference GTX 280 - IBM P260 Trinitron 21" & DCLCD 19" LCD
2x 1GB Mushkin & 2x 512MB Centon SP3200 (3-3-3-8)
Seagate 200GB SATA -- WD 120GB SATA -- Seagate 300GB SATA -- Seagate 500GB IDE
939 AMD Opteron 180 @ 2872 MHz -- ASUS A8N-SLI
HDA X-Plosion DTS -- Logitech Z-680 rev. 2 :)

Heatware
Celeron_Phreak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-29-05, 01:53 AM   #12
shard
Member

 
shard's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: You Should Make a Wish!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Celeron_Phreak
Me and shard use the Logitech Elite and the Logitech MX1000 w/fUnc 1030 pad. I think he'd agree with me when I say.....I've yet to play on a computer with more comfortable HIDs (Human Interface Devices).
Amen brotha! My only quam, is that I now need a larger mousing surface. lol

__________________
Intel i5 2500k @ 4.6ghz
X-Mystique DDL Surround Soundcard 7.1
Harman Kardon AVR 135 | JBL E30 Pair | BIC F3 Center | Dayton Reference 12" 4cu ft box
Gigabyte Z77-D3H
G. Skill DD3 1600 8gb
EVGA 670 GTX | Asus VE248H 24" Widescreen LCD
Corsair 750TX 750w PSU
shard is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-29-05, 06:02 PM   #13
1twelve2
Member

 
1twelve2's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dallas, TX

 
G5 OVER the G7..... yep i said it... the G5 doesnt need to be charged, and if your a hardcore gamer, it would probably make you angry if you had to charge it for sooo long.... funny story(not too funny, but it IS a story) i play CS:Source, and my clan is in CAL... we were about to play a match, and all of a sudden, our clan leader said "oh s**t, my keyboard is f****n up!" he needed batteries for his keyboard AND mouse



FOR GAMING go cordless, and laser... i have a mx-518, but thats only because i bought it like 1 month before the G5 came out.... lol at me
1twelve2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-29-05, 07:03 PM   #14
Schalldampfer
Member

 
Schalldampfer's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Under a ceiling.

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Celeron_Phreak
Me and shard use the Logitech Elite and the Logitech MX1000 w/fUnc 1030 pad. I think he'd agree with me when I say.....I've yet to play on a computer with more comfortable HIDs (Human Interface Devices).
Hmm... my MX1000's feet seem to be wearing out... time for teflons?
Schalldampfer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-29-05, 07:47 PM   #15
Celeron_Phreak
Member

 
Celeron_Phreak's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003

 
Yep yep! shard and me also both use MadDotz on our mice. I bought the $7 pack of 36 MadDotz. well worth the investment. I just got my MX1000 from Nero, which really is BARELY USED, and I'll be putting MadDotz on it to.

__________________
Seasonic 600W SLI PSU
2x Logitech MX Revolutions -- Icemat 2nd Edition: Black
Plextor 16x SATA DVD-RW -- LG 16x DVD-/+RW/RAM
nVidia Reference GTX 280 - IBM P260 Trinitron 21" & DCLCD 19" LCD
2x 1GB Mushkin & 2x 512MB Centon SP3200 (3-3-3-8)
Seagate 200GB SATA -- WD 120GB SATA -- Seagate 300GB SATA -- Seagate 500GB IDE
939 AMD Opteron 180 @ 2872 MHz -- ASUS A8N-SLI
HDA X-Plosion DTS -- Logitech Z-680 rev. 2 :)

Heatware
Celeron_Phreak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-29-05, 08:14 PM   #16
Captain Slug
Helpful Senior Member

 
Captain Slug's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Asteroid B-612

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Celeron_Phreak
Hehe Captain Slug. You're one of those peoeple that AMD Phreak and I will never fully understand the l33tness of. lol If you can game professionally with a ball mouse at low sensitivity like a neighbor does, then you have earned my respect! Wait......your mods have already do that for you.
What I like most about ball mice is that when you need to pick them up to center them you don't have to lift as far as you would with an optical mouse because the ball can't "read" the motion unless it's touching. I also just prefer the tactile feel they give. Makes being precise easier for me atleast.

__________________
||[ Oni is a bot! ]-[ My Heatware]-[ In the event of an emergency, the nearest senior member may be used as a floatation device. ]||
Captain Slug is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-29-05, 11:41 PM   #17
Schalldampfer
Member

 
Schalldampfer's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Under a ceiling.

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Celeron_Phreak
Yep yep! shard and me also both use MadDotz on our mice. I bought the $7 pack of 36 MadDotz. well worth the investment. I just got my MX1000 from Nero, which really is BARELY USED, and I'll be putting MadDotz on it to.
Do you know where I might be able to acquire some offline?
Schalldampfer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-05, 02:24 AM   #18
Celeron_Phreak
Member

 
Celeron_Phreak's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003

 
Hmm, not that I know of. I wouldn't be suprised if CompUSA started to sell a similar product some time in the future though. Although knowing CUSA, it'd be way over priced for what you get from them.

__________________
Seasonic 600W SLI PSU
2x Logitech MX Revolutions -- Icemat 2nd Edition: Black
Plextor 16x SATA DVD-RW -- LG 16x DVD-/+RW/RAM
nVidia Reference GTX 280 - IBM P260 Trinitron 21" & DCLCD 19" LCD
2x 1GB Mushkin & 2x 512MB Centon SP3200 (3-3-3-8)
Seagate 200GB SATA -- WD 120GB SATA -- Seagate 300GB SATA -- Seagate 500GB IDE
939 AMD Opteron 180 @ 2872 MHz -- ASUS A8N-SLI
HDA X-Plosion DTS -- Logitech Z-680 rev. 2 :)

Heatware
Celeron_Phreak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-23-05, 07:55 AM   #19
gordy44
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dundee

 
When I got my new pc I upgraded from a Logitech Cordless keyboard & mouse combo to a Saitek Eclipse and a Razer Copperhead. The keyboard is excellent and the mouse...? I can't say whether it's down to the increased precision or just the fact that it's a wired connection, but it's fast! Very accurate.

On the other hand, Razer provide the option of upgrading the firmware, but it's not easy. In fact, I've failed so far. The mouse has to be disconnected to do it which means you either have to install another mouse to do it, or, "navigate using the keyboard", as the blurb says. For some reason my pc fails to recognise the ordinary ball mouse I tried and I have no idea how to use the keyboard to "navigate".

Has anybody here updated their firmware successfully and would they be willing to talk me through how it's done?

Below is the Razer link to the instructions for this procedure.

http://www.razerzone.com/copperhead/help/firmware.htm

Thanks.
gordy44 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-23-05, 08:01 AM   #20
sulretal
Member



Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA

 
The Logitech Ultra X Keyboard

I'm a fan of less buttons on a mouse; I feel that I only need 3: the scroller, left click and right click. That said, the Microsoft IntelliMouse series is the best mouse for me; comfortable design and quick accuracy.
sulretal is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?