Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

The "fix" for QMD's on AMD's seems to give gromacs to P4's!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-29-05, 10:20 PM Thread Starter   #1
pscout
Senior Newbie Cannon-Fodder - R. I. P. good buddy :(

 
pscout's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto

 
Thumbs down The "fix" for QMD's on AMD's seems to give gromacs to P4's!


All my P4 mostly QMD exclusive (BP/-Advmethods) machines are now getting GROMACS!!!

I am guessing this is a byproduct of the "FIX" by stanford to stop giving QMD's to amd machines???!!!

I hope they fix this soon!

__________________
Main Rig - p5b-d, E6600@3.15
Folding rigs - usually linux-64:
2xQ6600 B3 @3.0, 3.1 p5w64, DS3
4x Q6600 GO @ 3.1-3.3 on p35-DS3R/DS3L, p5k
4x x3210 B3 @3.0-3.1 on DS3 rev 3.3
x3220 B3 @3.0 on g33-ds2r
3x E6600 @2.8-3.5 on p5b, ds3, p5w64
E6320 @ 3.15 on ds3
1x930 c1 @4.0 on p5wd2-E

Folding for OCF Team 32 as pete_scout
pscout is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-29-05, 11:01 PM   #2
Captain Newbie
Senior Django-loving Member

 
Captain Newbie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression

 
Hrm, I've got multiple gromacs cores running, and all I have in my room are AMDs...

*shrug*

__________________
B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
"And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
The high untresspassed sanctity of space
Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

Strong * Focused * Safe
Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)
Captain Newbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-05, 12:03 AM Thread Starter   #3
pscout
Senior Newbie Cannon-Fodder - R. I. P. good buddy :(

 
pscout's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto

 
I just got a response from Vijay ... he said this would keep up until Friday or Monday.

If its Monday it will give someone else my spot in the top 20.

__________________
Main Rig - p5b-d, E6600@3.15
Folding rigs - usually linux-64:
2xQ6600 B3 @3.0, 3.1 p5w64, DS3
4x Q6600 GO @ 3.1-3.3 on p35-DS3R/DS3L, p5k
4x x3210 B3 @3.0-3.1 on DS3 rev 3.3
x3220 B3 @3.0 on g33-ds2r
3x E6600 @2.8-3.5 on p5b, ds3, p5w64
E6320 @ 3.15 on ds3
1x930 c1 @4.0 on p5wd2-E

Folding for OCF Team 32 as pete_scout
pscout is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-05, 12:23 AM   #4
TollhouseFrank
Senior Headphone Guru

 
TollhouseFrank's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: T3h Intr@tub3z!

 
the temp fix is only good till monday? hmm.... i was loookin' over the server list last night.... seemed like about 1 out of 5 servers was down for some reason or other. Maybe they are doin' some major updates?

TollhouseFrank is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-05, 07:14 AM   #5
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
this is freaking retarded, I woke up today to have grand total of 77points on this rig, I just went orange and this is gonna kill it damn you vijay
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-05, 07:57 AM   #6
Nexus Realized
Member



Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: FL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicecca112
this is freaking retarded, I woke up today to have grand total of 77points on this rig, I just went orange and this is gonna kill it damn you vijay
Welcome to my world, it seems my little p7xx problem started again.
Nexus Realized is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-05, 08:02 AM   #7
hibner

 
hibner's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Huntington, WV

10 Year Badge
 
Both of my AMD rigs that are set up for QMDs (BP/-Advmethods) are still receiving QMDs with no problems.

EDIT: scratch that. both rigs just finished up their respective WUs and qued up gromacs

Last edited by hibner; 09-30-05 at 08:33 AM.
hibner is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-05, 09:01 AM   #8
jerseytomato

 
jerseytomato's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Folding@Palau

 
just got a puny p2200_ProteinA for 121 points.

__________________
OCForums Folding (Team32)

jerseytomato is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-05, 09:19 AM   #9
AMD_OCER

 
AMD_OCER's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Well there goes my 1600 ppd average. One of my three QMD rigs went from 400 ppd to 120.


$#@@# $&R%^ %^$$^*% $*^%$*^ %$(*%^$*E ^%#$!!!!!








That is all.

(Disclaimer. The above characters do not represent any specific words in the English language. They are simply characters.)

__________________
Folding for Team32 under user name Cluster007

<<< My Main Rig

Last edited by AMD_OCER; 09-30-05 at 09:44 AM.
AMD_OCER is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-05, 12:16 PM   #10
CJ-5



Join Date: Jul 2005

 
I looked at my two rigs today to find them folding Gromacs and not QMDs. As a beginning folder it was a real boost to climb the ladder so fast from nothing. To see my points drop from 900 ppd to around 240 ppd or so, a real bummer.

After a few moments of panic trying to figure out what happened, I remembered it's not really about the points but the science and saving lives.

Hmmm, maybe there is hope for me yet and I'm on my way to recovering from the " need more points addiction" that was beginning to overtake me?
CJ-5 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-05, 12:31 PM Thread Starter   #11
pscout
Senior Newbie Cannon-Fodder - R. I. P. good buddy :(

 
pscout's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vijay Pande
QMD's will be back soon. Hopefully either Friday or Monday.
Apparently to stop the large corp based folders from getting QMD's by mistake (and risking losing a huge folding farms) they have mostly stopped sending out QMD's untill today or monday to give them time to implement and test a fix.

Rigs that had flags to stop them getting QMD's were getting them.

Getting QMD's on folding only rigs would not be a problem, but i know what happens from experience if 2 qmd's were running at the same time on my rigs! or on my lesser p4's that i am working on while running a qmd ...

So hopefiully we will get our steady diet of QMd's back shortly!

__________________
Main Rig - p5b-d, E6600@3.15
Folding rigs - usually linux-64:
2xQ6600 B3 @3.0, 3.1 p5w64, DS3
4x Q6600 GO @ 3.1-3.3 on p35-DS3R/DS3L, p5k
4x x3210 B3 @3.0-3.1 on DS3 rev 3.3
x3220 B3 @3.0 on g33-ds2r
3x E6600 @2.8-3.5 on p5b, ds3, p5w64
E6320 @ 3.15 on ds3
1x930 c1 @4.0 on p5wd2-E

Folding for OCF Team 32 as pete_scout
pscout is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-05, 08:44 PM   #12
Audioaficionado
Super Moderator

 
Audioaficionado's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Medford, Orygun

10 Year Badge
 
All my QMD boxen are on a lite diet of itsy bitsy gromacs this weekend

Oh well I think I know what's going on and it's no biggie as this will affect everyone.

Like pscout said, QMDs were getting sent to machines that were set NOT to get them such as corp machines. That's a huge problem that needs to get fixed ASAP!

A lot of IT guys who use their corp machines to fold are at risk to lose their jobs if some QMDs took down mission critical machines by flooding their memory bus, etc. Not only would the IT super folders get in deep dodo, but it would give FAH a black eye and make it harder to recruit. I understand why Stanford did this and I fully support it while they sort this out.

It's costing me some PPD too but I'll gladly accept it knowing that it's going to be better for FAH in the long run.

__________________
.....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
.......................Folding is a marathon, not a sprint audioaficionado
Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz >SMP2+GPU3 FAH 24/7
Gigabyte DS3, 3GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6400 @3.0GHz
Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, 4GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6600 @3.0GHz
Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ4002048PFDC-K 2.5-3-3-8-1t, Dual 2.4 M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

You have over 101 posts and Can't see the classifieds???Click This Link
Anyone we catch cookie stuffing at this site will be banned on the spot!!
Audioaficionado is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-01-05, 12:07 AM Thread Starter   #13
pscout
Senior Newbie Cannon-Fodder - R. I. P. good buddy :(

 
pscout's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto

 
And it will give the AMD folks a chance to outpoint us for a while.

__________________
Main Rig - p5b-d, E6600@3.15
Folding rigs - usually linux-64:
2xQ6600 B3 @3.0, 3.1 p5w64, DS3
4x Q6600 GO @ 3.1-3.3 on p35-DS3R/DS3L, p5k
4x x3210 B3 @3.0-3.1 on DS3 rev 3.3
x3220 B3 @3.0 on g33-ds2r
3x E6600 @2.8-3.5 on p5b, ds3, p5w64
E6320 @ 3.15 on ds3
1x930 c1 @4.0 on p5wd2-E

Folding for OCF Team 32 as pete_scout
pscout is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?