Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Bits, Bytes, Megabits and Megabytes

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-30-05, 08:29 AM Thread Starter   #1
Jleo
New Member



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
Question Bits, Bytes, Megabits and Megabytes


Is this correct?

2Megabit = 2,048,000 Bit = 2,048 K Bit = 256 K Byte = 0.25 M Byte

In relation to data transfer from ftp source > ftp receiver.

Last edited by Jleo; 09-30-05 at 08:54 AM.
Jleo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-05, 08:39 AM   #2
Incesticide
Member



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
In SI units 2 megabits = 2000 kilobits = 2,000,000 bits = 250000 bytes = 250 kilobytes = .25 Megabytes

Under windows 2 megabits = 2000 kilobits = 2,000,000 bits = 250,000 bytes = 244.14 kilobytes = .2384 Megabytes
Incesticide is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-05, 09:09 AM Thread Starter   #3
Jleo
New Member



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
Wink Under Windows


My Windows has both Si and Binary equivalent
Attached Images
 
Jleo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-05, 09:19 AM   #4
Captain Newbie
Senior Django-loving Member

 
Captain Newbie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression

 
Many (or at least the one at cs.dolphin.csuci) scientific circles have taken to writing megabytes, in the sense of decimal million bytes, as MB, kilobytes in the sense of decimal thousand bytes as KB, etc., and the binary forms as MiB ("binary million bytes"), ...

More information.

In my opinion, it's more cricket to write the binary millions/thousands/... because that's what the computer sees. Oh, and in the past, that's what KB and MB meant.

__________________
B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
"And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
The high untresspassed sanctity of space
Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

Strong * Focused * Safe
Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)
Captain Newbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-05, 10:55 AM   #5
Incesticide
Member



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
Jleo, windows does not have both. Try looking at the properties of a file that is more than a megabyte, then more than a gigabyte.
Incesticide is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-05, 10:58 AM   #6
Sjaak
Member

 
Sjaak's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: The Netherlands

 

__________________
'Apparantly reality has a strong liberal bias'
Sjaak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-05, 11:01 AM   #7
9mmCensor
Disabled



Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Banned Camp

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jleo
My Windows has both Si and Binary equivalent
WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!
9mmCensor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-05, 11:58 AM   #8
Captain Newbie
Senior Django-loving Member

 
Captain Newbie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Incesticide
Jleo, windows does not have both. Try looking at the properties of a file that is more than a megabyte, then more than a gigabyte.
Also correct. It wouldn't make much sense if Windows did have both, since

1) It would confuse the user
2) It _might_ confuse the file management/disk management subsystem.

Windows uses the binary sense of KB/MB, as in 1024bytes = 1K(i)B and 4096bytes = 4K(i)B...This is why a quote-on-quote 120GB hard drive has less than 120GB available in Windows.

__________________
B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
"And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
The high untresspassed sanctity of space
Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

Strong * Focused * Safe
Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)
Captain Newbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-05, 04:25 PM   #9
dittohead
Member

 
dittohead's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London, UK

 
capital B for BYTE
and smallcase b for bits
dittohead is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-05, 06:22 AM   #10
Incesticide
Member



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
I don't know why you use the term quote-on-quote for hard drives showing less than their rated capacity in windows. This is an issue with windows, not the drive. The 120GB drive does in fact have 120 billion bytes of storage available. In linux, the drive space is reported just fine, as is the case with macintosh computers. Must I mention unix as well?
Incesticide is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?