• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

biostar m7vig400 k7 amd 800mhz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

IamME

Registered
I am a newb here . I dont know too much so when you reply to me treat me like im a moron please just so i can under stand.
Im trying to overclock my cpu and i go into my bois screen and all of my settings wont allow me to move them. My fsb in my bios is there but will not allow me to change it up or down. Now i am allowed to change my voltage if i move it up from 100% to 120 i get my processor working at 960.2 mhz any thing after that it wont boot.

now after all Ive read here none of what its doing is making no sense to me please help me understand.. also this board came with an overclocking software but it sucks and wont allow much over the stock stettings

Is it an 800 MHz Duron you're trying to overclock?

If you are using a retail hetasink, it may not allow you to get very far, are you?
Also, power supply brand (also watts, but brand is important) will influence your overclock greatly, so that peice of info always helps.

Some older mobos use physical jumpers on the mobo itself to change values newer mobos can change in BIOS, download your mobo manual to see if that's the case.

Are you doing this for fun or is this your main system? Are you in the United States?

Welcome to the forums.

OK I know the processor is new.Maybe not a new model but its new.Heat sinks aftermarket and cools socket a (amd ) up to a 2200 so i think im ok. Yes main system but im getting a new processor so i want some pratice. Like i said i can change some values in thre bios menu and i can overclock it through a program that came with my drives but i cant do much in the bios i was wondering y .
yes im in the good ol US of A .Idont know what my power suply is it came off a 2001 compaq .... thanks