Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

Just bought Black and White 2... and a G5 laser mouse

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-05-05, 08:56 PM Thread Starter   #1
Prodigious
Member

 
Prodigious's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Aurora, Co

 
Talking Just bought Black and White 2... and a G5 laser mouse


ok Im installing BW2 now. hopefully its as good as I hope.

btw, this new mouse is AMAMAZINGGIGNG. Its the same exact dimensions as the mx518(which is so comfortable for me) but its got fancy weights(I've got it at the heaviest setting, and it's nice and hefty), very cool looking, and so accurate.

The finish is strange at first but you get used to it. Unlike other logitech gaming mouses (mx510, mx518, g7) this has a matte finish, instead of a clear coat on top of the paint. It feels like it has a sanded finish, which works suprisingly well for sweaty hands, and gives great grip. It doesnt feel uncomfortable at all(although I prefer the smooth clear finish). The side "grips) are also different. Instead of being smooth, they have a textured feel. It seems like the same material as other logitech mouses, but it has a sandpaper feel to it. Again, its wierd but very comfortable after you get used to it. I love this mouse
Prodigious is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-05, 09:10 PM   #2
lordkosc
Member

 
lordkosc's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northampton,Pa

 
Have you noticed while playing the game , it randomly crashes? I get a crash evey 60-90 minutes... It makes me sad... Maybe the 1.1 patch will fix it...

I did install the new nvidia beta drivers for black and white 2, and they helped , but it still crashes for me... Nvidia Beta Drivers for BLACK AND WHITE 2

Great game tho, I am just getting to the 3rd island! I had to take a break to watch LOST

__________________
CPU & CPU Fan --------- i7 2600k @ 4.5 Ghz ||| CM Hyper 212+
MoBo & Memory -------- Asus p8p67 Pro and 16GB Corsair XMS DDR3 1600
SSD's ------------------ 2x Intel Maple Crest 330 SSD 180GB (OS/Programs and Games)
Game Backup HDD ----- 1TB Samsung F3 7200RPM 32MB
Misc Storage HDDs ----- 5x 2 T.B SAMSUNG F4 5400 RPM 32MB
Video Card ------------- Gigabyte GTX 670 OC
Monitors --------------- 1 Samsung 32" 1080p LCD TV ||| 1 x Dell 2007FPW Rev A02 |||
Case/PSU/OS ---------- Antec P280 ||| Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W||| Windows 7 Ultimate x64

3dfx 1997-2002 ~~~ Nvidia 2002-present.
AMD 1998-2008 ~~~ Intel 1993-1998 , 2008-present.
lordkosc is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-05, 09:11 PM Thread Starter   #3
Prodigious
Member

 
Prodigious's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Aurora, Co

 
You know what I noticed? I CANT INSTALL THE GAME. Every time it's half way through copying files off of disc 2 I get an error message. Its says something about error redundancy cyclical check or something like that. AFAIK, that means the disc is messed up. I tried cleaning it but nothing works GGKTHNX EA
Prodigious is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-05, 09:13 PM   #4
lordkosc
Member

 
lordkosc's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northampton,Pa

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prodigious
You know what I noticed? I CANT INSTALL THE GAME. Every time it's half way through copying files off of disc 2 I get an error message. Its says something about error redundancy cyclical check or something like that. AFAIK, that means the disc is messed up. I tried cleaning it but nothing works GGKTHNX EA
You have the PC-CD version also ... I wish it would have been on DVD in the USA... My 3rd disk didn't like my CD-RW drive, so I installed the whole game from my DVD\CD drive and all went well...

Also.... did you pre-order and get the tiger? I did and I really like it Hope you get to play soon...

__________________
CPU & CPU Fan --------- i7 2600k @ 4.5 Ghz ||| CM Hyper 212+
MoBo & Memory -------- Asus p8p67 Pro and 16GB Corsair XMS DDR3 1600
SSD's ------------------ 2x Intel Maple Crest 330 SSD 180GB (OS/Programs and Games)
Game Backup HDD ----- 1TB Samsung F3 7200RPM 32MB
Misc Storage HDDs ----- 5x 2 T.B SAMSUNG F4 5400 RPM 32MB
Video Card ------------- Gigabyte GTX 670 OC
Monitors --------------- 1 Samsung 32" 1080p LCD TV ||| 1 x Dell 2007FPW Rev A02 |||
Case/PSU/OS ---------- Antec P280 ||| Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W||| Windows 7 Ultimate x64

3dfx 1997-2002 ~~~ Nvidia 2002-present.
AMD 1998-2008 ~~~ Intel 1993-1998 , 2008-present.
lordkosc is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-05, 09:24 PM   #5
TheGreySpectre
Member

 
TheGreySpectre's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix, Az

 
See if you can borrow a Dvd drive from someone, almost always cyclic redudancy checks are drive specific at least from my experiance

__________________
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9300 w 6800go and 1.2 gigs of ram
Desktop: intel i7-3770, 16Gb Ram, Radeon 7970, 18.5 Tb HD space, Dell 3008 WFP 30"
TheGreySpectre is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-05, 09:28 PM Thread Starter   #6
Prodigious
Member

 
Prodigious's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Aurora, Co

 
I tried both of my drives. Both are Plextors, which aren't known for having read errors, or errors of any kind. This is the first time I've had a problem with either drive. I have a plexwriter premium and px-708a. I'm going to try adjusting the laser strength on the plexwriter, although I think it only affects writing, not reading. Maybe isobuster or some other program can help.
Prodigious is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-05, 09:34 PM   #7
Tatuya
Member



Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Crunching Einstein@Home

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordkosc
Also.... did you pre-order and get the tiger? I did and I really like it Hope you get to play soon...
Do you realize that they left it on a completely open ftp therefore pretty much anyone can get it now? I've got to laugh at EA for now haha.

@ Prodigious: Why not make isos of the CDs then mount them in a virtual drive like the one in alcohol 120% or daemon tools? Seems like it'd work if it's really a drive issue.
Tatuya is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-05, 09:38 PM Thread Starter   #8
Prodigious
Member

 
Prodigious's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Aurora, Co

 
There's something wrong with the cd. I reach 39% in isobuster trying to extract the raw data, and then it starts getting tons of read errors. I've set it to replace all erros with 0's, but if its too msessed up I probably won't be able to install the the game properly even using a virtual drive. This is rediculous.
Prodigious is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-05, 09:43 PM Thread Starter   #9
Prodigious
Member

 
Prodigious's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Aurora, Co

 
Screw this Im going to get a cd replacement from EA. But knowing them, they'll be jerkoffs about it and not give me one. I know Gamestop sure as hell isn't gonig to replace my copy.
Prodigious is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-05, 11:36 PM   #10
fuzzba11
Member

 
fuzzba11's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: in the garage

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordkosc
I did install the new nvidia beta drivers for black and white 2, and they helped , but it still crashes for me... Nvidia Beta Drivers for BLACK AND WHITE 2
IT'S FINALLY MINE PRESCIOUS!

Nice heads up on that driver, if it doesn't run right away on the 77.77s I'll install it.

I just found the link to patch 1.1 to skip the tutorial, but they're not releasing it yet!! If anyone has a copy of this 106 meg file pls link to it!
fuzzba11 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-05, 03:56 AM   #11
ninthebin
Member

 
ninthebin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Liverpool, UK

 
I used to get the CRC errors with my UT2003 final CD, I found just jumping in the BIOS and doing a combination of disabling IDE Prefetch, IDE Bus Master, turning it to PIO let me install it without errors - perhaps try that before you go to the trouble of sending it back.

Im going to run to the shops on the way home from uni to see if they have it
ninthebin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-05, 04:06 AM   #12
fuzzba11
Member

 
fuzzba11's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: in the garage

 
Wow this game is fantastic, there is so much to do!

UBER MICRO!!
fuzzba11 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-05, 10:22 PM Thread Starter   #13
Prodigious
Member

 
Prodigious's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Aurora, Co

 
I went to gamestop tonight. First I called them and explained the cd glitch. The manager, who Im on good terms with, said that they usually have an "open once, own forever" policy, meaning once it's open, it doesn't matter if the cds inside were busted during shipping, they dont take it back or exachange it. However, he was nice enough to let me bring in my copy, and get it replaced. I was, right it was the cd. The new copy installed without a hitch. This game RULES. The tutorial made me flip out though. I had to sit through 5 minutes of "press mouse button two and drag left to move the screen...." and then, when you miss, its does that slow ass reset where the guy goes "im sorry but you moved too much in the wrong direction. Please click and hold the highlighted area"
Prodigious is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-05, 10:27 PM   #14
Fighter2a
Member

 
Fighter2a's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas

 
So, whats the game like?

__________________

Fighter2a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-05, 05:50 AM   #15
fuzzba11
Member

 
fuzzba11's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: in the garage

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fighter2a
So, whats the game like?
It's like nothing else

First there is a city building element that takes up a lot of my time. You drag and drop buildings and create a city, consisting of temples, houses, storehouses, etc like a normal RTS. Except as you get more good or evil, everything in your city shows it. For instance, I'm a 100% evil god, my buildings are decorated in fire and are painted black. The ground is a cracked lava surface with no grass, and bugs crawl all over it.

Then there is the creature element, which is totally better than I expected. The creature is about 40 feet high and can assume roles of a builder, gatherer, soldier, or entertainer. Or you can leave your creature to do whatever it feels like, it's hillarious, it will yell out everything it does like, "I'm going to poop on that villager's head!" As an army unit the creature can stomp on troops or catapults, punch down walls, and cast miracles like fire or lightning. The creature has two bars, Free Will and Alignment, to show you how obedient and how good/evil your creature is. If you have the Soldier role on, the creature will lose his free will in about an hour, but if you want him to roam around and be happy, just put the free will leash on him and he gets his free will back.

The stuff that makes the game so awesome are the graphics, the ability to pick up mass amounts of villagers (and throw them), and the virtual pet kind of creature. The physics engine is cool, after a catapult takes a chunk out of your city wall, you can grab the rock and throw it back at them! The other sweet thing is that you can rotate the view to any angle, direction, or zoom. You can zoom up as close as Rome: Total War, but you can zoom out about 10X as much so your troops look like ants.

By far the best thing is the creature, I <3 my lion because he pwns in battle but also break dances for my villagers.
fuzzba11 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-05, 06:01 AM   #16
ninthebin
Member

 
ninthebin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Liverpool, UK

 
hehe I chose the tiger for my creature - I just got the 1.1 patch, it apparently fixes a few problems that may arise if you try and finish some lands, so recommend you dl it (100mb)

this game wins!
ninthebin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-05, 10:23 AM   #17
Feydd
Member

 
Feydd's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dayton, OH

 
How much of an improvement is this over the first? I enjoyed the first one but after a while it got boring, is it just the same thing with better graphics?

__________________
Gigabyte GA-7VT600 VIA KT600
AMD AthlonXP 2800+
1Gig PC3200 RAM
WD 40&80Gig 7200RPM HD
Saphire Radeon X800XT
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Logitech Z-640's
Antec 410 watt PSU

-Natural selection, it's only natural.
Feydd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-05, 04:55 PM   #18
fuzzba11
Member

 
fuzzba11's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: in the garage

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feydd
How much of an improvement is this over the first? I enjoyed the first one but after a while it got boring, is it just the same thing with better graphics?
The big improvement is the creature's intelligence, it's similar to the last game in that you use the leash to command him, but little thought bubbles will appear over his head when he wants to do something. That way you know what you're rewarding him for, and you can shape his personality a lot better. The creature vs creature fighting is different than the original, they will just fight instead of you having to click repeatedly on the enemy.

City building is now a major element of the game, the bigger and more impressive your city, other towns will migrate to your town! The only down side to city building is that you don't start out with all the buildings, you have to earn them by gaining 'tribute' (different to prayer power/mana) and buying new buildings. For instance, you do a silver scroll quest and get 40,000 tribute, and now you can buy the ability to build a skyscraper or a university. Plus every building reflects your alignment, you can see how the buildings in the screenshot are dark and decorated with fire, and the ground is cracked and showing lava.

Armies are the evil element that has been added, and you can raise armies of grunts, archers, and catapults. You use armies to capture towns, but the creature does more of my warring for me. The creature can punch down city defenses, stomp on enemy platoons, or cast miracles like fireball/lightning/meteor to kill them(the three passive miracles are heal, shield, and water.

Lastly, the graphics are much improved.

fuzzba11 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?