Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Why do wireless mice have glitchy movement?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-06-05, 05:24 PM Thread Starter   #1
icedragn
Member

 
icedragn's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
Why do wireless mice have glitchy movement?


Why do wireless mice, or at least the 2 microsoft mice i have used.. why are they glitchy? like if you use this mouse then a wired mouse you will notice its not smooth at moving the pointer around and you can noticably see it do little jumps... is there anyway to fix this :S or is this normal for micrassoft? It isnt a hug deal but i notice small things like this, would like to fix it but again i only paid like $15 for this mouse lol, retails for like 45 so im not complaining too much, thanks!

__________________
I sell in CAD$ unless specified otherwise.

Antec 300 Mid-Tower Gaming Case
Corsair TX750W PSU
ASUS P8P67 LE
Intel i5 2500k @ 3.8ghz (waiting for new non-stock cooler to go higher)
8GB OCZ DDR3-1333
120gb Chronos SSD + 1TB Seagate
HIS Radeon HD 6950 unlocked to 6970 @ 900/1400
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit

Heatware
icedragn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-05, 05:36 PM   #2
millhouse
Member

 
millhouse's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ohio

 
Where did you get it from? If you bought it from ebay or something like that they may have sold it to you like that. My Microsoft (Micrassoft as you call it) works fine. I havent had to replace the batteries yet and its been about a year. Maybe just bad luck?
millhouse is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-05, 05:37 PM   #3
bapski
Member



Join Date: Jul 2005

 
think its not only microsoft. i have the same problem with my thermaltake mouse and keyboard..

__________________
my PRIDE AND JOY IN ACTION
286 FSB 1.4 VCORE | PCMARK05:5996 | 3DMARK04:8238 | AQUAMARK:101,816 | PCMARK04: 8174

INTEL PENTIUM D 830 3.0 @ 4ghz | ASUS P5WD2 PREMIUM | CORSAIR XMS2 TWIN2X1024A-5400UL @360.6 | PLEXTOR 716A | BFG NVIDIA 7800 GT OC 497/1.19
WATER COOLED: STORM WATER BLOCK, MAZE4 GPU BLOCK MCP 655 PUMP, THERMOCHILL PA120.3 with PS120B.3 shroud, 6 PANAFLO FANS (FBA12G12U)
MONITOR: SONY MFM-HT95 | PSU: ANTEC 550 TRUEPOWER | HD: WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB x 4 ULTRA ATA converted to SATA using ROCKETHEAD 100
CASE: CM STACKER
bapski is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-05, 07:15 PM   #4
shellshock
Member

 
shellshock's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Claremore Oklahoma

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bapski
think its not only microsoft. i have the same problem with my thermaltake mouse and keyboard..
I wouldnt be suprised

my macissoft mouse works great, I havent had to replace the batterys in about 3 months. The pointer glides as good as a wired mouse

and from now on, I'm calling microsoft macissoft.

__________________
Heatware
Ocforums metal club member #690
Folding for Team 32!
shellshock is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-05, 07:46 PM   #5
JCLW
Member

 
JCLW's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Back in Toronto

10 Year Badge
 
I have the MS bluetooth mouse and it's just as snappy as a regular corded mouse.
JCLW is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-05, 07:54 PM   #6
Schalldampfer
Member

 
Schalldampfer's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Under a ceiling.

 
Logitech MX1000 doesn't do that. At least the revision 2.
Schalldampfer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-05, 07:57 PM   #7
Alchemy1
Member

 
Alchemy1's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004

 
The mouse that came with my MX duo works perfectly. The only time I have problems is when I try to use it on an irregular surface and then I don't expect it to work perfectly.

__________________

i7 920 D0 (4ghz @ 1.28v) l EVGA Classified l WD 300gb velociraptor l maxtor 200gb l 6gb G. Skill Trident 2000 l Cooler Master 1100 UCP l XFX GTX260SLi l Black MM Extended Ascension) l 2x PA 120.3 l 2x DDC+(355's) l Heatkiller Cu v3 l Dell 2005FPW l


Gigabyte UD3R as a backup
Heat


"Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery/None but ourselves can free our minds " -Bob Marley
Alchemy1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-05, 09:12 PM   #8
1cem4n
Member

 
1cem4n's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: FusoFuso

 
wireless mouse lag a little but i know the logitech ones rarely lag and are of good build quality.

-1cem4n
1cem4n is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-05, 09:48 PM   #9
tom10167
Member

 
tom10167's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT

10 Year Badge
 
The skippyness is the surface it's on, white, porous, or colored will all do that.

Optical mice belong on smooth black surfaces.
tom10167 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-05, 09:56 PM   #10
Contra
Member

 
Contra's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Alamo City

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom10167
The skippyness is the surface it's on, white, porous, or colored will all do that.

Optical mice belong on smooth black surfaces.
i agree


but nothing wireless works as well as a wired of the same build

under the same conditions

it may seem like it does but it doesnt

__________________
AMD Athalon II X4 630 2.8, Gigabyte-GA890XA-UD3
Radeon HD 4850 2 GiG, G.SKILL Sniper 8GB DDR3 1600, 2 TB HDD, Thermaltake TR2 RX850, 40" Widescreen LCD

Ubuntu 13.10/Windows 7 Ultimate
Contra is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-05, 09:59 PM   #11
Pestoballs
Member

 
Pestoballs's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NY

 
Quote:
i only paid like $15 for this mouse lol
I have a microsoft wireless mouse i payed about 45 for and it works just as well as my corded mouse. It may be just those particular ones
Pestoballs is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?